Neighbourly love and support…..

DSC_0782

One of my lovely neighbours popped across our back gardens in her dressing gown this morning, with a bunch of dried lavender in her hand and a box of freshly laid eggs from her hens. Her loving face at my back door, and the healing lavender in her hand, was a most welcome sight this morning.

Last night, Emily and our friends came over for dinner, and it was such a warm evening we ate outside. Laughter and catch-up nattering floated across the gardens, and mingled with other neighbours doing the same thing. When I went outside to clear up later, a neighbour had left their halogen light on so I could see what I was doing. I also had help putting various bins out, as I spread the garden waste load from a job (earlier this week) across several bins! As I washed up, I saw some re-cycled jam jars and fresh apples on my table outside, thoughtfully left there without fuss.

Plans on the new little venture unraveled with speed this weekend and I had a bit of a pickle to sort out. With the best will in the world some folk mean well, but their talk does not translate into action. A neighbour stepped in with support and we whizzed about in her estate car on Monday morning. Order was restored.

I have taken the strands of the new venture, the ones that I can do on my own, and started doing them. With the loving energy surrounding us all here and the peaceful kindness, any hurdles can be cleared.

26 Responses to “Neighbourly love and support…..”


  1. 1 Francina September 9, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    an act of kindness never goes unnoticed, does it? 🙂 happy for you that you have found a lovely place to live 🙂
    hugs from across the creek xxx

    Like

  2. 3 Glynis September 4, 2013 at 2:08 am

    You are blessed to such wealth of friendship

    Like

  3. 5 bardessdmdenton August 28, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Oh, such small but enormous gestures of generosity and friendliness … It made me think of something a friend wrote on Facebook just today and I know he wouldn’t mind if I share:

    ‘”The path to personal fulfillment and world peace are one in the same: To care for others.
    Ask not just for yourself, but for all.
    Take not just for you, but to share.
    Do not only for yourself, but for the world.” Phillip Harris

    XO ♥

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne August 29, 2013 at 7:57 am

      Hello Diane, it is lovely to hear from you and thank you for sharing those wise words. Blessings in kindness. Love to you. Xx

      Like

  4. 7 Sara August 24, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    Such nice neighbours! 🙂
    I think sometimes it’s the small things that bring back the creative spirit and optimism. All the best with your new venture, Jane!
    Hugs,
    S

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne August 27, 2013 at 7:23 am

      Hello Sara, thank you and it’s lovely to hear from you. I hope all is well with you…it’s good to see you back blogging after all your studying. J x

      Like

  5. 9 elenacaravela August 22, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    So nice to hear Jane. As it happens, a friend recently did the same-brought me lavender in a ceramic pitcher! Aren’t we fortunate?

    Like

  6. 11 susank456 August 22, 2013 at 7:57 am

    Good friends make our days much better.

    Like

  7. 13 Marylin Warner August 22, 2013 at 4:00 am

    What a lovely post, Jane. It gave me comfort and hope just reading it. Your neighbors are far-reaching blessings.

    Like

  8. 15 ianscyberspace August 22, 2013 at 12:17 am

    I remember the lavender garden my daughter had when she and her husband were stationed in Brussels for a while. Enjoy your new venture.

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne August 22, 2013 at 9:37 am

      Thank you Ian, I can still smell the lavender this morning. Off the coast of Croatia there are over 1,000 islands. I have visited Lopud, near Dubrovnik, and loved it. Horses and carts and no vehicles. There is another one further up called Hzar, the lavender island, and I would like to go there.

      Like

  9. 17 tornadoday August 21, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    …what appears a deadend, is more often the universe pointing us in a new direction……… 🙂 Sometimes, that’s as hard as starting over. Other times, it’s as easy as letting go. ~ Lovely adventure with lavender in hand…… ~ Love, Bobbie

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne August 21, 2013 at 7:00 pm

      When it stops flowing, time to tweak and get back up and flow again. Growing all the time and learning which boulders hurt when you hit them! The lavender is a great travelling companion. Love you Bobbie. Xxx

      Like

  10. 19 Al August 21, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    You have a wonderful “support group” around you. Still curious about this venture though.

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne August 21, 2013 at 6:58 pm

      Al, I am making preserves, chutneys and cakes for a vintage tea room and gift shop. I am also making baby blankets, painting wooden decorative objects and making other things too from re-cycled objects. Patty would approve. I have an idea for furniture made from re-cycled objects, but that’s on the back burner. x

      Like

      • 21 Al August 21, 2013 at 7:09 pm

        That’s sounds fascinating and yes Patty would definitely approve. I hope you will be able to post about them some day so Patty can share in your creativity. She just loves stuff like that.

        Like

        • 22 Jane Thorne August 21, 2013 at 7:23 pm

          Thank you Al and yes, I will post up my progress. I have my first batches of raspberry, blueberry, strawberry jams and marmalade going out of here tomorrow. I have just seen my client in the supermarket and she is delighted. I will create and learn as I go, but I have this great idea for a garden chair from an old door in my head…ideas like that. I need a man that is good with wood! Or I need to learn carpentry. x

          Like

  11. 23 Margaret August 21, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    what lovely neighbours you have, that’s so nice. Hope you are well? xx

    Like

  12. 25 Eric Alagan August 21, 2013 at 11:40 am

    You have such lovely neighbours, Jane buddy.

    Wishing you all the best with your new venture.

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,231 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Three Things Serial, a Little 1920s Story"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

