Life’s tide and what the waves bring onto our beach….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A big ‘thank you’ to the talented Roy Gray, who took this beautiful photograph in Australia, and has loaned it to me for this blog post.

Lately I have been decorating this little cottage I call home. My landlord and I had a ‘little’ debate on the colour to go on the walls. I had creative ideas for different colours and when he arrived, armed with a colour chart, I felt hope rise. The discussion that ensued, when he insisted on ‘Jasmine White’ (aka cream) for the whole cottage, whilst I fought for colour, was hilarious. Only on reflection though. He held the purse strings and won the debate.

During this decorating project, applying a large expanse of cream, my mind has floated and settled a fair few things. The last couple of months have been interesting and I needed time to pause and reflect. I had got so very tired working on the telephone service, but there has also been a health issue in the background. Which came first? I really can’t recall, and either one would have stopped me working in this way for a while, so it matters not. Life put up a flag and I had no choice but to pay attention. I developed a lump in my mouth and I cannot talk for any length of time. Tests and whatnot, and my own belief, have pointed the way to a non-sinister prognosis.

My dentist and I get on like a house on fire and his humour, about my inability to speak at length, was delivered fondly. He has just moved into new premises and earned the title of ‘The Supermarket Dentist’, so my returning banter was also fondly meant. His surgery rang with laughter the day he referred me to hospital. Interestingly enough, the consultant at hospital was…well, how shall I put this…drop dead gorgeous and French. I am sure this makes him devilishly attractive to some. His arrogance took the shine off it for me. He asked about my dentist’s new title and I relayed it with threads of the humour from that day in the surgery. Mr ‘Drop Dead Gorgeous’ is a humour free zone and my jokes fell on stony ground, and were even greeted with a quizzically raised eyebrow. Maybe it’s the way I tell ’em. All I need right now is his skill and in a few weeks he will remove the offending lump.

I am a private soul and have kept this all rather quiet, as I feel folks have enough waves crashing on their own beaches. The strain of trying to keep money coming in, deal with the usual ‘stuff’ that life throws up and cope with an almost mind numbing tiredness has driven my resilience and creativity to the fore. It has also caused me to retreat from a number of situations, because I simply do not have the energy for them.

When I feel overwhelmed, I can close my eyes and I am standing on Roy’s beach.

All the hours spent decorating have given birth to a creative plan, and that in turn has opened another doorway. I feel the faith that all is exactly as it is meant to be. Bring it on……

20 Responses to “Life’s tide and what the waves bring onto our beach….”


  1. 1 elenacaravela October 7, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    Roy’s beach seems a fine place to be. I do hope you are feeling much better very soon!

    Like

  2. 3 Francina October 3, 2013 at 10:25 am

    I hope your dentist problems turn out well and you will be soon up to your old self, Jane. Good choice of photo with the article. Life is like an ocean , lovely Jane. It’s good to have humour , humour gets you a long way. Your landlord must be a kinda boring if he only knows one colour, instead of the rainbow 🙂

    have a wonderful day 🙂
    love and hugs from across the creek xxx

    Like

  3. 5 ianscyberspace October 2, 2013 at 4:56 am

    It comes as quite a surprise as we put on birthdays to find out our body doesn’t react as it did in times past. I know what you mean about humour. Some people have it and some don’t. I feel uncomfortable around people who don’t have it. I’m glad you have. It helps make life more tolerable doesn’t it?

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne October 2, 2013 at 7:53 am

      Hello Ian, and yes, my body is complaining mightily from the decorating. It is a surprise when we realise that the body does not quite match the youthful thinking! I couldn’t manage without laughter….and hope. It’s good to hear from you. x

      Like

  4. 7 Eric Alagan October 2, 2013 at 1:36 am

    Waves crashing onto shore bring messages of resilience and persistence. The waves don’t give up and the shore does not falter.

    Your landlord must be family to Henry Ford – you can have any colour you want as long as it is cream! And as for that French guy sans humour – he’s probably travelling light. Hope that operation goes well.

    Good thoughts and wishes coming your way, Jane buddy,
    Eric 🙂

    Like

  5. 9 grandfathersky October 2, 2013 at 1:04 am

    Well Jane –
    There you go, was it fear or was it love that got you to the Doctor? I’m another one, who has few close friends, but am kind to all. I generally have lunch at my desk, and when I do go out, it has always been with one close friend. Since he left, I’ve been solo. It does give me more time in my day, and I get home earlier because of it, but what’s that got to do with waves crashing on beaches?
    At least your government affords you health care. I am amazed how resistant people are to a national system over here. They won’t care until they lose their house and there life’s savings … As long as they are healthy they would rather pay for bank bailouts and imagined wars on terror. But whats that got to do with waves?
    I recently learned that purpose is about meaning, it is not about action, so it seems you have found meaning in your life, and in it you are finding purpose. It’s debating wall color until you get a win – win, knowing that your decorating will add all the color it needs, it’s having lunch with Em, and remembering each others smiles, it’s finding a few pence in your pocket you didn’t know you had, it’s sunshine through the window at breakfast … It’s waves crashing on the shore, and the smell of salt air, and it’s friends we never met, but shed a tear for …
    So glad to hear from you, sending you health and healing, love and light, wisdom and strength … be well and be whole – hugs …
    Always,
    Peter

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne October 2, 2013 at 7:50 am

      Dear Peter, I think we can count our true friends on one hand, yet flow love and kindness to many others. Thank you for your kind words. I was asked to write an article recently about the changes when a close colleague moves on from work. We are very blessed over here to have the National Health service and I went into the surgery with a list….not sure whether it was fear or love that propelled me to action. I think it was care of self, for if we do not care for ourselves then what impact does that have for those that depend on us? There are many gifts in your message and yes, meaning brings purpose and focus. Each day brings gifts and there have been some very special ones recently. I hope your sea is moving you forward to Albany? Much love and good stuff flowing back to you. I value our connection. Xx

      Like

      • 11 grandfathersky October 2, 2013 at 11:04 am

        Life moves along, about a month away now, living in an empty home, lightening the load for moving day. I’d be interested in reading your article. I have been at this job for almost 15 years, and leaving my work friends, not the company, is the most difficult. As the saying goes ‘it’s not the wind but the set of the sails that determines the way we go. Sending you blessings, for warm winds and gentle tides … Always, Peter

        Like

        • 12 Jane Thorne October 2, 2013 at 1:12 pm

          Well done with the move Peter and yes, I can feel the wrench for you from work. It takes courage to tread water whilst in transition. De-cluttering is good – you know how ‘us girls’ love doing that. x The article I wrote was geared to getting people to call the service. As they all are for that company! It also takes courage to let go and sail into different waters…and you have courage in spades. So may your voyage be meaningful, your seas calm, with warming breezes and the sun on your back. Much love, Jane

          Like

  6. 13 tornadoday October 1, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    O, Jane, I read this and thought of me. I tend to be a private person, and even when I should, I hesitate to share for fear of burdening another with my ‘mess’. But I’m working to do better. Part of what helps is knowing how I am – I want to help others; I want to be the fixer. I find joy in doing that, so why would I be so selfish as to deny another that same joy? Still, I keep that which maybe should be shared the most a little closer to the vest, sharing only with a swollen meadow or a star-filled sky. Love to you, my beautiful friend. May you know that somewhere not so far away (as the sparrow flies), another speaks your name with tenderness into the night. You are loved. ~ Always, Bobbie

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne October 2, 2013 at 7:41 am

      Dearest Bobbie, you are a treasure and thank you for your loving words. We are as we are, and when we are natural fixers and pour love forth, then that is how we are. Thank you. Love always flowing, Xx

      Like

  7. 15 countingducks October 1, 2013 at 11:01 am

    I know what you mean about the beach, and the picture is beautiful, of course, but I always think of palm trees when emotions begin to overwhelm me, and for no reason at all. I’ve no idea why palm trees are meant to calmer than anything else. As to your visits to the dentist and other medical centres, regardless of the physical attributes of the people within them, I hope all is well with you. You are a precious person, as many people know

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne October 1, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      Hello Peter, dear ‘Ducky’…you are too kind and thank you. All is well. Palm trees stand straight and tall, yet sway in the breeze…very calming indeed. Xx

      Like

  8. 17 Maxi October 1, 2013 at 10:55 am

    You have been going through a nightmare Jane, but not to worry your courage and humor will see you through my precious.

    You have my complete understanding about being a private person. It may not come across on my blog but I am very much a loner, even tend to be reclusive. Still, I am always friendly just like you.

    Besides, you always have us. We love you, are always here for you. My prayers are with you and can’t wait to see some pics of your cottage.

    Love and blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne October 1, 2013 at 12:22 pm

      Kindred spirits Maxi, you and I. We share the same humour…love you too and I am sending a big hug across ‘the pond’ right now. Xxx

      Like

  9. 19 susank456 October 1, 2013 at 10:48 am

    Oh Jane, I hope everything turns out well for you. Such a wonderful person deserves only wonderful things in her life. I will put all of my good luck energy to a positive outcome for you. Hang in there.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

