Bits, bobs, ‘You’re kidding me on’ moments and a swing…..

swing

When I was little my Mum and Dad put a grown-up swing in the back garden for us all. My sister, brother and I spent hours on that swing and all of us, Mum and Dad included, still make moves to have a go on one whenever the opportunity presents itself.

I sailed for hours looking over the top of the privet hedge on that swing, across the fields, spinney and canal that were our playground. Daydreams and singing aloud happened every time I flew through the air and my imagination took flight.

This morning has been ‘one of those’ and there have been a few ‘Oh you’re kidding me on’ moments, so I stopped. My builder neighbour is at home this week re-building his back porch and just now he looked down to see me standing at the bottom of his ladder. I had a plate of fresh toast, with lashings of homemade lemon curd on it, in my hand and a smile on my face. He knows me well enough by now to just wait and see what my request was: ‘Can I go and swing on your garden seat please?’

It’s sunny out there, and even though we’re fast heading for late October, there is a warm breeze playing through. The sounds of chickens chattering away, birds singing, children playing in the school yard and horses trotting past were all I could hear.

It was blissful and after a few minutes I had ‘swung it out’.

16 Responses to “Bits, bobs, ‘You’re kidding me on’ moments and a swing…..”


  1. 1 Peter Wells aka Countingducks October 21, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    That brought back a memory. I loved swings too

    Like

  2. 3 Eric Alagan October 19, 2013 at 11:38 am

    Ah, Jane dear – what memories those – sailing up and down with the squeaky chains keeping rhythm 🙂

    And you do come bearing gifts when seeking a favour – a quaint and even proper approach, I reckon – something that is dying off among the younger lot.

    Happy for you and happy that you managed to relive some great moments.

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne October 20, 2013 at 9:14 am

      Hello my lovely buddy, you are flowing with love and gratitude as always. Big hugs for you and love from over here for you and Lisa, J xxx

      Like

  3. 5 Martin Shone October 18, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    I used to love the roundabout 🙂

    Like

  4. 7 Maxi October 18, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    You have a sweet, precious way of asking for a favor Jane. Your neighbor must love you.

    I am one of seven kids, while the others were always gone I would be on the swing … singing and swinging in fantasy land.

    blessings and love to you ~ maxi

    Like

  5. 9 ianscyberspace October 18, 2013 at 1:03 am

    Oh you took me back in time with that one. Loved the swing. My children loved the swing and they passed that love along to my grandchildren too. Happy swinging! The old fashioned wooden rocking chair was a thing of wonder too in my childhood.

    Like

  6. 11 1smiles October 17, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    One of my very favorite things is to sit on a swing. To catch the sun on my face and the breeze in my hair. It breaks the cobwebs out of my thoughts and lets me feel free like a child for a time.
    Glad it works for you too.
    Much love and many, many hugs,
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

  7. 13 elenacaravela October 17, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    Thank you Jane! You’ve brought back my childhood as well. Wonderful:)

    Like

  8. 15 tornadoday October 17, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    I have a swing on my back fence line. There are mornings when my only stops are for a cup of coffee and a blanket to spread so that I can look up at the trees……..catching pieces of promise – light on the branches. As it gets cooler, the only addition is for a pair of jeans (otherwise, two blankets)………. It is heaven in the taking in; and heaven in the letting go. Your neighbor was blessed with the toast, but more by the visit…… May you go there often. ~ Much love, my sweet beautiful Jane. ~ Bobbie

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

