If there are two ways of taking something, choose the good way…..

chickenlove2

A few weeks ago I had my little op. and was ‘de-lumped’ and all went well. The next day David had a business meeting in Cheshire and he took me up with him so I could spend the day with my Mum and Dad, which was lovely. What was a surprise to me was the vulnerable feeling the op. left me with, and during the Cheshire trip, David and I decided that my recovery would flow better if I was in his home.

Three weeks later and I am still here and we have made the decision to stay together.

It’s a brave step for both of us and we ducked out of life one afternoon to talk it through. No phones or laptops and squishy sofas in a fragrant coffee shop gave us the peace we needed to natter. David had a belief that with our very busy lives, we would bond better if we were together. He is right.

He also had a sterling piece of advice ‘If there are two ways of taking something Jane, choose the good way’. As he reminded me last night, this piece of advice also refers to the words that may come out of his mouth when he’s distracted!

We’re learning about each other, weaving our lives together, creating a working space within our home (as we both work from there) and remembering to laugh (often).

We both have children who are out in the world. Stuart has a lovely partner and a beautiful little baby daughter, Emily is settled and doing well at Uni and Nathan is off exploring the world and currently ripping it up down under in Oz. There are blessings to be found in Facebook with it’s communication tools.

David’s made me a Granny and it’s a wonderful feeling. During a happy visit this week the little one and I sat on the floor and watched the birds swaying in the windy trees. I still haven’t had the heart to clean her little hand prints off the french doors.

The last three weeks have been a roller coaster with so many different things going on. We have visited a few places around the UK for David’s business and been flat out as David is on the board opening a new ice rink in Milton Keynes. The rink has been built and will be run almost entirely by volunteers. A massive undertaking and it’s special to be a part of it. My work has grown and I now do party readings on my own and the writing commissions are coming in steadily and more frequently.

So here I am sharing life with a very funny, wise, compassionate man who has an encyclopedic knowledge of life and all it’s workings! I sit here writing looking at the beautiful flowers that came in through the front door last night, accompanied by a broad smile. David is discovering how I handle things too and his recent comment that we seem to have gone through a large amount of washing powder was greeted with a creative response. He opened his pants drawer this morning to find a note sitting on top ‘No additional soap powder was used in the creation of these drawer contents’.

It’s a new adventure with much love, laughter and lots and lots of new things.

Love is a good choice.

X

26 Responses to “If there are two ways of taking something, choose the good way…..”


  1. 1 elenacaravela December 5, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Love is the best choice. Terrific post as alway, Jane:)

    Like

  2. 3 Marylin Warner November 24, 2013 at 4:55 am

    After being “de-lumped” (also my college roommate’s expression), you’re especially fortunate to go for a healing visit with your parents…and then go to heal at David’s. He sounds like a “keeper” and your description of weaving together is lovely. Blessings on you both.

    Like

  3. 5 jacquelinehanginginthere November 18, 2013 at 7:53 am

    Love is certainly a good choice. I wish you and David much happiness, some mayhem and much love in the ebb and flow of life.

    Like

  4. 7 susank456 November 17, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    Good for you Jane! You are not on this earth that long, so you should chase every dream and happiness you can get. I’m glad your operation went well. I will keep you in my thoughts and finger crossed for you.

    David is a lucky man.

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne November 18, 2013 at 1:48 pm

      Thank you Susan and I am sending healing energy to you every day. I hold you in my thoughts. Love and sparkly stuff to you. Xxxxxx

      Like

  5. 9 tornadoday November 17, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Love is the only choice – the only truth. I smiled during the entire read, knowing you have found the place that was always awaiting you to find. You were never not meant to be with this – in this love. You are blessed, and love is blessed the same. ~ Always, Bobbie

    Like

  6. 11 xbox2121 November 17, 2013 at 8:44 am

    First off its good to see you posting again and quit deleting those other post all of the time 🙂 It sounds like you are getting your life in order and seem happy about it. In the end I believe that’s very important and all we really need. All the rest is just gravy.

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne November 18, 2013 at 1:45 pm

      Hello, ‘it’s all gravy’ is my daughter’s favourite saying! It is indeed all gravy. Take care over there and thank you for your supportive comment. 🙂

      Like

  7. 13 ianscyberspace November 17, 2013 at 4:32 am

    Love the post! The savage chickens cartoon at the top takes me back in time to holidays in Australia during the time we were working overseas. They had a horse riding place near to where we were staying on this coastline. The notice on the stables said, “Beware Savage Chickens.” we never saw them on our frequent visits. lol.

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne November 18, 2013 at 1:44 pm

      Hello Ian and thank you. What a funny thought…’savage chickens’! I miss my chickens rootling about the garden, but there are many lovely trees full of birds here. Love to you both Down Under. x

      Like

  8. 15 Granny Trish November 16, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    Loved yout note – could think of many variations but yours is the funniest and best. Great stuff. Granny Trish x x x x

    Like

  9. 17 Francina November 16, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    I’m very happy for you , lovely Jane 🙂 and it’s wonderful to read about it! Wishing you two all the best 🙂
    lots of love and hugs from across the creek..
    Francina xxxx

    Like

  10. 19 Martin Shone November 16, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Indeed it is xx Smiles for you 🙂 HH 🙂

    Like

  11. 21 Karen Fletcher November 16, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    Hi Jane Sorry to read in your blog that you have had to undergo an op.  Hope all well.  So happy that you have found a nice man to share your life with.  Really hope it all works out for you – you deserve it! Take Care. Love Karen xx

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne November 18, 2013 at 1:42 pm

      Thank you Karen and I owe you an email. I hope all is well at your end and I can’t believe another year has gone by. Love to you both, Jane xxx

      Like

  12. 23 1smiles November 16, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    Happy, Happy, Happy…. that’s what I feel from your post. You deseve every happiness Jane.
    Much, much love to you!
    Jeannie xxxxxxxx

    Like

  13. 25 Al November 16, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    This is one of the most positive, happy posts I have read in a long time. Good for you, Jane, and for David too. It reminds me of one of my favorite quotes (forgive me if I’ve mentioned this before). It goes, “You can’t sprinkle happiness on someone else without spilling a few drops on yourself.” Happy life to you both.

    Like

    • 26 Jane Thorne November 16, 2013 at 1:06 pm

      Dear Al, thank you for your kind thoughts and words. That is one of my favourite quotes too, Ralph Waldo Emerson…way ahead of his time. We’d love to see you both when you visit the UK next year…much laughter when we’re all together I think. Love to you both. X

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

