Team…together, everytime, always, magic.

couple skating

David and I took to the ice yesterday for our first skating lesson with much laughter, wobbling and some progress as confidence grew thanks to our lovely, patient coach. There was a special moment where we glided together and wrapped our arms gratefully around each other and my heart took a picture that will stay with me always.

Emily commented the other day that she was grateful for the good that David was bringing into our lives and I can only echo that heartfelt thought.

My life so far has been interesting with many adventures and hopefully, with many more to come. Gratitude for the sparkle I have managed to find in the darkest moments, and my eternal optimism, have carried me through to this point. I had become so used to a feeling I have carried for many years now, that it has taken me a while to realise that it has gone, completely disappeared.

In all our ‘busyness’ we were dashing about yesterday working down at the ice rink and stocking up the coffee shop. With a car full of muffins and hot chocolate goodies we broke down, right at the entrance to a very hectic roundabout, as our gearbox gave up the ghost. Now being a calm soul David managed to get us out of the traffic and away to safety on the grass verge, where we tucked up waiting for the rescue truck…bless his foresight in having breakdown cover. We nattered and took the time to make new plans. Our lovely ‘daughter-in-law’ drove past and stopped to see if we needed help too. The sight of our peaceful little granddaughter, with her new flowery shoes, fast asleep in the back of the car was a treat. In time we were duly rescued, delivered back home, our poorly car dropped onto the driveway, and thanks to a local taxi firm, we got the coffee shop re-stocked. Then we found a local restaurant where we tucked up in the warm to finally have a hot lunch at 4pm. As we waited for our food, we curled up together and I made my discovery.

Many, many years of being on the front line, of battling, worries hidden and of holding faith that all was well, hid a gnawing, and at times, almost overwhelming anxiety. It had become my background music. I looked at David yesterday and listened to his words about how we’ll sort the car. My heart heard my team mate, my life buddy and the man who has my back covered. As I have his.

The anxiety has completely gone.

Thank you my love, for the many gifts that you have brought into my life and for the new background music that has lightened my world more than you could know.

X

32 Responses to “Team…together, everytime, always, magic.”


  1. 1 journeyintopoetry December 9, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    Hi Jane!

    I seem to have been out of touch with you and your blog for a while; I have no idea how this happened! Anyway I have now resubscribed and am faithfully following once more.

    Im so happy for you! You really do sound content with your “new lot” and it is really lovely to know you have found someone special to share your life.

    I have missed your musings on life and it was so lovely to read this today, especially when my day began at a rather low ebb. Now you have cheered me with this warm, cosy update and I look forward to many more.

    Lots of funky teapot love to you

    Xxxhugsxxx

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne December 9, 2013 at 5:57 pm

      Dearest Chris, you are such a lovely friend and it is always good to hear from you. Your love and support counts for much my funky teapot buddy. Much love and hugs to you Chris. Xxxx ❤

      Like

  2. 3 Marylin Warner November 29, 2013 at 5:39 am

    Ice skating together really is magical…even when you stumble and fall, as long you laughingly hold tight and help each other up again.

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne November 30, 2013 at 4:28 pm

      Hello Marylin, you’ve hit the nail on the head with the support of each other and laughter…laughter is magical too. Love to you. Xx

      Like

  3. 5 triciabertram November 28, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    Jane, it’s been a while since I commented on your blog, but I just couldn’t let this post go by without telling you how happy I am for you. I don’t know you but I sense you spend your life giving to others. I’m so pleased you are now receiving.
    “My heart took a picture” just beautiful. 🙂

    Like

  4. 7 bardessdmdenton November 26, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    Like Peter, I have also missed ‘a few episodes’ and am so thrilled for you, Jane. He sounds like a wonderful man and perfect for you. What a beautiful reflection of the practical and magical! XO ♥

    Like

  5. 9 xbox2121 November 25, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    As someone who has battled anxiety for 30 years I am glad you found away to get rid of yours, I wish for you that it continues.

    Like

  6. 11 Martin Shone November 25, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    Music is the heartbeat of love’s eternal song and together you are as the birds are … beautiful in their togetherness as they sing their own heartbeat’s of love xxxx

    Like

  7. 13 Peter Wells aka Countingducks November 25, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    I seem to have missed a couple of episodes here, but I can clearly see a bit of whooping and cheering are in order. How very nice and lovely to read. Car breakdowns are stressful at the best of times, and to have someone there to both calm and guide you through the stress of it is lovely for us to know. Couldn’t be happier to learn that a lovely person has the companionship and support she so richly deserves. More whooping !

    Like

  8. 15 elenacaravela November 25, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    How beautiful-your sentiments, written so well. I’m so very happy for you:)

    Like

  9. 17 Maxi November 25, 2013 at 11:41 am

    Be still my heart. Jane, my eyes are so full it’s hard to write. May your world stay filled with love and sunshine.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  10. 19 ianscyberspace November 25, 2013 at 4:26 am

    “my heart took a picture that will stay with me always.” I loved that expression!

    Like

  11. 21 Eric Alagan November 25, 2013 at 1:55 am

    Very happy for you, Jane dear – and for David too.

    My heartfelt good wishes,
    Eric

    Like

  12. 23 1smiles November 24, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Jane, You have described it so clearly. That unknowing level of anxiety that’s become a part of my life too. You hit the nail on the head.
    I’m so happy that your song has changed. And thank you for giving me faith that one day my song just might change too.
    Much lovr to you both!
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

  13. 25 Granny Trish November 24, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    Dearheart, You are not alone in waiting for this time to come into your life, What you have endured has made you the person you are now and the time is right to be treasured – at last!! Our love to you both – Granny Trish x x x

    Like

  14. 27 Kim Merrett November 24, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    Jane, my beautiful ‘twin’, with tears of joy in my eyes and an overflowing heart, I send you so much love and a wish for happiness and contentment beyond measure. I love you xxx

    Like

  15. 29 Al November 24, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Beautifully penned and heartfelt. Love it for both of you.

    P.S. Is the next Sonja Heine in the offing?

    Like

  16. 31 tornadoday November 24, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    I absolutely love this, Jane……….sometimes, we are so used to the sound of gunfire that we forget the song that is the sparrow – that is our own heart beating. I’m so glad you’ve found it………and that your nights are curled against it dreaming. ~ Love, Bobbie

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,251 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

