My rose tinted specs are polished…..

rose tinted specs

Women of the Western world unite as this is one manic time of year.

All the changes and new developments in my little corner of life have impacted on my poor old bod, and ‘poorlyness’ has been hanging around for a few weeks now. Being a loving girl I have shared the germs with my beloved. Handling all our commitments, whilst not firing on all cyclinders, has called for much creativity on both our parts. Laughter and grand organisation have oiled the wheels and kept us rolling forward, giving us a crash course in how we manage things together. Cuddles are vital.

There have been many special moments and supportive things that have happened. There is one though that I can share, which is funny and illustrates how special he is, whilst preserving our privacy!

I had the bright idea that highlights would improve my hair, brighten my outlook and lift my spirits. Being a thrifty girl, I bought a ‘home kit’ and having checked out the instructions, was confident that I could manage this on my own. My beloved departed for the evening to a meeting and I set about my hair re-vamp.

I donned my rose tinted specs…..

Two hours later, and home earlier than expected, my beloved sailed through the front door and here is what followed:

MB: ‘Hello, where are you?’
Me: ‘How did you get on? If you need a laugh come upstairs now’.
MB: ‘Are you supposed to look like that?’ Whilst maintaining a straight face.
Me: ‘I think I have managed to do it all’
MB: ‘ Really?????’

I had the plastic cap on my head and had been pulling my hair through these tiny, tiny little holes with a fiddly, and impossible to manage on your own, crochet hook.

MB: ‘You need help……’
Me: ‘Shall we have a drink?’

There followed a ‘happy’ hour where MB sat me down and pulled my hair through properly. Apparently, the instructions were simplistic, I was overly optimistic and had managed to pull through about 6 strands to every 100 needed (badly). MB could have been exaggerating here, but I was in no position to argue!

MB’s eyes were watering from tiredness and being poorly and this is not what he needed mid-week at 10pm. Finally, my hair was all pulled through the cap, dyed, washed and dried.

MB: ‘Now you really will be blond.’
Me: ‘Thank you very much and I’m really sorry I dragged you into this.’
MB: ‘If it helps you to feel better, then it’s all worthwhile.’

I may look tired and poorly, but it has helped me to feel so much better.

I love you MB.

DSC_1074

28 Responses to “My rose tinted specs are polished…..”


  1. 1 elenacaravela December 27, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    You look Lovely Jane! A little perk goes a long way:)

    Like

  2. 3 Francina December 14, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    you look even more lovely, lovely Jane 🙂 xo

    Like

  3. 5 tornadoday December 13, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    I love it, Jane. Highlights are a gift every girl should give herself! I’m not sure how, but they always make me feel lighter too! I love you and your hair looks awesome! Good job to you and MB. 🙂 ~ Bobbie

    Like

  4. 7 ianscyberspace December 13, 2013 at 4:37 am

    Oh the woman’s hair thing! I found a hairdresser in our new location who not only crafts Georgine’s hair, but talks non stop through it all, and that’s also part of the therapy. The talk fest! lol

    Like

  5. 9 Eric Alagan December 13, 2013 at 1:54 am

    Looks like you and “MB” had a special time – all worthwhile too, if I might add 🙂

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

  6. 11 triciabertram December 13, 2013 at 12:53 am

    To love and be loved is everything. Thank you for sharing this lovely snippet of your life.

    Like

  7. 13 susank456 December 12, 2013 at 10:32 pm

    You are beautiful! The hair turned out perfect. You are much braver than me, I am terrified to try that myself.

    Like

  8. 15 Al December 12, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    You look fantastic!

    I think a lucrative career as a beautician awaits your David. Or at least as a Hollywood make-up artist…….food for thought……

    Like

  9. 17 Karenj December 12, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    You look stunning Jane – David can come over to Malta and do mine for me!!

    Have a lovely Christmas.

    Karen xxx

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne December 13, 2013 at 12:21 pm

      Hello Karen, lovely to hear from you and thank you. I emailed you, but I am not sure that I have the right address?? Have a lovely Christmas with John, much love to you both. Xxx

      Like

  10. 19 Maxi December 12, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    Omg, your David has made you blond and beautiful … can’t tell you how overjoyed I am for you Jane. May your love bring music and laughter to you both—always.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  11. 21 Peter Wells aka Countingducks December 12, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    Now, you know I am always reluctant to lurch towards the personal, but I am forced to say you look pretty good to me. Its also worth saying that, ill or not, I couldn’t be more pleased about your new companionship. All good things come to she who waits, and no one deserves such an event more than you

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne December 12, 2013 at 3:28 pm

      Oh Ducky, thank you very much for your kind words and support. David has brought so many blessings with him, it is lovely and I feel a very lucky girl. Big hugs to you and all good writing vibes for the new ventures in your world. 🙂 Xx

      Like

  12. 25 journeyintopoetry December 12, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    You look absolutely gorgeous! And you have brightened a dreary winters day for me lovley Jane! If he is prepared to do this for you at 10 pm, tired and poor.y, well, I need say no more 😊

    Big crazy teapot hugs
    And oodles of love
    Xxx

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

