Good old Pooh, he had the right idea about love…..

feel love

I am going to feel my way with this piece of writing, as I am not even sure myself what I want to say. I just know that things are not feeling right.

My daily routine has changed and things have been very hectic, but I caught myself in the middle of a lie this afternoon. I was answering a batch (a big one) of emails, and as I typed (almost without thinking) the words ‘I am sorry I have not replied sooner, but things have been very busy’.

Oh dear, has it been that busy? Really?

The short answer is ‘no’, not really. I make choices every day on where my time goes, and losing sight of what is important in that time, is not loving for those I love and care about.

I have a natural aversion to social media, reality television and the falseness of our celebrity culture. Yet how much of our day do we allocate to it? How many ‘likes’ go on Facebook? How many times do we check others social media statuses and tweets? How much television erodes our time? How many emails do we fire off? How many do we read and not reply to? How many of the media stories do we read and believe?

It feels false to me.

Love underpins everything and in this lovely world of ours people are what matter. If we care for each other, then that care radiates out to keep all around us running with love.

I wish to see the people I love face to face to have a conversation. I don’t want to be checking my phone for texts, alerts or emails whilst I am with them either. I want to listen, really listen.

Each one of us is unique, and in that uniqueness, each one of us is special. My loved ones deserve thought and my full attention.

Love is not measured, logical nor scientific. It is a gift and it ‘is’.

43 Responses to “Good old Pooh, he had the right idea about love…..”


  1. 1 smzang February 20, 2014 at 1:05 am

    Yes!!

    So glad to have this blog!!

    Sarah

    Like

  2. 6 marymtf February 1, 2014 at 12:26 am

    Liked your post. Found myself nodding a lot as I read it. I loathe social media, don’t involve myself in it, I think that (un) reality television is a producer cop out and I don’t know most of the people these days who are touted as celebs. Jane, I may have found a kindred spirit.

    Like

    • 7 Jane Thorne February 3, 2014 at 9:17 am

      Hello Mary, good to ‘meet’ you. Thank you for taking the time to read and leave a thoughtful comment on my blog. Here’s to kindred spirits. 🙂

      Like

  3. 8 randalldeanscott January 22, 2014 at 6:34 am

    As an adolescent I went to my mother and I think I might have brought it up with my step father too. I told them I didn’t like that we rarely had dinner at the dining table. The norm was to plop down in front of the television with plates in lap.

    It never felt right to me and when I brought it up, I was told that I watched to much TV, like Leave it to Beaver. Um, DUH! Look where we’re eating our dinner! They still didn’t get it.

    I was also told that life isn’t “like that” and that it was unrealistic to think there could be such family interactions. There was no internet then. Perhaps the internet is today’s TV and it creates similar, yet more complex challenges. Especially when it comes to balance, as Francina and others have suggested?

    I feel ya on this post. Individually, I could make some changes in this department.

    Like

    • 9 Jane Thorne January 22, 2014 at 10:29 am

      I like your thought Randall, and yes, the internet feels exactly like a modern TV. There is so much voyeuristic unkindness on the net and TV, it disconnects us all even further. There is much good there too, like blogging and the global village we have here.

      Your comment struck a chord with me too, as I remembered my childhood and the leisurely meals around the table. David and I have come together later in life and have three grown up children between us, out there making their own way in the world, but he and I sit to have our meals together.

      You were wise beyond your years, and even if the adults around you didn’t get it, you did. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment, it’s much appreciated.

      Like

      • 10 randalldeanscott January 22, 2014 at 3:10 pm

        The pleasure was all mine, Jane. It’s good to see people writing about meaningful discussions. Had this been an announcement about what celebrity is marrying whom, I might have passed it up without reading a word. Keep up the good work.

        Like

        • 11 Jane Thorne January 24, 2014 at 10:48 am

          Randall thank you, like you, I write from the heart and my heart is not moved by dross! I love your poetry, so please keep writing. 🙂

          Like

  4. 12 Jean January 22, 2014 at 1:02 am

    I’ve solved part of that problem: I’m not on facebook, twitter. I haven’t got a cellphone –yet. So I really do have to some extra steps to reach out. Ok, by me.

    Like

  5. 14 Jodee January 21, 2014 at 5:12 pm

    Oh yes, love is the basis of life, of everything. Love is the reason why we are here.

    Like

  6. 16 rickbraveheart January 21, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    Oh Jane, what a refreshing, honest and validating (for me) post. Thank you. Social media is much the same way for me. It does help bring me closer to knowing others (like you, for example). But unlike virtual friendships, human ones can be much richer because they have so many more elements that can’t be experienced online (shared laughter, body language, etc). And, the busyness of everyone today makes the idea of texting/emailing personal friends “to stay in touch” seem so appealing. But when face to face visits disappear and technology becomes the only way you connect, something seems to change in that friendship for me. Thanks so much for this thoughtful and wonderful post. It has me thinking even more about this. { }

    Like

    • 17 Jane Thorne January 21, 2014 at 1:43 pm

      Hello Rick, how lovely to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful comment. I have a few blogs to catch up with and yours is up there at the top. I hope all is well in your world and I look forward to seeing your beautiful pictures this year. Here’s to a sparkling 2014. 🙂

      Like

      • 18 rickbraveheart January 22, 2014 at 2:06 pm

        Hi Jane. Oh, definitely take your time in visiting the blog. I was away for several months anyway. Plus, if you wait for a few weeks you can start following along on my upcoming assignment at Zion National Park in Utah where I hope there will be some wonderful photos and stories to share.

        Like

  7. 20 Peter Wells aka Countingducks January 20, 2014 at 7:57 pm

    Now, you may not be surprised to know I’ve always loved Winnie the Poo, and often felt we must be related. Like a lot of wise people, he doesn’t know he’s wise, and his sense of life is all the more charming because of it

    Like

  8. 22 Eric Alagan January 19, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Social media can connect and it can also alienate. You’re right, Jane dear – we’re in control and should not let it control us.

    Just back from my travels and am catching up.

    Trust the weekend has been good,
    Eric

    Like

  9. 24 journeyintopoetry January 18, 2014 at 11:59 am

    Big hugs Jane, I love the Pooh quote.

    I think, used in moderation social media can be good. I have so many MS friends for support on a couple of closed facebook groups, and would feel quite alone with my illness without them. My family are all a wonderful source of support but cant feel the empathy that other MS sufferers can.

    Having sid that this has led to my using fb a great deal and I do have to discipline myslf to stop myslf from spending hours on end just scrolling,, meandering and generally messing about!

    Love fom your crazy teapot friend
    xxx

    Like

    • 25 Jane Thorne January 21, 2014 at 11:14 am

      I ‘hear’ you Chris and I agree. It helps me to be around like minded souls too on fb. A purposeless meander does the soul good I think too, nothing everything has to have an outcome or reason…we are allowed to have fun too. Allowed, listen to me…there is room for fun! Much love to you my funky teapot friend. Xxxx

      Like

  10. 26 Francina January 17, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    great post, Jane. And it is indeed all about finding the right balance. There are pro and cons as with many things.
    have a lovely weekend xoxo

    Like

  11. 28 Maxi January 17, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    How I wish more people felt as you do Jane … so sad.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • 29 Jane Thorne January 17, 2014 at 3:22 pm

      Gosh Maxi, we were reading and commenting on each others blogs at the same time…synchronicity at work. Biggest hugs for you. Xxx

      Like

  12. 30 Peter Wells aka Countingducks January 17, 2014 at 9:39 am

    Amen to that, and yet the funny thing is, without social media I would never have come across you, or felt these words so strongly. It’s a conundrum is what it is. I think the heart of it is, for me, that whether it be through social media or physical interaction I am moved by the genuine and repulsed by the fake. I think that’s about it for me

    Like

    • 31 Jane Thorne January 17, 2014 at 3:15 pm

      Yes, we feel what is fake…we met through blogging and I don’t class that as social media, is it? I am very glad we met though. 🙂

      Like

  13. 32 mj monaghan January 17, 2014 at 2:45 am

    I’m not gonna lie, Jane – I love social media. On the outside I appear very gregarious, but I truly love communicating via blogs, texts, facebook, and pinterest. I also like getting together with a few people. I don’t like big groups so much, though.

    Thought-provoking post, my friend!

    Like

  14. 34 ianscyberspace January 17, 2014 at 12:04 am

    Yes that’s the ideal, but I do cherish the friends I made in my work and travels abroad and sometimes the only way to keep that friendship going is through the social media. However I’m with you on the thought that social media can be an enormous time waster so I don’t let it control my day either.

    Like

    • 35 Jane Thorne January 17, 2014 at 3:12 pm

      Hello Ian, yes, I agree, it helps me to keep in touch with my worldwide friends…Elena hit the nail on the head…it’s all about balance. 🙂

      Like

  15. 36 triciabertram January 16, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    Jane, I’d almost finished quite a lengthy response to this thought provoking post but it seems to have disappeared. I don’t know if you received it or not. Suffice to say I enjoyed this post and it has encouraged me to rethink a few things. 🙂 Tricia xx

    Like

    • 37 Jane Thorne January 17, 2014 at 3:11 pm

      Hello Tricia, no the long one didn’t come through, but it’s OK as I got your love with this one. Big hugs and love coming right back to you. 🙂 Xxx

      Like

  16. 38 tornadoday January 16, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    Amen! Love isn’t something we do; it’s who we are……… We make time for what matters. Let’s find a resting place for all that won’t fit into our arms…….but let us love first with all we have to give.

    Not long ago, someone commented that they couldn’t believe I didn’t have an i-phone or an android………because of all the things it could do for me. I have a phone to make calls. That’s what I want it for……..anything else, and it only gets in the way of what I need of love.

    Beautiful, Jane…….

    Like

  17. 42 elenacaravela January 16, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Technology I think, is both an opportunity and a hindrance. Like everything else, balance…except for love-so true Jane, can’t have too much of that:)

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

