Community spirit and farming…

farmland

I sat and watched ‘Countryfile’ with Dad tonight and one of their reports was from the worst hit flood area in the county of Somerset. They were talking to the farmers whose fields were still underwater over two months on. The farmers had managed to move their livestock, but their stocks of animal feed and bedding were ruined. One farmers wife put a Tweet on Twitter for help and within hours the farming community of the UK rallied. Fellow farmers hauled feed and bedding , some of them from many miles away, into a central collection point for all. The film showed hardy farmers welling up at the support and care that was coming their way from their fellow man.

Life is flowing an insight into this world my way lately. My pet and house sitting venture is taking off with great energy and I now have eight confirmed bookings over the next few months. A few of these bookings are for farms and smallholdings and I have been shown thoughtfulness when the details have been discussed. One lady is going to keep a few lambs bottlefed for me, so that I can be there to feed them for a few more days and wean them for her. This farm is also home for many retired racehorses and I will be able to ride out in the company of her groom. On another smallholding I have been given the care of a lovely horse and Shetland pony, so I will be able to muck out their stables and groom them. On many of my bookings I am able to feed and care for hens and notably in one home (and this was relayed with humour) a very timid rooster. I love the pictures of the dogs and cats that are being emailed across and they all have fabulous names.

Life is opening up a very exciting new chapter.

22 Responses to “Community spirit and farming…”


  1. 1 ianscyberspace April 7, 2014 at 12:07 am

    You have such an interesting life. Glad to see it is giving you so much pleasure

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne April 7, 2014 at 9:03 am

      Ah Ian, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely comment. I hope you have a good day out there in Oz. x

      Like

  2. 3 bardessdmdenton April 4, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    May blessings abound in your new venture, Jane! XO

    Like

  3. 5 susank456 March 21, 2014 at 10:44 am

    Lovely photo Jane. I am jealous, getting to be around horses and caring for them. You will be awesome!

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne March 21, 2014 at 11:26 am

      Hello Susan, you are so kind, thank you. This adventure starts next Friday and I am looking forward to it. Sending healing hugs your way. Xxx

      Like

  4. 7 elenacaravela March 20, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    Your journey sounds delightful. Looking forward to your posts about your new furry friends:)

    Like

  5. 9 tornadoday March 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    Jane, this sounds wonderful. But I warn you to keep a close eye on that rooster. I tend to be a bit fearless and not much phases me, but roosters do. I was flogged by one as a child. I recovered, but my granny made sure that the rooster didn’t. Poor thing never knew what was coming. 😦 What a beautiful page in your story. *sigh* ~ Love ever, Bobbie

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne March 17, 2014 at 6:24 pm

      Dearest Bobbie, I would not have messed with your Granny! 🙂 I was very lucky as a child to have all sorts of experiences with different animals and places. Now I can do it all again and I feel very blessed. All these new connections with many animals, people and places. Much love to you always, Xxx

      Like

  6. 13 Peter Wells aka Countingducks March 17, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    It sounds like you have a really lovely time in store for you there. When my girls were small, I had a small-holding with horses and sheep, geese and chickens, and I will always remember the girls running around them like little pixie’s. It is a treasured world and a lovely thought that you will experience it

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne March 17, 2014 at 6:20 pm

      Hello Ducky, yes it is a treasured world and very natural. I was a lucky girl with my upbringing and this kind of life suits me very well. I am so looking forward to all that this chapter brings forth. It is lovely to hear from you. Xx

      Like

  7. 15 journeyintopoetry March 17, 2014 at 3:02 pm

    Wow Jane! When you said house and animal sitting I thought you meant domestic animals such as dogs and cats etc. but this is wonderful!

    And it’s good to know that compassion prevails when people are in a fix and need urgent help. Human beings can be kind; we need to hear more about it. All we hear in the news is how horrible people can be.

    Love the photo too, all those gorgeous walls dividing the fields!

    Sending crazy teapot hugs and love ❤ xx

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne March 17, 2014 at 3:15 pm

      Hello my lovely friend, it’s good to hear from you. I will be caring for dogs and cats too, and guinea pigs, rabbits, all sorts. I spent my teenage years around farm animals and horses, so this is such a lift for me to get time around them again. Marvelous….I will be rwiting about my adventures I promise. Big hugs for you and a cuppa with you my lovely. Xxxx

      Like

  8. 17 Eric Alagan March 17, 2014 at 7:18 am

    Amazing, Jane dear – how the farmers are rallying – the real salt of this earth, I reckon.

    Happy that you’ve so many bookings. I’m especially thrilled by the farm stays – I would love to do that. Imagine, getting paid for doing something I’ve always dreamed of.

    Much luv and hugz coming your way,
    Eric

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne March 17, 2014 at 3:13 pm

      Hello my lovely buddy, it is good to hear from you, always. I appreciate you taking the time to visit as I know how busy you are. I am gifting my time and care for a roof over my head with paid utilities. It saves me on rent or mortgage and I only have food and travel expenses. The home owners then get loving care for their pets and home in return. ‘Win win’ I reckon. I can earn money with the counselling phone service and my writing. I am also thinking of offering different services whilst I travel about, like sewing, de-cluttering, gardening, cooking, baking….these I would charge for. It’s still in the early stages, but i have absolute faith that it will evolve in a loving way. Big hugs to you. Xxx

      Like

  9. 19 ianscyberspace March 17, 2014 at 5:08 am

    Lovely picture, positive message.

    Like

  10. 21 Al March 17, 2014 at 12:52 am

    Sounds wonderful, Jane. They are lucky to be getting such a caring, responsible person to care for their furry loved ones.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,286 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Categories


roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Create Space

Creating a space for the creative use of life as a tool for learning.

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

England And Scotland

Our trip to the United Kingdom

bridgesburning

There are no facts, only interpretations. - Friedrich Nietzsche. The truth I think that validates everything you have to say.

beetleypete

The musings of a Londoner, now living in Norfolk

From Mage Mind

When a mage is sharing what's on his mind. Business, Motivation, Positive life, Success, Marketing and Good Ideas.

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

