A new adventure starts, with much to be grateful for…

DSC_1379

David drove me to my first pet and house sitting assignment yesterday, and even though we are both heartsore, there are gifts in how we still look out for each other.

I sit here writing at a new kitchen table this morning and I give thanks for landing in this special place.

Before the couple left on holiday I was given a guided tour, with helpful instructions, and I was wrapped in their thought and care. Space had been cleared in wardrobes and cupboards, fluffy towels put out in my bathroom, with fresh candles placed in cosy corners, so I would feel at home. The lady of the house showed me where all her baking equipment and ingredients were, as she knows I love to create. The man of the house got his bike out and found me a rucksack to borrow, so I was mobile this week. Careful maps were drawn so I wouldn’t get lost when I explored. As I waved them off, I felt very blessed indeed.

Their beautiful home backs onto a wild park with a canal and yesterday afternoon I set off on my borrowed bike to find Tescos to buy supplies. The sunshine was out in all her glory as I cycled for ages down the towpath and felt the heartache and ‘busyness’ of the last few months start to lift off. Ducks quacked to each other, Canada geese honked and swans glided by. There is a thriving community on the canal, some relaxing and some living permanently on the water, so there were many ‘Hellos’ as I sailed past. The narrowboats have pots of bright spring flowers on their roofs and there was much ‘renovating’ happening.

Last night as I curled up on the sofa, their marmalade tabby cat settled down on my legs and as I looked outside twinkly solar lights came on in the trees.

I know there are some that wonder how this works without charging, but it has a special energy to it. I gift my care and time, and in turn, I am gifted time in a home, with the company and love of animals. It is all done on trust and I feel many loving connections will be made. In calm I can work and earn my pennies and write….

Peace is weaving in and as I chatted to their lovely cat this morning, and he chatted back, a sense of gratitude was all I could feel.

DSC_1375

26 Responses to “A new adventure starts, with much to be grateful for…”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton April 4, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful adventure … full of an enrichment money doesn’t bring. Your writing just takes one into the spirit of what you are encountering and reflecting on. Just catching up … blessings! XO ♥

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne April 6, 2014 at 11:35 am

      Hello lovely Diane, thank you for your continuing love and support, it means a lot. Thank you. It is indeed an adventure at this end! Much love, Xxx

      Like

  2. 3 JaneS March 31, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    Must be the UK – your writing makes me nostalgic and crave some of that peace and calm. But, then I remind myself that I could have it here as well. Although nature can soothe, and we learn that views of nature assist healing in the sick, I believe that we are ultimately the authors of our own peace. You capture it in this delightful narrative! Cheerio, Jane

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne March 31, 2014 at 3:12 pm

      Hello Jane, how lovely to hear from you (well done Eric), and yes, we do all need some peace. Thank you for being kind about my narrative. Right now, I am sitting writing at the kitchen table, I can hear the birds singing outside and the gentle snoozing of the very lovely marmalade tabby cat I am caring for this week. Many blessings in this moment. Take care, Jane

      Like

  3. 5 Maxi March 31, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    Soooo happy for you, Jane. Love your photos of peace and beauty.

    The morning chat with the tabby gave me a tickle … sounded like a warm and wonderful welcome.

    blessings to you and your new adventure ~ maxi

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne March 31, 2014 at 12:39 pm

      Hello Maxi, have your ‘girls’ returned home? I hope you had a lovely visit? I am thriving on these new choices and I have started writing my first book…whoop de do. This beautiful cat is perfect company and I love being here. It’s very special indeed. Big healing hugs for you my lovely…Xxx

      Like

      • 7 Maxi March 31, 2014 at 2:25 pm

        Yes, the girls have gone home. We had a blast.

        To read that you are happy and writing your first book is music to my ears.

        Kudos to you, Jane. You so deserve all the joy in your life.
        blessings ~ maxi

        Like

        • 8 Jane Thorne March 31, 2014 at 2:46 pm

          As do you Maxi and I am so glad you had a good visit…I loved the photograph. Healing hugs to you my lovely friend. Xxx

          Like

  4. 9 journeyintopoetry March 31, 2014 at 9:31 am

    Oh Jane, I could have gone on and on and quite lose myself in this piece of writing. What a wonderful opportunity for you and what a glorious place this looks too! You never know, a novel could appear out of your new adventures!

    Lots of gentle, happy, teapot love to you xxx❤

    Like

  5. 13 tornadoday March 31, 2014 at 12:15 am

    Jane, payment is surely more than coins and paper………it is in the welcome, and the gathering ’round to faith. This truth goes forward with you, as love into the hearts and homes of others. Surely, they entertain an angel, unaware. Be blessed, my friend. ~ Always love, Bobbie

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne March 31, 2014 at 10:33 am

      Dearest Bobbie, I knew you would understand that this all springs from love. The choice to live this way comes from the heart, all love. Love always for you my special friend, Xxxx

      Like

  6. 15 grandfathersky March 30, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    There is something growing in that heart of yours that makes all this very special indeed. Perhaps as Aquileana stated there is a novel brewing in all this…

    Like

  7. 17 ianscyberspace March 30, 2014 at 11:38 pm

    Thank you for sharing your ability to describe the beauty of life. Some of my ancestors in England were canal lock keepers so that picture gave me a little bit of insight into how their environment would have possibly looked way back in history.

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne March 31, 2014 at 10:30 am

      Hello Ian, what an interesting ancestry you have. It is another world down there, timeless. Close your eyes and you can see the dray horses pulling the narrowboats in days gone by. Such a rich history, and so very peaceful down there. 🙂

      Like

  8. 19 1smiles March 30, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    Jane,
    I see so much trust and faith in you. I wish I had but a fraction of it. So glad that you’ve embarked on this adventure.
    With love and hugs,
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne March 30, 2014 at 2:13 pm

      My darling girl, know that I hold you in my heart always. You have the strength within and I can see your sparkle. I love you Jeannie. Xxxxxx

      Like

  9. 21 Al March 30, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    What a glorious way to spread joy and contentment to your readers on this Sunday morning. The canal walk looks like a ready-made stress reducer if ever there was one.

    Looking forward to the time when you will be able to visit over here….whenever that may be.

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne March 30, 2014 at 2:16 pm

      Hello lovely Al, my delightful friend. As soon as my wings dry off enough to cross the pond, you and Patty will be my first pit stop…so long as that fits in with your plans? Your support for my new adventures is much appreciated. 🙂 xx for you both.

      Like

  10. 23 Aquileana March 30, 2014 at 1:39 pm

    Jane…

    This could be an excerpt of a novel. I can see your text placed in a bigger frame , you know…
    I adore cats and truly believe writers should have (at least) one…
    I enjoyed the bike promenade to find Tescos to buy supplies. The descriptions are marvellous and truly captivating… I loved the witty neologism ‘busyness’ and joined you in the poetic progression towards calm and joy…
    As you have well said: “It is all done on trust and I feel many loving connections will be made”.
    Best regards, Aquileana 🙂

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne March 30, 2014 at 1:56 pm

      Hello Aquileana, what a lovely, thoughtful comment. Thank you so much. I am just starting to write my first book…very much along the lines of my blog. I feel these new adventures and settings are the springboard for this long held dream of mine. These connections are an affirmation that love and trust is very much present in life. 🙂

      Like

  11. 25 Eric Alagan March 30, 2014 at 11:21 am

    It’s Sunday evening here in Singapore. I returned from my walk-a-jog (or is that a jog-a-walk) to spy the email notification of your post. As I’m cooling down for my shower, I post this comment.

    I’m so happy that after the recent prolonged period of turmoil, some calm waters flow under your keel. I’m happy for you, Jane dearest, and happy for that couple to have you as their house & pet sitter.

    I detect positive chemistry spread among all you encounter.

    Enjoy the calm and thank Him. May the journey ahead be filled with scented flowers and cheery faces.

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

    • 26 Jane Thorne March 30, 2014 at 11:30 am

      Oh Eric, what a lovely comment. Thank you so much. It’s as sunny as the day is today. So much to be grateful for. Much love and hugs flowing to you and have fun on your future ‘walk a jog’ or ‘jog a walk’…love that term! My legs are still wibbly from cycling, but I keep telling them it’s all for the greater good! Take care my special buddy, Xxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

