Belonging, special moments and a gentle wind in my sails..

sail boat

There is a freedom that comes from having no fixed abobe, and as I adjust my thinking around it, I have realised that this lifestyle encourages you to stay in the moment.

As I opened my eyes this morning a very lovely cat stretched out his paw to say ‘Good morning’. I stroked his head as we chatted about our plans for the day. His are much simpler than mine. He closed his eyes again, with his head nestled in my hand, and I lay gazing at his beautiful face and markings as he gently purred.

Em got in touch last night to ask if I remembered how she and her Dad used to do battle with computer games? I recalled these sessions very well and wished them luck in their latest ‘head to head’ on XBox. She is starting a week of pet and house sitting for her Dad and his partner as they set off on holiday today, then she’s away to Spain with the rugby team from Uni. Go Em. X

Last night an email came in from a lovely friend, in the little village where I used to live. She wrote about her children, the farm, work in the woods and how many calves they have being born from their organic cattle herd. She asked if I could come and care for their home and brood in the Summer and also, extended the invitation to come and stay anytime as we miss each other and are due a good catch-up.

This morning I had a heart warming chat with my inspiring Reiki Master and dates have been booked in the diary. This will give us time for a catch-up, space to run some creative ideas past each other and she can show me the ropes with her brood for future care.

I got dressed this morning with one of my favourite pictures of Em on the bedside table, next to Granny’s little music box and a gripping book from Mum. Breakfast was made with bread from David.

The belonging for me comes in these loving moments.

21 Responses to “Belonging, special moments and a gentle wind in my sails..”


  1. 1 Aquileana April 2, 2014 at 2:44 am

    Very touching; Jane … Your words run softly . I enjoyed the descriptions and feelings you evoke. The last line is so eloquent and powerful.: Good ending. Best wishes, Aquileana πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. 3 ianscyberspace April 1, 2014 at 8:48 pm

    The pleasures of life consist of the little things

    Like

  3. 5 tornadoday April 1, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    O, Jane. You’ve reminded me of what I’ve often considered – that maybe it’s a mistake for writers to be tied to a particular place – if we weren’t meant to be ready and willing to wander. Surely, we carry ‘home’ within us, such that everything we need is contained in who we are….and what we remember. And in the wandering, maybe we give a part of our spirit to those without wings. I envy your soaring……… may always, the clouds rise to find you. ~ Ever love, Bobbie

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne April 2, 2014 at 10:14 am

      Lovely Bobbie, yes, maybe if we float when we can (responsibilities permitting), then maybe we can reach out and go within as we are meant. I felt that I was tearing myself by holding on and my poor bod is a bit poorly from the aftermath. I feel that in the peace and floating, I will come back to myself. So much love ot you for your understanding, love and friendship, always, Jane Xxxx

      Like

  4. 7 Peter Wells aka Countingducks April 1, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    I always love the way you bring sunshine into your thoughts

    Like

  5. 9 Eric Alagan April 1, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    You have this great talent for recognizing beauty, love and peace in places I would not dream of – I never thought a purring cat can give so much. I have plenty to learn from you, buddy Jane.

    Much luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne April 1, 2014 at 1:14 pm

      Ah Eric, and I have learned much from you and will continue to do so, my lovely buddy. The connections you have made between myself, Aquileana and Jane Stansfield are humming with love and support already….you crafted this for us. Thank you. Biggest hug and much love, Xxx

      Like

  6. 11 Maxi April 1, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    A new day, a new life, a new Jane … filled with fresh air, a tabby cat, and new found freedom.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  7. 13 Angela April 1, 2014 at 11:28 am

    If anyone can find the blessings with their heart, it is you Jane. I know now that I would find it very strange to have a fixed abode. It seems as though it has been so long that I have just forgotten what it was for, and I let the ropes fall from my fingers when I wasn’t looking. I have a freedom now, in my soul, that I never thought I would have, or was even there until I experienced it.
    I feel your reach as you embrace this freedom, Jane, the reach inside, upwards and just to the centre of all. Enjoyyyyyyyyyy! πŸ™‚ Much love. xx

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne April 1, 2014 at 11:37 am

      Yes, Angela, beautifully described by you..love flowing to you for your journey. So many loving links, and yours is especially precious. Xxx

      Like

  8. 15 journeyintopoetry April 1, 2014 at 11:20 am

    Beautiful Jane, and what a fabulous way to wake up with this gorgeous little gentle creature resting on your hand. I love it when my cata do this and wonder always how such tiny heads can have such huge souls.

    You sound happy and content, my friend, and that is all I could wish for you.

    Lots of love and many teapot hugs for you. ❀ Xxx.

    Like

  9. 20 Al April 1, 2014 at 10:58 am

    You are a poet. Felt like I was right there with you.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❀️ welcome to my secret blog ❀️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

β™₯ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

