Nurture, nurture and yet more nurture….

Deep pink Camellia1

There is a beautiful deep pink Camellia in the garden here and between the showers I managed to get a picture yesterday.

Life’s circus has put on a good display in the last 48 hours and just when I thought it had finished there was an interesting encore!

This morning, while I am waiting for the engineer to come and replace my laptop screen, I will endeavour to entertain you all by writing about the various circus acts that have rolled through.

Act One on Monday morning found me at the local hospital, trying to get some help for a health problem that has so far refused to get better. Having lived in various parts of the world I applaud our health system in the UK, but there is a strong possibility that funding cuts are going very deep indeed. What I came up against was bureaucracy run amok. Everyone I came into contact with was kind, but after spending hours there (reading every magazine they had) I was passed from hand to hand with nothing being decided. Mid-afternoon I propelled myself out of the chair, from within yet another waiting room, and I found someone I had seen earlier. She apologised and, I do think they were grasping at straws here, I was offered an x-ray. Wait for it….to have the x-ray they needed to refer me to a GP surgery near the home I am staying in, for the doctor there to see me (he could possibly fit me in tomorrow, but at that moment the surgery were not answering their phone) to refer me back to where I was currently standing, so they could do the x-ray. My face was a picture and eloquent, I felt it was anyway. However, some words were necessary, and what I said next was hardly unexpected…I was polite and gentle, yet clear. I also kicked into self-nurture mode and walked out.

Hence my trip to the chemist and supermarket, where I come back here with a huge bottle of tonic, hot drink powders, my favourite dinner and the belief that I can self-heal.

During the day yesterday I worked on the phone service and all flowed along smoothly and I made myself a tasty dinner when I had finished. Then Act Two commenced. My lovely little furry friend here and I have got a good routine running. She sits beside me and I eat my meal, then when I have finished, she gets the remains of my yoghurt pot. This moment is a highlight in her day. Halfway through dinner the doorbell sounded. When I opened the door I was greeted by a young man with a cock and bull story. I politely moved him along (which did not go down well) and I went back to my rapidly cooling dinner and expectant cat. Five minutes later the door bell went again and I looked through the window to see a different young man and this time I did not open the door. He kept ringing and then banged on the door. I don’t class this as an emergency, but I did call the local police station on their landline number. I, and my neighbours, had apparently all called these incidents in and the police were dealing with it. My dinner had gone cold and the look on my furry friend’s face was a picture.

Self nurture kicked in again and I cleared up, my little buddy had her treat and I found the movie channels on the TV. So yesterday evening found me curled up under a snuggly blanket, clutching a hot water bottle, watching ‘You’ve Got Mail’, drinking a cup of tea with a happy little cat on my shoulder draped across my head.

I was safe and I slept.

Today I am starting to feel better health wise and the police have emailed to say thank you for how I handled things last night and they will call in today to see how I am as this must have been un-settling. Thanks chaps, I appreciate the nurture.

Nurture makes the world go round for me, life loses colour without it.

16 Responses to “Nurture, nurture and yet more nurture….”


  1. 1 ianscyberspace April 11, 2014 at 2:51 am

    Our health service doesn’t give that kind of drama, and yet people complain about it. It would be awful to be tossed around from one medical practitioner to another.
    But your usual positive nature shines through your post in spite of problems you have to deal with.

    Like

  2. 3 Eric Alagan April 9, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    Your police are excellent, from the sound of it – responding via emails and even calling up to check.

    In Singapore, we’re constantly reminded to call the cops if we notice anyone or anything suspicious – what with terrorist threats and all.

    One morning, I saw a man, lying on the footpath below my apartment – drunk, dead, sleeping it off or merely trying to peek up women’s skirts – anyway, I called the police repeatedly. After 45 minutes, the man got up and walked away. No police turned up.

    Just to put it in perspective – the police post, fully equipped with prowl cars – is only 10 minutes away!

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne April 10, 2014 at 8:45 am

      Hello Eric, mmmm, I wonder if bureaucracy has tied them up in knots over your way too? I remember the gun shots I used to hear from the footpath outside my apartment in Johannesburg. The police just steered clear of it all. There were terrorist threats there too. Sending much love and hugs to you my lovely buddy, Xxx

      Like

  3. 5 1smiles April 9, 2014 at 4:23 pm

    Feel better soon, dear Jane. My hugs and sunny thoughts are coming your way.
    Thank you for the gorgeous flowers to brighten our never ending hold on winter! Spring is trying so hard to make an appearance.
    Much Love to you,
    Jeannie xxxx

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne April 9, 2014 at 4:44 pm

      Dearest Jeannie, it is so good to hear from you. Thank you for your kind words and loving thoughts. Much love and sofest hugs to you my lovely friend. Xxxx

      Like

  4. 7 tornadoday April 9, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    If I’ve learned one thing from my students, it is this. Everyone loves an adventure; however, most don’t know where to look – or how to evolve something mundane into magical. I’m convinced that people take drugs because it’s the only real adventure they can imagine in their plain, law-and-order, well-defined worlds. For so many, once the excitement of drugs is run through, only death holds any lure. I grieve the soul who has forgotten how to skip, the taste of wild blackberries, or the late afternoon growl of dragons. I grieve those who need not worry for death, for already, they’ve chosen not to live. I love your stories, and only wish you were close enough to visit….. I’d delight in sending your door-knockers on a wild goose chase. 🙂 Love to you, my dear Jane. ~ What a wonderful life a day can make. ~ Bobbie

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne April 9, 2014 at 3:37 pm

      What a wonderful comment Bobbie and yes, I too have learnt a great deal from my clients and continue to do so each day, In my work I hope I reach out to those who have lost hope, for without hope how can they take even one more step forward? If we hold hope, trust and see light, then magic is found in even the simplest moments. Thinking about it I find magic in the simplest moments, for there I find life in all it’s beauty, Love always to you my special friend and I am sure we will get to visit with each other one day. Xxxx

      Like

  5. 9 grandfathersky April 9, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    Jane – I have friends in high places that I am asking to send you love, light, and healing energy … I am sure their energy and your nurturing will bring you back to well being … Keeping busy here, all the best – Peter

    Like

  6. 11 journeyintopoetry April 9, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    Nurture is such a beautiful word and a beautiful thing too. We all need it, either from others or from ourselves to ourselves. I think we have made giant leaps when we realise we have arrived at a place where nurturing ourselves is a priority and not a selfish act as I always used to think.

    I hope you are feeling better and can get cosied up again this evening with your furry companion; sometimes they are the best kind.

    Lots of love and hugs
    xxx

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne April 9, 2014 at 3:32 pm

      Ah Chris, yes to all you have said. My little friend and I just dropped off on the sofa..whcih we both must have needed. Peace and quiet…very restorative. Self nurturing is vital, otherwise how can we look after others? So many lessons and lufe is so short! Much love Xxxxx

      Like

  7. 13 Angela April 9, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    Sending you healing wishes and energy, Jane. Much love to you, and take time to nurture… heal… and most of all, take care of your emotional body (I know you’ll know what I mean) ~ it may reveal more than a little help and energetic change in order to hasten and bring about the physical healing. xxx

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne April 9, 2014 at 12:18 pm

      Thank you my lovely Angela. Xxx I know what you mean and yes, my heart is taking some time to heal…I’m getting there. Big hugs and thank you for your understanding. Xxxx

      Like

  8. 15 Al April 9, 2014 at 11:12 am

    Sorry for your illness. Get better soon. I believe you are describing the future of medicine here in the states with the abortion known as Obamacare.

    Good for you on the police situation. Hope those mutts get caught soon.

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne April 9, 2014 at 11:25 am

      Thank you Al and yes, I think we may be mirroring the policies rolling out across The Pond. Nurture flowing to you and your loved ones. Xx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

