A start to the day too good not to share….

DSC_1440

When ‘down on the farm’ it is a stunningly good idea not to oversleep! I opened my eyes this morning and looked across at Houdini, who sleeps curled up against my back, and uttered the words ‘It does not feel like dawn…’ It wasn’t.

Within five minutes I had pulled on clothes and was outside to be greeted by horses lined up at the paddock gate. I correctly interpreted their look to be ‘And what time do you call this??’ and within another five minutes I had their chaff mix done and down in front of them and simultaneously let the hens out. This can be achieved at speed trust me. I put the corn down for the hens and rooster and headed straight back inside.

No time to light the range, but the whistling kettle can be put on the electric stove in the utility room. I discovered this very necessary act early on in my stay. I would also like to point out that the range and I have become friends, she now stays alight and I even managed to cook on her a few days back. It was edible too.

Anyway, much needed coffee in hand I headed back outside. I did not put my mug down as I grabbed the rake for mucking out and it got caught on the log store curtain. I thoroughly enjoyed the remaining inch of coffee in my mug and sighing deeply, I pressed on with my morning routine.

I made up time somehow and got the solar electric fence turned on, cleared the top paddock and stable of manure (goodness they produce a lot), cleaned out the hen house, mucked out the stable, re-filled the horse water barrels and the hen’s water containers, swept the yard and breathed out. I stopped and looked out at the valley, and with Houdini at my feet, watched the morning start to unfurl down there.

The gentle large male horse came down from the top paddock to say ‘Hello’ and for anyone who is not familiar with horses, when they flow love they lean on you. I took five minutes out and rested against the fence as he leaned on me. I rested my head against his and wrapped my arm underneath his neck. We stood like that and listened to the woodpeckers and birds in the forest and breathed together. He’s a special boy and I am carrying those peaceful few moments into my day. I wonder if my clients on the phone line this morning will feel the peace? I suspect they might.

26 Responses to “A start to the day too good not to share….”


  1. 1 Mother April 18, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    You make me want to be there with you. The animals will forgive you anything. love you Mum x x x

    Like

  2. 3 ianscyberspace April 18, 2014 at 1:48 am

    What a glorious environment you have to enjoy there!

    Like

  3. 5 tornadoday April 17, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    O, Jane………it sounds like heaven. I live not far from a barn, and from time to time when the weekend opens, I cut up a bowl of apples and head to visit. The walk isn’t far and the horses have the place pretty much to themselves on weekends. But my favorite part – when I open the door to the barn. I shout out a greeting, and almost immediately the chatter starts, and the stall doors rattle as my friends try for my attention. They moan and rock…………and sometimes, when I offer them apples, they knock them from my hands and push their nuzzle to the curve of my neck. I laugh, and I whisper……..sharing lines from something not quite written yet. And when I pass to the next stall, they lean out to watch me, and rattle their gates again (come back). I know how precious this gift you are giving, but I know even more the one you receive.

    It is said you must be careful with horses, for their love is so powerful that they would literally run themselves to death for you………. I know that love. You know that love. We are blessed……. Thank you, Jane, for sharing this time. It’s a joy I’ve come to depend on. ~ Love to you ever. ~ Bobbie

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne April 18, 2014 at 8:41 am

      Oh Bobbie, I was right there with you through your words. I could ‘feel’ how it was to be in that barn. They are such noble creatures. Their love is absolute and their natural grace just flows. We know the gifts to be able to spend time with them don’t we? I am absorbing so much from these adventures, and this is just the start. Your loving prescence on this journey is a blessing. Love always to you Bobbie. Xx

      Like

  4. 7 elenacaravela April 17, 2014 at 7:44 pm

    EVER so charming Jane! I loved your image and every word.

    Like

  5. 9 Peter Wells aka Countingducks April 17, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    Well done you for getting stuck in. The country can be a ruthless alarm clock. I know that too well, but a lovely clock for all that

    Like

  6. 11 Maxi April 17, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    Jane, my lovely, I am out of breath as you tell of your morn. Although, I know how much work it entails to care for horses.

    When our children were young I made the mistake of getting them a pony horse and a Shetland. Each day I left work and headed for the ranch. They were too young to do much of the work. Oooooh.

    Much fun as you move on to your next adventure. You should keep a journal; write them in a book. Hope I’m not revealing a secret.

    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne April 17, 2014 at 3:05 pm

      Hello my intuiative friend, yes a book is coming out of this. I can understand how hard you must have worked to bring about your children’s dreams and funnily enough, as much as I love them, I am not applying for horse assignments after this! Much love and hugs to you. Xxxx

      Like

  7. 13 grandfathersky April 17, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    I am certain they will, as we feel the nobility through your words just as real as being there….

    Like

  8. 15 Al April 17, 2014 at 11:21 am

    This job is sure bringing out the poet in you, Jane. What a delight to follow your adventures there!

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne April 17, 2014 at 11:25 am

      Oh Al, it’s lovely to hear from you. I think this is the form of my first book, all these experiences and adventures. Got to be done hasn’t it? Also, I must share this with you…I have a booking for two months in Brittany, France from November, which could lead to six months there. Now that’s an adventure isn’t it? Love and hugs to you both. Xx

      Like

      • 17 Al April 17, 2014 at 11:29 am

        Couldn’t agree more. There is a book bursting to get out. Dr. Doolittle has nothing on you. Exciting about the gig in France!

        Like

        • 18 Jane Thorne April 17, 2014 at 11:32 am

          I feel more like Annie Oakley this week. The France assignment is in Brittany, where they take to us Brits. A lovely couple with two special dogs and they will lend me their car and Emily, and anyone else, is welcome to come and stay. It’s my home for as long as I’m there. The lady of the house has a painting studio in the garden, where she does silk painting, and she has said that I am welcome to use anything of hers to paint and experiment. Us girls really have bonded over Skype. Also, we are the same clothes size, so I can use all her waterproofs, fleecies and wellies etc..and she is stocking up on toilteries for me, so I can fly in there and travel light. I am making some very special friends Al. Xxx

          Like

  9. 19 journeyintopoetry April 17, 2014 at 11:15 am

    Oh Jane, you are such a gentle writer, I want to read a whole book by you!! This is a gorgeous piece of writing. I love your description of the horses lined up chastising you tenderly, and how you ended with the wonderful love flowing between you and the gentle horse is just breathtaking as are the views you have there. I have only recently experienced contact with a horse for the very first time when I went riding at the disabled riding centre, a wonderful expeience; I may put a post on WP about it.

    Lots of love and big hugs xxx.

    Like

  10. 23 Kim Patrick April 17, 2014 at 10:14 am

    I think that we are all packing our bags and coming to join you! Where did you say you were?

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne April 17, 2014 at 11:05 am

      Ah Kim, I’m in deepest Gloucestershire and I could do with the help! Only a few days left and I am getting fitter. It is all gravy, as Em would say. Much love to you chick. Xx

      Like

  11. 25 Eric Alagan April 17, 2014 at 9:53 am

    Okay, it sounds beautiful, Jane buddy – but also hard work. To have to do this 7 days a week – well now, that’s cause for pause me thinks.

    Peace,
    Eric

    Like

    • 26 Jane Thorne April 17, 2014 at 11:04 am

      Hello my lovely, and intuitive, buddy, you are ‘spot on’ and I am learning as I go. I will not take on any further assignments where there are so many animals to look after without financial recompense, it takes up too much of my time. A great experience, but just caring for dogs and cats allows me more freedom to earn as I do normally and to write….I am doing this to write after all. You are lovely, thank you for being there as such a solid and caring support, I appreciate it. Much love and hugs, Xxxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

