Moments of heart memories that will stay forever..

DSC_1457

I have come down the hill from my last assignment and a part of me has stayed there, yet I have heart memories that I will hold forever.

Houdini, whose real name is Amy, became my shadow for the week. Oh Amy I miss you so and thank you for the gifts you gave:

Walks in the forest, amoungst the emerging bluebells, just breathing in the peace, apart from when you joyously chased sticks.

Lying beside me on the bed, all four paws in the air, a gentle presence through each night.

Sitting watching Countryfile together on the TV and I know you understood while they talked about goat and duck farming on the Isles of Scilly. Every time we sat on the sofa, cuddled up (with the special electric blanket warming us), you would watch whatever I was watching and fast lose interest unless an animal was featured.

Climbing a five bar gate and exploring the abandoned property and tiny quarry together. It’s up for tender and is not selling. You and I both agreed that it didn’t ‘feel’ right as there was no love in the place and it would be a surprise if it sold at all.

On all our walks you and I would stop at various gates on the way back home and say ‘Hello’ to all your friends. Dilly the Border Collie, Woody the Springer Spaniel and Jack the brown Labrador (who is convinced that your Lizzy, the mini Shetland pony, is his soulmate).

Dilly’s Mum and Dad, who are simply lovely, held out a hand of friendship during my stay and you and I had some very happy hours in their company. We were invited to join them on a walk and pub lunch for Good Friday with their friends. Goodness we walked up and down some steep hills that day didn’t we? A day of interesting conversations, increased leg muscles, a fabulous sheep water hole full of rank water and reeds that you and Dilly dived into (that smell will stay with us all for some time) and much laughter. We gasped up the final hill for tea and yummy cake at Dilly’s to then return home to feed Rocky and Lizzy and tuck the hens up for the night. You took to my bed and stayed there till the next morning. Your look, when I asked if you were alright, was a classic ‘Forget it if you think I am moving from here!’

You standing in the doorway every time it rained and I went out to see to the horses. Again I am sure that I correctly interpreted your look to mean ‘Forget it if you think I am coming out in this’. You didn’t.

Me blowing you bubbles after your tea each night, so you could jump so high to catch them all. Clever girl.

You lovingly following me around each time I went to see to Rocky, Lizzy and the hens, apart from when it was raining of course.

Amy my buddy, you sitting quietly yet resolutely, at my car whilst I packed to leave and yes, of course you could have come with me. You are beloved at home special girl, so there you stay and one day I will come back to say ‘Hello’ and give you a cuddle on my lap.

16 Responses to “Moments of heart memories that will stay forever..”


  1. 1 elenacaravela April 26, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    Jane, you have a heart as big as the sun. Lovely:)

    Like

  2. 3 Peter Wells aka Countingducks April 26, 2014 at 10:32 am

    These are truly beautiful moments you capture. You know what is precious in life, and what is more important in a person than that

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne April 26, 2014 at 10:56 am

      Ahh Peter, thank you. There is so much love flowing through these adventures, from the lovely animals and the special people I am meeting. It is bringing out the best in everybody I feel. Happy days. Love flowing to you. Xxx

      Like

  3. 5 Maxi April 25, 2014 at 10:51 am

    You left your heart behind on this one, Jane. Houdini will search you out for days. Good luck, my friend, as you move on to your next assignment. May it be as heartfelt as this one.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne April 25, 2014 at 11:13 am

      Hello lovely Maxi, I hope you are getting sorted out for your girls arrival and I wish you all love for a special time together. I am back with the lovely marmalade tabby cat from tomorrow and this time I also have care of her lovely Labrador buddy. Happy days.. Much love to you and yours, Xxxxx

      Like

  4. 7 ianscyberspace April 25, 2014 at 3:31 am

    You make your lifestyle so appealing. I like to visit your page.

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne April 25, 2014 at 9:35 am

      That is a lovely compliment Ian, thank you very much. I alwasy learn new things from your blog and enjoy the way you tell your stories. Have a lovely day. x

      Like

  5. 9 grandfathersky April 25, 2014 at 1:52 am

    Amy sounds beautiful. Just thought – have you ever read The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein? What a great book and story told by the family dog.
    As far as that little property goes – Quarries are cuts in the Earth, and care needs to be taken to be sacred about what is done there and to heal it properly once we are done. No of that applies to the modern world though does it? Did you know there are huge copper mines in Michigan, that go back into antiquity? No one knows who mined them, or how old they are, but they are huge, Anyway – where are you off to next? Good luck, and be well – Peter

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne April 25, 2014 at 9:33 am

      Hello Peter, no I haven’t read it but i heard some of it serialised on Radio 4 a while back. I am sure it was that book and I loved it. I think bad stuff has been dumped in that quarry space as there were rusting drums dotted about. The whole air of the place was fractured. I have not heard of the copper mines in Michigan. I am in Watford next back to the lovely marmalade tabby cat and his labrador buddy this time. Right on the canal and nature reserve. I love it there and it’s a home from home, so I am expecting to get lots of writing done. I hope all is flowing well for you? Much love, J Xxx

      Like

  6. 11 Al April 25, 2014 at 12:13 am

    You turned on the eye spigots with this one Jane. I can’t imagine a more beautiful and heartfelt accounting of someone opening their heart and letting the love flow in. What a lovely post.

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne April 25, 2014 at 9:12 am

      Hello Al, thank you, I brought tears to my own eyes as I wrote this one. The couple whose brood I was caring for read my post yesterday and I have received some loving emails from them. The man of the house took some cracking pictures of Amy on her walk in the forest yesterday for me to keep. Flowing love, you simply cannot get better than that. Love flowing to you both. Xx

      Like

  7. 13 Eric Alagan April 24, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    Looks like you made one very good friend, Jane buddy – just reward for what I reckon was a physically enervating assignment.

    Cheers,
    Eric

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne April 25, 2014 at 9:10 am

      Hello my lovely buddy, I made some lovely new friends, furry and human, and I managed to lose 9 pounds in weight. 🙂 Big hugs for you. Xxx

      Like

  8. 15 journeyintopoetry April 24, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Oh Jane you write beautifully and I have joyous tears in my eyes reading this. How difficult it must be to leave such a wonderful “assignment”. Your constant companion sounds totally adorable. Thank you for this joyous-but-at-the-same-time-a-bit-sad (because you had to part) post. 😊❤

    Lotsof love and drazy teapot hugs xxx

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne April 24, 2014 at 4:13 pm

      Thank you Chris, my funky teapot friend. I needed to write this, as I miss Amy very much. Much love flowing to you. ❤ Xxxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

