Fear stops us doing so many flipping things!

DSC_1509

It was gorgeous out there when the ‘boys’ and I set out for our morning walk and this is the lane we walk back down when we have finished happily tramping across the fields. I often forget which day of the week we are on and after seeing so many other dog walkers and horse riders out there today, I finally twigged that it is Sunday.

I have positioned a beautiful table, on castors, by one of the hall windows here. I can see the lane and all the comings and goings as the farmer and his crew are very busy today. Ohh, I would love a ride on a tractor. I can feel the house around me, the ‘boys’ have ample space to lie nearby and I have peace. All morning tasks are completed….

I find myself unable to start writing my first book…for goodness sake! Blog posts flow out with ease, I pen ‘lettery’ emails daily and natter away on the phone. I can also write for my clients and it is not the thought of a deadline that is my motivator there, just the sheer joy of writing.

It’s fear of failure, it must be. Daft old girl that I am, I can write it as if I am talking to all of you can’t I? That would work. I have also texted a good friend with the request that he tells me to start writing, firmly. I know he’ll also do this with humour. 🙂 In the meantime, hopefully this little post will be the cork out of the bottle.

27 Responses to “Fear stops us doing so many flipping things!”


  1. 1 Matthew Peters May 19, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    Hi, Jane.

    You can certainly pretend as if you are writing your book to a trusted friend. I think it is an excellent idea. You have such a gift for words, I can only eagerly await your book. Have you read Anne Lamott’s BIRD BY BIRD and/or Natalie Goldberg’s WRITING DOWN THE BONES? I highly recommend both to you. They have often helped free me up enough to write. May they do the same for you.

    All the best,
    Matthew

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne May 20, 2014 at 8:12 am

      Helo Matthew, I haven’t read either of these books. However, life intervened as always and I had a book cross my path yesterday, that I downloaded and read in one go. It took all day, which is something I have not done before, but it was profound. A great story and so beautifully told. It also covered a time in my life where I spent my teenage years in Africa. It was a book that answered some questions from my childhood. ‘Cry of the Fish Eagle’ by Peter Rimmer. Right book, right moment for me. I will look up your recommendations. Thanks Matthew, have a great day. 🙂

      Like

  2. 3 Marylin Warner May 7, 2014 at 5:47 pm

    Beg a farmer to let you drive his tractor. THEN dictate your writing plans into a tape recorder. You have a wonderful way of “conversing”–make it work for your writing!

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne May 11, 2014 at 4:39 pm

      Hello Marylin, I will find a kind farmer. I am on a new assignment and on a country lane again, so maybe I will find one here. Thank you for your loving support and I have heard back from Blue Mountain Art and they are reviewing my pieces. Onward and upward and I am grateful to you for the link and the idea…much is coming from your kindness. Xx

      Like

  3. 5 Aquileana May 6, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    Hi Jane…

    Did you know that according to Sigmund Freud the people who tend to fear failure are those that have high possibilities of success…
    As a matter of fcat I agree with your friend´s advice and, as you said: I also hope this little post will be the cork out of the bottle.

    Best wishes and good luck with your next book, Aquileana 🙂

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne May 11, 2014 at 4:36 pm

      You are so lovely Aquileana, thank you for your care and support. It was the cork out of the bottle….I have been writing ever since. Yay! Love to you, 🙂

      Like

  4. 7 elenacaravela May 6, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    I know that fear thing very well. I however, am confident that if you think of the book as writing to someone dear instead of a “book”, you will have a brilliant work waiting for you when you are done. You’ve got all the ingredients. This AM I saw a cartoon of a teacher handing a book to a child. The caption reads, “just think of it as a long text message”. It’s all in the perspective. Looking forward to reading your book! Get going!:)

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne May 6, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      Hey Elena, that’s what I did. I pictured my friends and wrote as if I was telling them a story…it poured out and I will just continue to do that… about to tell the next story now. Thank you for your care and support, it’s always lovely to hear from you. 🙂 Xx

      Like

  5. 9 Peter Wells aka Countingducks May 5, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    The only solution I can offer you is ‘Just to write everyday’. It doesn’t matter if it is rubbish or lacks direction but just get something down on paper. After a time some form and direction will come out of it, and the familiarity with the process will reduce the fear. We know you can do it 🙂

    Like

  6. 11 grandfathersky May 5, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    Jane
    You need to give yourself a deadline. There have been studies that prove if the is no deadline less than 25%will complete an assignment.. It would be best to make it nearer in time. Or chunk it up by chapters. Say 12, on a month for a year then a month to compile, a month to review and submit. You get the idea. Without a deadline we can slip our plans forever. – good advise that I need to learn too!
    Peter

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne May 5, 2014 at 1:05 pm

      Hello Peter, thank you, much appreciated advice. Drop me an email when you have a moment, let me know how you are getting on. X I managed 1,731 words with ease yesterday and got other work done. It’s also about avoiding the time leeching things and dipping into distractions….I am getting there! I will write every day that I can, it’s pouring forth now thank goodness. It just needed the cork out of the bottle and it popped yesterday. Much love to you. Xx

      Like

  7. 13 ianscyberspace May 5, 2014 at 1:45 am

    Well you certainly do have the ideal environment for thoughts to flow and its just a matter of deciding I’m going to sit down and do this. Once you start I’ve found the ideas just keep coming so give it a go.

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne May 5, 2014 at 7:52 am

      Hello Ian, it worked a treat and I got over 1,700 words down and it flowed, as you say. This is a delightful spot. Have a lovely day 🙂 x

      Like

  8. 15 tornadoday May 4, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    I know that place, Jane….and it’s not fear……….it’s thought, ego…….. Stop thinking about it being perfect………because once you just start, it will be………. It’s been 15 years since I had writer’s block, and that’s why. I stop believing my ego………….The advise I always give is ‘shut up and write’………. ❤ It will be perfect……..

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne May 4, 2014 at 2:21 pm

      Hello my lovely and wise friend, yes, absolutely. I disengaged my brain and wrote as if I was telling you and all my loved ones a story. Nearly two thousand words later I stopped writing and had some soup! Inspired I have gone on to create some poetry for a greeting card company. I do have fear running on a number of fronts right now, but I am learning how to handle it. If I stop thinking, trust and just step forward instinctively, then how could all not be well? There is so much love flowing from this new lifestyle I am creating, how can it not spark magic and more love. All is love. Love always to you my lovely friend. ❤ Xxx

      Like

    • 17 Jane Thorne May 4, 2014 at 2:22 pm

      I ❤ your new gravatar…you are beautiful Bobbie, inside and out. Xxx

      Like

  9. 18 journeyintopoetry May 4, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    Well Im just glad youve started writing Jane. I can so identify with a fear of failure; I have had this all my life and itis debilitating. I actually bit the bullet a few years ago and embarked on an Open Uni course in the Humanities. I completed the first foundation year which I enjoyend and in which I did well. But when it came to enroling for the second year I was gripped by fear and couldnt do it. I never did it. I could have had a degree by now which for some reason or other I have always wanted to achieve. I know there is still time but fear is bigger than the courage Im afraid.

    Please just write! I adore your writing and cant wait to have a steaming cup of coffee on the small table beside me and your precious book in my hands. What more could anyone want? 😊 ❤ lots of love xx

    Like

    • 19 Jane Thorne May 4, 2014 at 1:25 pm

      Oh Chris, your lovely comment brought tears to my eyes. Maybe the foundation course was all you needed to do Chris and maybe another subject will grip you. Each is a step to our dreams, but how those dreams manifest is yet untold. We think we know and maybe with those expectations we make things harder putting blocks in our own energy and paths. I know that your writing touches so many souls and in that you are following your passion. Maybe that foundation course gave you the discipline?

      We could do with a cuppa together could’t we? I don’t have any assignment near Leeds yet, but who knows what the future holds. I am staring down a tunnel of fear on a romantic/love related issue right now. Totally hampering myself with barriers that are purely created from past pain, not reality. I will clear this hurdle, in my own good time. You have time my lovely and I truly believe you are clearing your hurdles with grace and humour. I raise a mug of tea with you, to alll our dreams, my funky teapot friend. ❤ Xxxxxxx

      Like

      • 20 journeyintopoetry May 4, 2014 at 1:49 pm

        You could be right Jane, maybe the foundation was enough to bring me to where I want to be which is here! Im enjoying writing so much (most of he time) 😊. And I know you will remove your bariers and clear those hurdles when the time is right. (A hug for you)

        Maybe one day that real cuppa will happen ❤ xxx

        Like

        • 21 Jane Thorne May 4, 2014 at 1:52 pm

          Oohhhh yes, to all you have said! Hugs right back to you…I’m on coffee right now! Glad your cold is shifting. Spring flowers for you. Xxxx ❤

          Like

  10. 22 Mother May 4, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    Why not start on the second chapter and pretend you have started. That way you can flow and find your beginning later. You could use that old chestnut to start “I was Born”. I think that was in a film where I get a lot of inspiration myself. Love you Granny Trish x x

    Like

    • 23 Jane Thorne May 4, 2014 at 12:07 pm

      Hello Darling Mate, that is exactly what I have done. I started with today and worked my way back a bit. 1,731 words down on paper. Get in! I have seen a proper start now and i know where I’m going with it. This afternoon I can get some paid work done now. Love you. Xxxxxx ❤

      Like

  11. 24 Al May 4, 2014 at 10:47 am

    Have you tried starting with the ending? Here’s a good one…..”alas!, shrieked Miss Dalrymple, in an astonished tone, “twas the butler all along!”

    Like

    • 25 Jane Thorne May 4, 2014 at 10:51 am

      Fabulous Al, just like you. It is pouring out of me now. I imagine that I am writing to you and my other lovely family and friends and I have started with stories from today…696 words so far and counting. ❤ to you my Bro…Xx

      Like

  12. 26 Eric Alagan May 4, 2014 at 10:13 am

    Hello Jane buddy,

    It’s interesting that you encounter difficulty getting started on your book. During a recent writing session I hosted, several participants voiced a similar issue – that as you know led to my post Alone in the Big Apple.

    It’s like bicycling – once we get the hang of it – its so easy, I suppose.

    Imagine yourself telling your best friend the story – and write that down. First draft – raw – forget about style, etc and see how it goes.

    Sorry if I come across as being prescriptive – as authors, we all have our own triggers to get started and no one pill cures all.

    I love what you relate about this new ‘assignment’ – sounds as if the spot is quite therapeutic 🙂

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

    • 27 Jane Thorne May 4, 2014 at 10:30 am

      You are a supportive friend, thank you Eric my lovely buddy. That is exactly what I am doing. It’s pouring out now, as if I am telling my good friends a story. This place is very peaceful and special and I have been booked to come back here in July and October, which is great. I am healing here, at last and all sorts of things are falling into place within. I have a fair few posts of yours to catch up on my lovely, which I will. No pressure I know. Thank you for reaching a loving and kind hand across the miles, I really appreciate it. Here’s to a great evening for you (I am guessing the time difference!). Much love and hugs, thank you, J Xxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

