Feel the love and kindness….

heart

Last night everyone was fed, contented and we had all pottered in the garden whilst I sorted the rubbish bins out. You can reach out and feel the peace here and the young cows come up to say ‘Hello’ over the garden fence. They are comfortable enough for me to stroke their noses, after the last few days of getting used to me being here, and we all have a natter about the day’s events.

Afterwards, the ‘crew’ and I cuddled up and settled down to watch the finals of Masterchef, but not for long though as an uncomfortable feeling rose up. The powers that be have stretched the finals out over three nights in the name of entertainment. Contestants were physically and emotionally exhausted and tears were frequent. This is not entertainment. When did we lose our simplicity? Also, our kindness for each other? So much of what we watch on television has a thread of unkindness running through it. Results are drawn out, emotions are played upon, twists and tricks are played and this is being soaked up by the audience.

It all starts with love and the contestants are there for their love of creating food, following their passion, and in some cases changing their lives to follow their dreams. I think we are exacting too high a price from them in the name of entertainment.

I walked away and sank into a hot bath, where I promptly fell asleep!

16 Responses to “Feel the love and kindness….”


  1. 1 Matthew Peters May 19, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    I totally agree, Jane. I have not had cable television–or any television for that matter–for years, and honestly, it was one of the best choices I’ve made. The decent shows out there are few and far between.

    Like

  2. 3 ianscyberspace May 16, 2014 at 12:19 am

    Your descriptions are hypnotic. Bath and sleep, it makes me feel so relaxed.

    Like

  3. 5 tornadoday May 15, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    O, Jane, I have found but one more reason to love you. I cannot bear to watch any of the reality shows, and while I love sports, I insist the channel be changed the minute the game is over. I don’t need to see grown men weeping on the floor. It is too much, and breaks me time and time again. I am told, ‘everyone can’t win’…….and I wonder ‘why not’………

    When did we forget that we belong to one another? ~ Always with love, Bobbie

    P.S. Be careful sleeping in the tub……… 🙂

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne May 16, 2014 at 8:07 am

      Yes, we are all one. I knew you would know. I was told that it gave them opportunities that they wouldn’t normally get. I know it was their choice to appear, but it does not have to be like this and that is my belief. (It was an interesting debate I can tell you). Love, kindness, support, all of these things matter so much more. I love you, always. ❤ Xx

      Like

  4. 7 bardessdmdenton May 15, 2014 at 8:26 pm

    Hi, Jane. I so agree that what is deemed entertainment today is so overwrought competitiveness that disintegrates into such with meanness! Can’t watch these shows, either. Much better off with the young cows who say ‘hello’ over the fence and a hot bath and sweet dreams. XO ♥

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne May 16, 2014 at 8:03 am

      Yes Diane, it is no surprise to me that my fellow creatives feel the same. The cows are comic. The next door neighbour, who is quite far away, was putting new fence panels up yesterday and hanmmering away. The cows herded together in the middle of the field, all facing towards the noise. They take care fo esch other. Much love to you, Xxxx

      Like

  5. 9 elenacaravela May 15, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    The bath is a much better way to end a day:)

    Like

  6. 11 journeyintopoetry May 15, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    Jane you are so lovely. And everyrhing you say here is how I feel too. These programmes play on people’s emotions and I cant bear to watch it.

    Your “crew” sound like a dream. I would love to get nose-close to a cow. ❤ love and hugs an a virtual cuppa 😊 xxx

    Like

  7. 13 Eric Alagan May 15, 2014 at 11:58 am

    I agree with you, Jane buddy.

    Many of these ‘reality shows’ bring out the worst in people. When I notice a show sinking into mud – I stop watching the series and subsequent seasons.

    I’m currently watching The Face, helmed by Naomi Campbell. I love her – she is so stunning and talented. More so, I wanted a peek at the hard work these glamour girls endure – what makes a top model. It helps me to better portray strong female characters in my novels – my females are usually the strong ones. I stay away from reality shows that portray whiny women and macho bullshit men.

    When I want a good laugh, in the same genre as the Three Stooges – I watch our politicians 🙂

    Peace and blessings,
    Eric

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne May 15, 2014 at 1:28 pm

      Hello Eric, Prime Minister’s question time in the House of Commons, which is televised, is always a wonderful study in human behaviour…I find it way too annoying to watch, after all these people are supposedly in charge!! Not true in my book, it’s the ‘money men’ who call the shots. I have long held the belief that any political party that is currently in power are not there to represent the people, but are there to effect control over the populace. Anyhoo, we can each effect change by how we act towards each other. The smallest acts can hold the greatest love. I love the comedians who paraody the absurdities of life, they are hilarious…laughter is very good medicine. Much love and hugs to you my lovely buddy, Xxxx

      Like

  8. 15 David Carmichael May 15, 2014 at 11:00 am

    So very true

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne May 15, 2014 at 11:08 am

      ❤ David. Look at us, we discovered that we couldn't live together, yet we continue to be lovingly supportive for each other. Kindness springs from love and if we were all kind to each other, then how much happier this world would be. Xx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

