Joy touches everyone, even those in authority….

DSC_1567

That teeny tiny little spec in the photograph is Dolly, a very happy, joyous Dolly.

Every day she and I have set out for her twice daily constitutional and it has never really flowed. Dolly struggles with her arthritis, and even though she is on meds and doesn’t complain, I can see her pain sometimes as she moves about. Now I talk to animals and they talk back. This morning we set out and normally we turn down the road or up the country lane and I let Dolly choose the way. After a little potter she asks to go back home. This morning, after our little potter, we had a chat and I suggested we try something different. ‘I trust you’ she looked back.

It is a beautiful day here today and this afternoon Dolly was thrilled to be taken to my car instead of across the grass. Her tail started to wag and she sat in the passenger footwell and stared at me all the way as I drove down the hill. We parked up at the long beach and the joy in her was so obvious. She bounded out of the car and we made our way across the pebbles onto the beach. We spent a happy hour pottering about paddling in the sea, amoungst the rock pools and across the sand. She dug in the sand to her heart’s content. The look on her face as she splashed in the sea created a heart memory.

We’ve struck gold and will be going back there every day.

As we came off the beach and over the top of the pebble dune I spotted a traffic warden leaning against his van, parked right next to my car. Ahhh, I must have missed the signs and also, completely forgotten the instructions left by Dolly’s Mum that is was a paying car park. Braced I walked across and popped a still happy Dolly into the car and walked round to him.

I smiled and said ‘Oooppps, have I slipped up?’.
He smiled back and said ‘Did you know it was a paying car park?’
‘I did’ I replied, ‘but this dear little dog was just so happy to be here and all I could think about was getting her onto the beach, and we’ve had such fun, I forgot!’
He grinned then and said ‘Don’t worry about it, enjoy the rest of your day’.
I said ‘Thank you, I am grateful for your kindness’.
More smiling …..

Joy is infectious. ❤

28 Responses to “Joy touches everyone, even those in authority….”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton May 25, 2014 at 12:29 am

    These are the moments that matter, Jane. and so beautifully written. No matter how I feel, I am uplifted and restored by your words, which, of course, are reflective of your lovely spirit. Blessings. XO ♥

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne May 25, 2014 at 12:16 pm

      Diane, thank you for taking the time to read and leave such a lovely comment. It means so much coming from you. ❤ Xxx Much love to you and your Mum. ❤

      Like

  2. 3 elenacaravela May 21, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    LOVE this story Jane, so well written that I feel like I’m there with you and Dolly:)

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne May 21, 2014 at 7:15 pm

      Oh Elena, thank you. I leave here tomorrow and each time I do, I leave a little part of my heart behind. ❤ Xx

      Like

  3. 5 Peter Wells aka Countingducks May 21, 2014 at 3:19 pm

    That’s lovely Any event which fills a traffic warden’s heart with joy is something I would never forget

    Like

  4. 7 Matthew Peters May 19, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    This a beautiful, uplifting story! Thanks for sharing it, Jane. I really like your style of writing. It is very engaging.

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne May 20, 2014 at 8:07 am

      Hello Matthew, how lovely of you to say so and for you to take the time to read and leave an encouraging comment. I have just read your new book ‘glimpse’ and I can’t wait for the whole thing to be published. Happy editing, but I am sure you are nearly there now. 🙂

      Like

  5. 9 grandfathersky May 19, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    There is something about the sea that heals the body and the soul. One of the tenants of Magic is “where land, and water, and air meet, that is the place for Magic to be wrought” and so it is metaphysically and physically. A magical day for sure. Sometimes our consciousness gets in the way, the simple view that the four legged have of the world often sees through our clouded view. When we open our eye(s) and truly see then our joy is ten fold! Blessings for you stay near the waters …

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne May 20, 2014 at 8:05 am

      Thank you Peter, it’s lovely to hear from you. Yes, I think the salt air also cleanses our auras. I love being around these furry souls, they keep me right in the moment. 🙂 Much love to you Xx

      Like

  6. 11 triciabertram May 18, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    I love this story and photo so much. The world really is filled with so many kind people, and joy is infectious. Thanks so much for sharing your joy, Jane. x

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne May 19, 2014 at 6:42 am

      Tricia, it’s lovely to hear from you and I always look forward to seeing your photographs on Fb. Much love to you. x

      Like

  7. 15 Eric Alagan May 18, 2014 at 12:12 am

    I believe that power and authority has only two uses – to do one’s job as best as one can, and, to help others.

    Like the man said,

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂
    Eric

    Like

  8. 17 Marylin Warner May 17, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    Jane, if I listed my Top Ten things that made me go “Aw…” during the last few days, this post would be #1. You restored my faith in kindness and good nature triumphing over rules, and on behalf of Dolly and every arthritic four-legged pal out there, I THANK YOU for being you, so gentle and patient and precious with Dolly!

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne May 17, 2014 at 10:00 pm

      Marylin, that means so much coming from you, thank you. ❤ Dolly is fast asleep at the foot of my bed right now, curled up in her furry blanket, waiting for me. As my covers slip down during the night they form a tent over her and she loves it. I can hear her gentle snores. I leave a part of me behind after each assignment and I know that I carry these lovely souls in my heart when I go onto the next one. I have learned so much from them all in the past few months and their love is a gift. Xx

      Like

  9. 19 Aquileana May 17, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    Beautiful story, dear Jane… You are so right: joy is contagious and infectious… All my best wishes to you and hope you have a Great weekend,
    Aquileana 😀

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne May 17, 2014 at 2:24 pm

      You are lovely Aquileana and it’s great to hear from you. Here’s to a happy sun filled weekend for us both. 🙂 Xx

      Like

  10. 21 tornadoday May 17, 2014 at 2:07 am

    Indeed………..when we love, the whole world catches it………. ❤

    Like

  11. 23 1smiles May 16, 2014 at 4:49 pm

    I could feel the joy shared by the both of you. And then onto the officer as well. Have a wonderful Friday!

    Like

  12. 27 journeyintopoetry May 16, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    Oh what a heartwarming story Jane! I can just picture Dolly’s face as she saw the endless beach and the sea. You have such a loving gentle way with words, I feel all wrapped up in them! Oh o have beenthere withthe two ofyou. Lucky Dolly to have you looking after her. Tons of love ❤ xxx

    Like

    • 28 Jane Thorne May 16, 2014 at 5:05 pm

      It went into Spam my funky friend…how very dare WP…all sorted now and thank you my lovely funky friend…feel the ❤ Xxxxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

