Magic moments from atop my favourite hill in Gloucestershire….

DSC_1621

Dilly and Amy on a walk in the forest.

It is these dog’s special bond that brought me to Dilly’s five bar gate at the top of the hill back at Easter time. Love flowed and a friendship developed with Dilly’s Mum and Dad, Eddie and Elaine, and they have flowed care ever since. I have been tucked up in their magic home for the last few days.

Magic moments….

Dilly feels she has two main roles in her happy life; one is playing with tennis balls and the other is ‘herding’ the chickens. She can be found resting under trees throughout the day keeping watch over her flock. Every now and then her ministrations get a little too enthusiastic and the hens bat her back with their wings…then peace descends once more. I will hear a ball dropping at my feet as one of the abiding memories of being here. Each evening we all feel the effects of multiple ball throwing and one by one the balls get tucked away and Dilly settles down for an evening cuddle. You cannot say the word ‘balls’ within her hearing after this has happened and Eddie made us all laugh when he came in the other evening enquiring ‘Have the sphericals gone to bed yet?’. Dilly was fast asleep last night when I was heard to comment that I had spent the week sitting on balls.

Hepsibar is a poorly hen right now and giving her some tonic and vitamins is important. I usually find her in the silver birch tree memorial garden and we have a chat whilst she takes her ‘get well soon’ treats. This morning she pottered into the kitchen to say thank you.

I collected some things from my car the morning after I had arrived and felt him, before I saw him. It was Rocky, the lovely big boy of a horse, that I cared for at Easter. He was lunching in a neighbour’s field with Lizzie his buddy. I looked up to see him quietly watching me over the gate. I walked over and put my nose to his and wrapped my arms around his neck. We stood for ages breathing together.

Eddie is so talented as a musician and we are blessed to have him play the piano to ‘us girls’ as we go about our evening tasks. I was delighted to hear the Star Trek and Thunderbirds theme tunes. Another abiding memory will be Eddie bounding into the front room doorway late one night saying ‘I have just composed a new piece, do you want to come and listen?’ ‘You do don’t you? Yes, you do?’ He was bouncing from one foot to the other and Elaine, Dilly and I went down to his studio and were privileged to hear his latest piece for the flute. Beautiful.

Showering and looking out of the window onto the little lane and forest the other morning, I was surprised to see the postman in his van drive slowly past . Though not as surprised as he was….he’s young, he’ll recover!

I knelt down yesterday at the edge of the forest and chatted to a two year old toddler about all the leaves he had picked up and the shapes they made. His Mum took him home to help him make a picture with them all.

Friends I made at Easter have been hugged, new friends have been made as we have walked the dogs in the forest, special animals have been cuddled, fresh eggs have been collected and the house has been warmed with the smell of baking, the full moon has been watched, blue skies have been celebrated, sunshine has been welcomed and fresh air has been breathed. Magic moments have been tucked away in a heart that overflows.

19 Responses to “Magic moments from atop my favourite hill in Gloucestershire….”


  1. 1 Al June 15, 2014 at 11:29 am

    Thanks for sharing….I had fun on the hill with you, sis.

    Like

  2. 3 Angela June 15, 2014 at 9:06 am

    This is so beautiful Jane, it reminds me a little of James Herriot. Within your words you express that quality of an open heart: to be able to see love in everything. Much love to you. XX

    Like

  3. 5 ianscyberspace June 15, 2014 at 4:06 am

    A very cute picture indeed.

    Like

  4. 7 robbie June 14, 2014 at 11:36 am

    Hi Janey, you’ve got to stop giving the hens gin and tonic……. :o) Love Robbie xx

    Like

  5. 9 Eric Alagan June 14, 2014 at 1:25 am

    You know Jane, buddy,

    Reading this post, I’d a hard time keeping track of humans and non-humans (I don’t want to use ‘animals’) because of how you use names and ‘speak’ to your friends. LOL!

    I do hope that ‘Eddie’ and the ‘postman’ are not non-humans 🙂

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

  6. 11 1smiles June 13, 2014 at 10:02 pm

    What lovely days you have! My week has been spent inside an office learning new job skills. We’ve been fortunate to have mild temperatures and sunny evenings here on the farm.
    Many hugs coming your way,
    Jeannie xxxxxx

    Like

  7. 13 elenacaravela June 13, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    And all is right with the world:)

    Like

  8. 16 Peter Wells aka Countingducks June 13, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    I agree with Christine. It really is full of beauty and your appreciation of the natural world

    Like

  9. 18 journeyintopoetry June 13, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    My lovely Jane, this is such a beautiful piece I have read it twice . As soon as I finished it, I pretended there was more and so began again. You have a precious natural writing style that paints the most goegeous picture. And by the end I was breathing that wonderful fresh air right rhere with you. Hugs and love my great friend ❤️ Xx

    Like

    • 19 Jane Thorne June 13, 2014 at 3:46 pm

      Oh Chris, thank you so much for your heart warming comment. Thank you. Much love and gentlest hugs flowing to you my lovely friend. Your encouragement means more than I can say. ❤ XxXx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

