Discovering Dorset is a delightful surprise…

Dorset2

I drove across country to reach Dorset on Monday and I feel like I have stepped back in time to discover a place that is unspoilt and true to it’s rich heritage. All these years of travelling and I have never visited this part of England.

As the fields and countryside unfolded in front of my little car, my breathing slowed and the peace of ‘ruralness’ settled within.

The couple I am pet caring for this week got married on Monday and they have now gone, with their lovingly blended extended family, to celebrate with loved ones and to hold another ceremony in France. There was a happy dinner on Monday evening at the ‘newlyweds’ favourite eatery, with Mr’s Mum and his new wife’s daughter and her husband. They kindly included me. There was much laughter, banter and sharing of stories, as loving links deepened. A funny moment when the power went out. The chef sent the waitress back with a request for us to re-choose our dinner with anything that could be cooked on the gas burners, as he had lost the use of all his ovens. Yummy food arrived soon after and ‘hats off’ to him for creating against the odds. His wife came over later with champagne and special chocolates for the happy couple. The new ‘Mrs’ leant across to me and placed before me the tiny pink rose from the top of her chocolate box with the words ‘For you Jane, because I just know you keep little treasures from magic moments’.

After dinner the new ‘Mr’ took his bride, his Mum and me for an evening drive. We saw tiny Dorset villages tucked away in the golden evening light, rivers, little bridges, trees, fields and old fashioned hedgerows bordering country lanes. We watched for deer and chatted about the history of this wonderful place. His bride wanted me to see the church where her daughter and son-in-law were married a few years ago. We got out of the car, just us two girls, and walked around this special place. The windows of Moreton church were blown out in World War II and Whistler’s grandson was commissioned to replace them with etched glass. They are a sight to behold.

Moreton Church

window 3

Lawrence of Arabia is resting peacefully in the churchyard opposite.

We managed to squeeze some time in, so I could see some of her daughter and son-in-law’s wedding video and I am glad we did. They have a way, this family, of elevating the ordinary to something magical and love flows from each of them and through all they do.

After many hugs, Badger and Bella (their two furry babies) and I are alone. We potter through our days; enjoying a beautiful garden, the breathtaking views across the fields, swinging on the seat amoung the roses and flowers as the pond fountain plays, eating strawberries and lettuces fresh from the earth (that’s me as my furry companions have their own treats) and as evening draws in we tuck up amidst all the twinkly lights. There are arty objects and crafted pieces dotted about and a sign above the door saying ‘What if the Hokey Cokey really IS what it’s all about?’ Well, if it is, one thing I know for sure is that it will be threaded with much love like everything else in this home.

Dorset

18 Responses to “Discovering Dorset is a delightful surprise…”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton July 5, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    I have always regretted that I never managed to visit southwest England during my 16 years in England. Only got as far in that direction as Bath. Thank you for your perfect reflection that has taken me to Dorset, at last. There is magic and such a warm smile in your words! XO ♥

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne July 6, 2014 at 9:31 pm

      Much ❤ and many hugs for you Diane and I will start to share my Welsh adventures next, as I am house hunting there…this is such a beautiful land we live on…feel my ❤ for you flowing across the Atlantic. XxX

      Like

  2. 3 grandfathersky June 20, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    Jane – There is something magical that is happening around you. As I re-read Stuart Wilde’s book I feel you’re connection with his thought through the words you write, the thoughts and feeling you share. You feel well to me here …

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne June 20, 2014 at 5:06 pm

      Hello my intuitive friend, I have been out today exploring a place where I could come in to land here in Dorset. There are a lot of elements to it and I am going within to ponder. I started re-reading Stuart’s book last night. I will send you an email. ❤ x

      Like

  3. 5 journeyintopoetry June 19, 2014 at 10:01 am

    And this post is magical too Jane! Just meandering through your calm words slows my thoughts down to a gentle pace. What gorgeous countryside and those church windows look simply wonderful. Ebjoy your furry friend times. Much love and hugs😊❤️ Xxx

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne June 19, 2014 at 11:39 am

      Dearest Chris, it is always good to hear from you. I feel like me here, which is magical. Much love and hugs back to you my lovely friend. ❤ xXx

      Like

  4. 7 ianscyberspace June 19, 2014 at 4:05 am

    Thanks for taking us with you as you enjoy your travel, work and recreation. We enjoy the journey too and the picture illustrations are superb.

    Like

  5. 9 Eric Alagan June 19, 2014 at 12:39 am

    I wonder how the English managed to pull this off – keeping Dorset so serene and lovely amidst all the ‘tear and build’ that goes on in most parts of the world.

    That last image – so picturesque and taken off a fairy tale, or so it would seem.

    “They have a way, this family, of elevating the ordinary to something magical.” –

    That describes you too, Jane buddy and is it a wonder that you fitted in so well with them.

    Peace and blessings,
    Eric

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne June 19, 2014 at 9:42 am

      Oh Eric, what a lovely comment, thank you. It is always good to hear from you my special buddy. It is a wonder that it has remained this unspoilt here…it is beautiful and I can feel my creative sparks returning. Yay! Much love and hugs to you, xXx

      Like

  6. 11 tornadoday June 18, 2014 at 9:02 pm

    ❤ It sounds wonderful, Jane. I love that sign too. It reminds me of a joke my very young nephew told me a year or two back ~

    "With all the sadness and trauma going on in the world at the moment, it is worth reflecting on the death of a very important person, which almost went unnoticed last week Larry LaPrise, the man who wrote "The Hokey Pokey", died peacefully at age 93. The most traumatic part for his family was getting him into the coffin. They put his left leg in. And then the trouble started." 🙂

    Like

  7. 13 Aquileana June 18, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    Beautiful post and very captivating and well penned… As per usual, dear Jane.

    Best wishes, Aquileana 😀

    Like

  8. 15 Dylan Hearn June 18, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Dorset is a beautiful county, full of wonderful hamlets and with some amazing coastal areas. I am very envious!

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne June 18, 2014 at 6:37 pm

      Hi Dylan, it’s good to hear from you. I love the feeling of ‘earthiness’ around here and the creativity everywhere you look. I feel I would thrive in this setting. 🙂

      Like

  9. 17 Peter Wells aka Countingducks June 18, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    Dorset really is a treasure trove. In fact the whole coast going east beyond Brighton is remarkable

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,286 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Categories


roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Create Space

Creating a space for the creative use of life as a tool for learning.

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

England And Scotland

Our trip to the United Kingdom

bridgesburning

There are no facts, only interpretations. - Friedrich Nietzsche. The truth I think that validates everything you have to say.

beetleypete

The musings of a Londoner, now living in Norfolk

From Mage Mind

When a mage is sharing what's on his mind. Business, Motivation, Positive life, Success, Marketing and Good Ideas.

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

