A magical light at St. George’s Church, Fordington, Dorchester…..

DSC_1691

Re-tracing the steps of Roman times,
And many centuries past.

Fresh pasties and apple juice,
Savoured in Thomas Hardy land.

Dappled sunlight on a river,
Running through clear and true.

Pure light shining,
Reflected in eyes and smiles.

A time of heart memories,
Of peace for joyful souls.

16 Responses to “A magical light at St. George’s Church, Fordington, Dorchester…..”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton July 5, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    The magical light of the church and your experience, especially through your beautiful poem, Jane, shines into my soul all the way across the Atlantic! Good luck with your home hunting! XO ♥

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne July 6, 2014 at 9:30 pm

      A special light still shines and my intuition is guiding me…still adventuring on the home hunting front, but having fun along the way. Bless my Mum and Dad for sheltering me, and feeding me so well, while I hunt! ❤ and many hugs to you xXx

      Like

  2. 3 Marylin Warner June 27, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    The poem is wonderful, Jane, and the picture is mesmerizing. The light is truly magical, and possibly spiritual, too. What a delightful combination of words and picture.

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne June 28, 2014 at 7:27 am

      Hi Marylin, thank you. The light lit a spark and I have made a decision on where I come in to land. There are many opportunities for work and creativity there and I am going to look at a possible home next Wednesday. All good stuff. Much love to you and yours. Xx

      Like

  3. 5 journeyintopoetry June 24, 2014 at 11:36 am

    Magical moments and a magical poem to accompany this gorgeous photo full of spirituality and love as are you my lovely special friend ❤️ Big hugs and truck loads of love xxx💐

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne June 24, 2014 at 11:54 am

      Oh Chris, that is such a lovely comment, thank you so much. You would love where I am now…a beautiful working farm in Wiltshire…I am as happy as a pig in muck…blog post a’comin…love flowing to you my special friend. xXx ❤

      Like

  4. 7 tornadoday June 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    O, Jane, it sounds absolutely sacred…….as I know it is.

    And since I know you’ll read this before approving it, I can ask what may be a foolish question, especially since I’m not familiar with the language. I’m thinking you may have meant ‘Fresh pastries and apple juice’ but it’s possible I just don’t know what a pastie is…….since it’s a term used fairly exclusively by burlesque workers in this part of the world! 🙂 I surely love you! ~ B

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne June 24, 2014 at 9:20 am

      You are a delight Bobbie, a real delight. A pastie is a traditional Cornish meat pie wrapped in pastry, that looks like a half moon. I’ll add a pic to my blog post later, so you can see. I have reached out to you lately in my thoughts, as I ponder on where I am now and feel my steps forward. I wish to come in to land, but it is the where and how that I am pondering. I so need to be rurally based around animals. It will all flow forward I know, I just felt that you would understand my ponderings! Love always to you Bobbie, xXx

      Like

      • 9 tornadoday June 24, 2014 at 1:34 pm

        I do……… I know you’ve seen cats and dogs do it, and (in fact) all animals do it. They circle around a place before deciding where to settle in. It’s a wonderful practice of alignment. 🙂 I am here; don’t worry, I won’t let you fall……. ❤

        Like

  5. 11 ianscyberspace June 23, 2014 at 5:02 am

    What a tranquil scene you’ve shared with us this time. Thank you.

    Like

  6. 13 Eric Alagan June 23, 2014 at 1:03 am

    Hello Jane buddy,

    Lights do play tricks and the lights here seem to convey spiritual delight.

    All the best for the week ahead 🙂
    Eric

    Like

  7. 15 Maxi June 22, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    The heavenly light drifting above the pews brings the Holy Spirit to mind…

    Hi Jane,
    Pray all is well with you and David. That your days are bright and your heart is happy.

    Especially, hope there is goodness for your mum and dad as they get on in their new adventure.

    Sorry I haven’t been ’round. Life has been a whirlwind of health and legal issues.

    My daughter and granddaughter had to move into the house. It took a while, but things have settled. We are so blessed.

    hugs n blessings, my friend ~ maxi

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne June 22, 2014 at 4:06 pm

      Hello lovely Maxi, I know how busy you have been and how much time it takes to settle. ❤ Sending much love to you and your girls. Sending healing hugs for you. I am off to Mum and Dad' searly July to help them pack…all is moving ahead well for them. ❤ for you Maxi. xXx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,232 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Three Things Serial, a Little 1920s Story"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

