The ultimate ‘selfie’ – self love, self respect, self worth – all interlinked and vital.

Daisy

There is a herd of Jacob’s sheep here, along with their lambs, and Daisy is the eldest in their group. She is a character and comes to say ‘Hello’ and stands still for as long as her head is stroked and her neck rubbed. We stood at the gate this morning and chatted, as I rubbed her shorn fleece.

Without a shadow of doubt, this farm sit has been my busiest assignment, calling upon skills and dollops of common sense in equal measure.

I started these adventures with the belief that I could earn my living through my telephone work and writing assignments. This would enable me to gift my time and love caring for pets, farm animals and homes, in return for a roof over my head. Again, there have been blessings and challenges in equal measure and a huge life lesson nestled within.

I have ended up skewing my own balance out of whack. I became very involved caring and flowing love into others’ lives and it has left precious little time for me to care for me. I did not value myself enough. The consequences of this lack of care are evident, but repairable. I choose not to travel down the path of blame, recriminations, anger or bitterness, as my own choices took me down this route in the first place and others’ actions are there own responsibility. So there are new choices being made, balance coming into view and as ever, life gifts being acknowledged.

We all give freely of our love, in so many ways, as we go about our daily rounds and I believe this is driven by the desire to be valued, loved, appreciated, respected, or all four, by others. Our own view on how worthy we are of love and respect cannot be sustainable like this.

How often do we pause to flow love to ourselves? For in loving ourselves we create and grow our own self worth and this is self respecting. We owe ourselves that surely?

We can love ourselves for who we are, not what we do, or are seen to do. Self love and appreciation builds sustainable self worth and that shines a light that warms everyone. Ask Daisy, she has a special light.

Golden light

20 Responses to “The ultimate ‘selfie’ – self love, self respect, self worth – all interlinked and vital.”


  1. 1 smzang October 2, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    Jane,

    I don’t know how I missed this loveliest of selfies. I think maybe it was meant to be saved for a time when I needed it more, and today seems to be that day. What a treasure it is!!

    I know you will have beautiful journeys wherever you go because you carry the beauty inside.

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne October 2, 2014 at 7:15 pm

      Oh Sarah, what a lovely comment and a timely one for me. I needed reminding today about ‘selfie’ love. I hope your day is panning out well and I am sending you a loving wrap around hug. xXx

      Like

  2. 3 elenacaravela July 23, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    Such a tricky balance, one that I have to work on. Beautiful Jane. Take care of you:)

    Like

  3. 5 tornadoday July 2, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    O, Jane………but how else could you have gotten to this wondrous place of understanding and love without journeying as you have, without the path you chose (that chose you)? We are more than a brilliance caught in a moment of time. We are diamonds, polished and burned, over lifetimes. Our beauty is deeper than our bones. You are here, and through your experience, you are more and you give us more……and we are (I am) surely BLESSED! There is tremendous joy in taking the long way to home. ❤ Always……xoxo

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne July 3, 2014 at 6:51 am

      Lovely Bobbie, you know my path and your heart hears my song. How blessed to have been gifted our connection. Much ❤ flowing to you always… you will love what is unfolding now….I am amazed and very grateful… xXx ❤

      Like

  4. 7 ianscyberspace July 2, 2014 at 5:09 am

    Yes there is truth in that. The battery needs to have full charge before it can start a car, and the same applies in the human sense. We can’t effectively provide the service to our communities expected unless we take time to recharge our own inner self.

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne July 2, 2014 at 6:27 am

      Hello Ian and yes, I like your analogy…no tank can run on empty and it helps to catch it before it hits reserve… have a lovely day. 🙂

      Like

  5. 9 Angela July 1, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    Ahhh, this is so lovely Jane. You gift the reader with your experience – flowing as loving words from your heart – so that we, as readers, can hear the silent call of our own souls. Bless you, my friend, for sharing. And I wish you sure and golden footsteps for the brighter and stronger road you travel. Much love and hugs. xxx

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne July 1, 2014 at 6:10 pm

      Thank you Angela, that is a very special comment filled with loving thoughts… much ❤ flowing to you with hugs. XxX

      Like

  6. 11 1smiles July 1, 2014 at 4:34 am

    Jane,
    It’s easy for some of us to share our love with and for others. Until like you, one day we realize that we’re out of balance. Good for you to recognize it and step forward to flow love onto yourself.
    Sending you love to fill your bucket.
    XXXXXXX

    Like

  7. 13 Eric Alagan July 1, 2014 at 12:55 am

    This is what I meant by your positivity, Jane buddy – if this is not light shining forth from you, I don’t know what is.

    I do and say things to help and show love to others – but also because it nourishes me. Sometimes, people whom I showered love on have returned it with vicious gossip and even fraud. But it matters not because, I seek no reward; because that’s the way I’m built.

    That’s how you’re built – love yourself. Be the selfie 🙂

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne July 1, 2014 at 10:31 am

      Much love flowing right back to you my special buddy…you can’t change people can you? So you are always striving to be the best you can be…you are a wonderful soul to be connected with, thank you. xXx

      Like

  8. 15 grandfathersky June 30, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    There was a comic I used to read I think it was call Ching Tao; it always had words of wisdom from a Chinese Sage along with a little pen and ink drawing – The one I remember best is “Experience is good, if not paid for too dearly”. I think you have purchased a great education and your connection to people, animals, and nature have grown in ways you might never have found. Check out Robert Greene’s The 48 Laws of Power …
    Best of Luck with you all you future selfies …

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne July 1, 2014 at 10:29 am

      Hello Peter, thank you and yes, I have been gifted much experience and heart memories on these adventures. I checked out Robert Greene and I need to go back and listen again…I’ll email you. Much love to you for your care and continuing support. Xx

      Like

  9. 17 journeyintopoetry June 30, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    I can feel it, very nuch Jane ❤️❤️

    Like

  10. 19 journeyintopoetry June 30, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    Jane this is so lovely. Although things have gone a bit skewiff, you are still able to write about it with a gentleness that Im sure many couldnt manage.

    It took me years to know how ro give myself the love I poured out to others. It took an MS neuro-paychologist to teach me fully. She said that when I was in a situation and it involved something I felt I “should” or “shouldnt” do, I had to ask myself what I would say to someone else in the same situation. It all becomes so clear when I think about things this way, and it made me realise over the years that I can be quite cruel to myself. As you say here self love is vital for sustainable self worth. I still find it difficult and sometimes feel selfish but it isn’t; it’s self care.

    Daisy looks gorgeous, I would love to give her a tickle under her chin.

    I hope you find the love and balance you so well deserve lovely friend.

    Sending flowers, hugs and a bucket of love xxx

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne June 30, 2014 at 1:53 pm

      I ❤ you my funky teapot friend, thank you. There is so much to this, I can feel another book coming on…we evolve in gossamer layers, but be rest assured we are evolving. With love, much love, can you feel it? ❤ xXx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,251 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

