Spirit, character and the blessing of unconditional love….

DSC_1970

Rain, rain, go away, come again another day. No? Oh well nevermind then, life carries on regardless.

On Monday I walked down the long and winding driveway between showers to meet my Mum and Dad in the country lane, so I could show them the way to my new little home. It is such a treat for us all to be able to get together and spend time like this. There has been so many years where we have lived thousands of miles apart, reliant in the early days on telex machines with ticker tape to keep in touch, right through to now when mobiles and emails link us.

Lately we have the joy of face to face visits.

They love my new home and we had a special time together. Mum tucked all sorts into my cupboards and a lovingly homemade Shepherd’s Pie was popped into my oven for us all to have lunch.

There have been many times when plans went upside down and they have had to invent new dance steps to unexpected songs being played out in their lives. That spirit and character from each of them has forged a bond that positively hums with energy and has given them the wisdom of ‘knowing’ the unspoken. New dances have been invented with love, grace, dignity and sheer hard work.

‘It’s like a retreat here’ said Dad finally after lunch. ‘Yes, it is’ I replied ‘that is exactly what it is. I can make a new life here Dad.’ We all smiled at each other. Then we headed off to sample the delights of the little medieval town that I am blessed to live near.

Mum and Dad ‘get’ why having the barn so near to my home matters to me.

‘Our’ farmer is a gentle soul and I often watch him leading the cows around here. He silently walks a few paces before them and they all drop into single file and follow him wherever he leads. I like him. As a backdrop to this week there has been much activity in the barn and it culminated with the equipment that was used being transported away today. You could feel the peace re-settle again. There were strangers in the mix during the working days and one is particular could be heard above the other men. There was anger in his voice and I picked it up instantly, as did the herd. I could ‘feel’ and hear him being rough and sharp with the animals in the barn and all week there has been a spiralling circle of distressed noises, smells and fear emanating from the hubbub.

As the sun was setting tonight, I walked out for a breath of fresh air. Down at the far gate I took pictures of the sunset and stood listening, in the cold evening air, to the kestrels on the hillside and the crows calling back from the trees. I heard a hoof on wood and looked up to see the herd going past my ‘usual’ gate and one was waiting there for me. I walked across to stand before a lovely gentle, about two years old, heifer. We stood together under the trees in the evening gloom and nattered for a while. I was asking her what on earth had happened to them all this week and she was snorting her replies. Her companions gathered around her for a little while, adding their comments. As they all started to move away she gave my hand a ‘raspy’ kiss with her tongue and with a dip of her head she headed off. A young steer, just behind her, stepped forward to rest his head on my outstretched hand, then he too walked off with his buddies. They have all stuck together and whatever they faced this week, they have retained their love, grace and dignity.

I love you Mum and Dad. ❤

20 Responses to “Spirit, character and the blessing of unconditional love….”


  1. 1 smzang September 4, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    Jane,

    Peace flows from the screen to this reader. The love you share with your family wraps itself around me. Your blog is a haven. Your world is a potpourri
    of blessings. I love the way you keep the faith when it’s hard to see past a turn in the road, and best of all I love where those turns have taken you.
    Even the ‘down’ times are a part of the blessings. It is your gentle spirit
    and your loving heart that makes that so.

    “As the sun was setting tonight, I walked out for a breath of fresh air. Down at the far gate I took pictures of the sunset and stood listening, in the cold evening air, to the kestrels on the hillside and the crows calling back from the trees. I heard a hoof on wood and looked up to see the herd going past my ‘usual’ gate and one was waiting there for me. I walked across to stand before a lovely gentle, about two years old, heifer. We stood together under the trees in the evening gloom and nattered for a while.”

    That is how life is supposed to be!

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

  2. 3 elenacaravela August 27, 2014 at 1:07 pm

    Everything about this post is beautiful -your writing, the peace of your place, the joy of your family. I’m so pleased for you, Jane:)

    Like

  3. 5 journeyintopoetry August 24, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    Bless those gorgeous animals Jane. They knew who they could talk to for understanding and love. What another fabulous post; I could have read on and on. The unconditional love of animals and their seeming acceptance for life as it is never ceases to cause me wonder. Love and hugs being blown your way! ❤️ Xxx

    Like

  4. 8 Al August 24, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    I loved this post. Your erstwhile Dr. Doolittle persona is just what those critters needed after a difficult week.

    Glad you had such a quality visit with your folks. Your new home is charming, as I said, but more charming still is your description of it.

    Like

  5. 10 tornadoday August 24, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    I have learned that miracles grow in silence, and the delicate folds of heart against heart. What a blessing you are to those you love, and those who love you. Count me one………. And thanks for the reminder. Earlier this week, I got stuck in traffic on my way to work. It was a rural road though, and I took advantage, taking several pictures of just such a steer from my window.. When I was anxious, he reminded me of the fragile moving that is love. I must post them soon. ❤

    Like

    • 11 Jane Thorne August 24, 2014 at 7:49 pm

      Bobbie, what a wonderful line of yours ‘I have learned that miracles grown in silence and the delicate folds of heart against heart’…I will treasure that, as I do you. ❤ Looking forward to seeing your photographs. ❤ always. xXx

      Like

  6. 12 grandfathersky August 24, 2014 at 11:41 am

    Since they do not live in the past or in the future like we do, the beasts of the Earth have a blessing and a curse. Yes, they know from moment to moment exactly what the nature gods are sending their way, through us, or through the weather, yet apart from their constant state of apparent peace, their joys and their sorrows are only learned from us … Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the Earth … Have a lovely day !

    Like

  7. 14 Mother August 24, 2014 at 10:41 am

    Thak you for this lovely blog Jane, Love Breeds Love, We are blessed with a very loving family and distance has not been an obstacle but now, as you say, you are in stiking distance and it is great for us and all of us. Poor animals, they give uncontidional love which is not alwy appreciated. That person has a problem, probably not doing what he wants to in life and taking it out on the animals. Thank you again for your love always. Mum x x x

    Like

  8. 16 Maxi August 24, 2014 at 10:18 am

    No one can fool animals and children, Jane. They have a sixth sense of who is real. It’s sad these gentle souls were treated badly. Karma awaits.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • 17 Jane Thorne August 24, 2014 at 10:27 am

      We are so on the same wavelength my lovely. A chap commented to me yesterday, how this world judges on looks and I disagreed with him. My reply was ‘Watch who the animals and children are drawn to, they instinctively know, and they go for character and warmth everytime. Much love flowing to you my lovely friend. ❤ xXx

      Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne August 24, 2014 at 10:28 am

      And yes, karma awaits everytime in all sorts of ways. ❤ xXx

      Like

  9. 19 ianscyberspace August 24, 2014 at 3:57 am

    Animals do pick up on our moods. I feel so sorry for those cows.

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne August 24, 2014 at 9:46 am

      Bless them, I know Ian. No-one deserves temper and rough handling, especially those who can’t answer back! Karma will sort him out.

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

