Creativity sparked by subtle loving blessings…

Tree

I have been tucked up working and creating and in an effort to keep fit I walk into town whenever I need anything. It rains a fair bit here and we are only a few weeks away from Winter now, so my thoughts are turning to sturdy footwear. Anyway, I digress. Today I finished painting my latest canvas and propped it up to dry and togged up to walk into town. My sister and her lovely man are away working for their nursing charity in Uganda and they have sent through some wonderful waterfall photographs. The feeling from them inspired my painting today.

I set off and five minutes into my walk down the long and winding driveway the heavens opened.

Loving kindness weaved in. My lovely landlord and his brother, my lovely farmer, have a real family set-up going on here. Lots of ‘lovelies’. Their Mum lives in the main hall, and up until now, we had not met. This afternoon she picked me up on the driveway and we drove into town together. Jane and Jane (really…) nattered away, swopping family details and history as women do and parted company with broad smiles in the small square at the top of the town.

Just over five years ago my apartment was a milking parlour when the farm was a dairy enterprise.

Having finished all my errands I walked back down the country lane to the feel of rain falling softly, sounds of a rugby game in full cry at the local secondary school drifting across the fields, a toddler walking with his Grandad and marveling at a rainbow across the hills, cows calling to one another and a dog barking on a far away farm.

My lovely farmer picked me up on the drive and we drove up the rest of the way nattering away together. Then we stood and watched a Jay break out from the fishing lakes and my lovely farmer said ‘She’ll land in that far tree’ and he was right, she flew across the field and settled into the chestnut tree on the other side of the field.

Jay in flight

After the recent local firework display a cygnet, still with grey feathers, took refuge on the fishing lake and we both feel that she will not be on her own for long. She is slowly turning white.

I remember a quote from Miss Marple, in an Agatha Christie story, when she was asked how she could know so much from living in such a small country village. She replied ‘Oh my dear, but all of life is here.’

In our ‘here’ we all thrive in the midst of life, with loving kindness and a rainbow painting love across the sky.

DSC_0187

35 Responses to “Creativity sparked by subtle loving blessings…”


  1. 1 smzang November 28, 2014 at 2:07 am

    Jane,

    I started at the top, so am reading your wonderful sharings in reverse order.
    This one makes me know how dear to you the place you are leaving and how brave the heart that looks ahead to the next adventure.

    Most surely you are blessed!

    hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne November 28, 2014 at 6:40 am

      Thank you special Sarah and there is one more sleep to go. My sister and I both have new chapters starting, so we have found a home together and we move in tomorrow. We both sense this will be a big adventure. I get to drive a big van all day, which I love doing. We have invited Mum and Dad over for lunch on Sunday to help us christen our new home… let the sparkles flow and may they also be flowing for you too. ❤ hugs xXx

      Like

  2. 3 ShimonZ November 26, 2014 at 9:37 am

    Though I’ve never read her works, I love the comment in Agatha Christie’s story. I do believe that all of life is found in any place we happen to be. And that it’s our job to be receptive and aware. I really loved two of your pictures here. The scene with the lone tree, and the bird. Beautiful.

    Like

  3. 5 Marylin Warner November 16, 2014 at 6:34 am

    Jane, you have the most charming and wonderful way of weaving sudden surprises–even downpours–into a lovely pattern within your life! I wish you had pictures of this. It’s another joyous adventure in your story, right up there with driving the tractor!
    Have a continuing delightful week, dear Jane.

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne November 16, 2014 at 11:26 am

      Marylin, you are so very kind, thank you. I recall those moments on the tractor and my heart feels the joy all over again. I hope you have a delightful week too. Much love flowing to you all ❤ xXx

      Like

  4. 7 Aquileana November 15, 2014 at 2:08 am

    What a beautiful post… Celebrating life and your natural surroundings… So deep and nicely penned, dear Jane… These lines gave me shivers (I mean It): ” I set off and five minutes into my walk down the long and winding driveway the heavens opened… Loving kindness weaved in”
    Thanks for sharing!. All the best to you. Aquileana 😀

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne November 15, 2014 at 9:24 am

      Thank you dear Aquileana for taking the time to share the effect of my words, that is such a loving thing to do. Have a great weekend my lovely. Hugs xXx

      Like

  5. 9 tornadoday November 14, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    I love this place you’ve created of love and patience, endurance to arrive at a lovely spot made sweeter by your being. Does it not seem they’ve been waiting for you all this time? Surely, the universe knows the voice of our heart. Always, I love you, Jane. ❤

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne November 15, 2014 at 9:23 am

      I pray the universe can hear me now Bobbie, as an unexpected challenge hits. I tried to find an email ‘addy’ to message you privately and failed! I hole love in my heart always, especially for you. ❤ xxX

      Like

  6. 11 Al November 13, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    You write good, Jane. Real good.

    Like

  7. 13 Maria F. November 13, 2014 at 11:35 am

    I love the bird image.

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne November 13, 2014 at 11:49 am

      Thanks Maria, jay’s colours flash as they fly…it’s lovely to see. I just took a heart picture yesterday as she flew across, it was over in seconds. ❤

      Like

  8. 15 journeyintopoetry November 13, 2014 at 10:24 am

    You write beautifully Jane. You are full of love and joy for the simple things in life and I love you ❤️ Xxx

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne November 13, 2014 at 10:30 am

      Good morning my lovely friend in Leeds, who I will come to visit before too much more time passes by. I do not face your daily challenges, but I have a few things going on. It helps to give them a ‘nod’ and say OK, I know you are there, but I feel better looking at other things. My sister and Cliff’s happy faces from the waterfall tour in Uganda, Em’s passion as she ran her latest presentation by me on Skype….even my latest creative project of heart wire mobiles. I stepped back and looked at the first completed one and my immediate thought was…’Well, that does not work, so back to the drawing board on these then!!’. We all need hope don’t we? Love and joy create hope for me…so ever hopeful, I know you and I will get to share a cuppa together. I love you ❤ xXXx

      Like

      • 17 journeyintopoetry November 13, 2014 at 12:14 pm

        A cuppa with you will be like a dream come true Jane! I love your calm “back to the drawing noard” approach.

        I am about to try two new things! But first I must be strict with myself and drag said self away from the internet including Facebook, which is horribly addictive.
        I have bought a simple book on how to draw flowers,and I have also bought a loom knitting set. Someone on my MS support group told me about this when I was asking if anyone knew of something I could do one handed. Apparently Its still a bit tricky with one hand but the round loom thing can be wedged between things to hold it still. So all of this will be with my left hand which unfortunately isnt my main ‘doing’ hand. So challenges await! 😊❤️ XxxlovexxX

        Like

        • 18 Jane Thorne November 13, 2014 at 12:24 pm

          I so admire your pluck my lovely….Emily has been making snoods with a round hand loom and loves it. So yes, wedged it would work. There is something so soothing about knitting and crochet. It takes me back to my great Granny, my Grannies and my Mum all sitting and making things together. My sister and I would sit at their feet and learn. Debs, my sister, makes the most beautiful Aran jumpers and dresses. My Mum, although part disabled with her replacement shoulders, makes beautiful Aran bobble hats and wonderful sweaters for my Dad, lucky boy. I am mastering snuggle socks! They have hearts on them, now there is a surprise. Enjoy your flower drawing book my lovely. May I suggest something Chris, it may help. There is a technique when creating flowers, where you use pen and ink and dot the detail in. It’s loose and free and you can build up all sorts of patterns and detail. It lets you flow with it and you may feel more at home with this, with the way your body is operating nowadays. It looks stunning when you step back from it….just dots…see how you go. Anyway, we are chatting away as we always do and yes, there is a freedom from stepping away from the technology for a while. I love you ❤ xXX

          Like

  9. 22 grandfathersky November 13, 2014 at 4:06 am

    Well, well my dear Jane, seems you’ve settled into your own space. Makes one wonder how our destinies are tied together. Reminds me of Cloud Atlas, seems to be one of my most popular poems. All we do, the energy we create circulates among the stars, and shines back on us. So good to know you are feeling that light … Always, Peter

    Like

    • 23 Jane Thorne November 13, 2014 at 9:54 am

      Loving energy rises above all else Pete doesn’t it? Cloud Atlas is profound..souls are drawn to feel the flow of love through your words. I am emailing you right now, before work gets too hectic. ❤

      Like

  10. 24 ianscyberspace November 13, 2014 at 1:59 am

    Oh Jane you present us with some lovely memories of your walks. Thanks for allowing us to walk with you.

    Like

  11. 26 Christelle November 12, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Such beautiful and poetic writing. Thank you Jane 🙂 Much love.xx

    Like

  12. 28 elenacaravela November 12, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Jane, I feel refreshed just reading this! Your words and images, ever so lovely!

    Like

    • 29 Jane Thorne November 13, 2014 at 9:49 am

      Elena thank you. It did me the world of good to get out for a while and just breathe. Such lovely people here. I painted a new canvas yesterday, ‘Waterfall Flowers’….not sure where this current creative journey is taking me, but I am enjoying it. Hope all is well with you all? ❤

      Like

  13. 30 1smiles November 12, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    Your farm fields look the same as our here, harvested! But today, ours have a light coating of snow. The winter is upon us. Brrrrr.
    Love you!
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

  14. 34 Peter Wells aka Countingducks November 12, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    It sounds like a real idyll. I’ve spent most of my life in the country so it made me feel a bit homesick, but also full of great memories 🙂

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

