Life’s flags and flowing by letting go….

Clwyd Valley

I thought I had found my place here in this North Welsh valley and my creativity has certainly been sparked by many joyful moments here. There have been many blessings nestled in this time, yet I find myself packing up home again.

In this lovely old coach house I have been coping with damp, mould, a tiny hot water tank (small baths and short showers), a tempremental oven that either cremates or leaves things half raw, a distinct lack of natural light inside and a washing machine that flashes electrically and needs starting with a ball point pen. I have been able to creatively work my way around all of this, because I loved being here. Then the heating broke.

I always gently advise my clients to pay attention to ‘life’s flags’. If we ignore the first warning flags, then bigger ones go up and they will keep going up, until they slap us around the face and we are forced to make changes. The thing is it’s all about trust. Trust for your own instincts, for life and for your journey. So if you pay attention to the first flag, or flags, you may never get to know if you have made the right choice, but at least you made a choice.

As soon as I had my landlord’s response to my request for heating help I knew. I simply knew that it was a flag that he was overstretched and important things were falling through the cracks. My instinct said ‘Get out Jane before Winter truly sets in and you are in serious trouble old girl’. So I gave notice and started to explore a number of options, whilst trying to stem tears at the loss of leaving here.

I summoned all of my strength and the Lakota type blood (thank you Grandfathersky) I have created in my life so far. Divine timing came into play and an unexpected option appeared, that fast became a plan and is now unfolding at speed. Saturday is moving day and many blessings and new opportunites are coming in to flow loving support into this choice.

As I prepare to leave North Wales to head back into England, I still have no heating and a landlord who is struggling to cope with broken heating in several places over the estate with some very unhappy tenants that are reacting in differing ways. I have thanked him for the time in this very special place and the many gifts it has held. I move forward with loving trust that this is exactly what I am meant to be doing and it goes without saying that I am togged out in my trusty woolly hat and snuggle socks!

Let the new adventure begin…..

56 Responses to “Life’s flags and flowing by letting go….”


  1. 1 Dr. Rex December 16, 2014 at 5:07 pm

    On another note … thanks for stopping by “It Is What It Is” and the follow. Hope you enjoy your visits there. Peace …. happy holidays!! 😎

    Like

  2. 5 Christy Birmingham December 4, 2014 at 6:05 am

    Jane! What a wonderful post. I truly believe in those flags and that they do get bigger (I believe it is God pushing us) if we at first ignore or don’t see them. I feel that this is where you are meant to move to and I am so excited for you with the new journey ahead! I look forward to reading more from you once you move and that you get warm soon (emotionally and physically) xo

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne December 5, 2014 at 9:46 am

      Christy, you are so lovely, thank you. I have landed again and a blog post will emerge shortly. Your loving wishes mean a lot. I hope you have a lovely weekend. ❤ xXx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 7 Aquileana December 2, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Beautiful post dear Jane… I love your insights regarding ‘life’s flags’. and how important Trust is when it comes to this fleeting journey called life. A very inspirational post. Thanks for sharing!. Sending you all my best wishes!. Aquileana 😀

    Like

  4. 9 Robbie November 30, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    What a wimp you are Janey, that’s why I love you :o)) xx (kidding of course! phew ……..

    Like

  5. 11 elenacaravela November 29, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    Keep warm, Jane. Sorry you have to pick up and move again. I so admire your stamina and acceptance. All the very best for your new place.

    Like

  6. 13 smzang November 28, 2014 at 2:02 am

    Jane,

    You share the most positive vibes.
    It is our Thanksgiving Day in the US and I thought of you, and stopped by
    to let you know you are included in the blessings I count. Thinking to brighten
    your day, it is my day that has been brightened with this ‘snapshot’ of a soul
    that spreads light and love with just a touch of the pen.

    I am always excited to hear of your adventures and look forward to the next chapter in the life of our gentle heroine.

    hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne November 28, 2014 at 6:34 am

      Happy Thanksgiving special Sarah and I hope you had a lovely day. You are so very kind and I’ll wrap your loving wishes into this new adventure. Hugs ❤ xXx

      Like

  7. 15 Marylin Warner November 27, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Jane, you have the most lovely, open, creative spirit!
    I’m still smiling at the second paragraph. If ever there is a writing contest for the funniest, most vivid “House For Sale” description, this would win, hands down.
    I’m glad you’re moving to a warmer, better, more landlord-helpful place.

    Like

  8. 17 Maria F. November 27, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    I love the idea of understanding “life’s flags”, and I love what you’ve written here. Everything change is soothing and welcome.

    Like

  9. 19 betternotbroken November 27, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    Beautiful writing, you have a gentle graceful way with words and I wish you all the best on your “new” adventure.

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne November 27, 2014 at 3:48 pm

      You are lovely, thank you. There have been a fair few utterances of ‘bollocks’ while this latest episode has unfolded! Happy Thanksgiving to you and the children…hugs and here’s to your new adventures. xX ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. 21 Jean November 26, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    Hope you find a good cosy home for your own peace of mind, Jane. It would be good to be in a good place for the December holidays/Christmas.

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne November 26, 2014 at 9:29 pm

      Thank you Jean for your kind words and thoughts. I move this Saturday, so all will be settled as December starts. A new adventure. Love to you both over there in Canada. Xx

      Like

  11. 23 Elizabeth Melton Parsons November 26, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    So sorry you must leave a place you love, but moving is always an adventure and depending on your outlook it can be a very happy journey. I know with your lovely attitude this will be a great and wonderful adventure for you, Jane. Much love and hugs to you. Keep warm, my dear. 🙂

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne November 26, 2014 at 12:22 pm

      Hello Elizabeth and thank you, you are lovely. Life is an adventure, with some parts of it calling for more fortitude than others. I get to drive a large van all over the place on moving day…whoop de do. Happy Thanksgiving for you and yours. ❤ xXx

      Like

  12. 25 journeyintopoetry November 26, 2014 at 10:11 am

    Graitude flows from you Jane for all you have, including your difficulties. Is it the Saturday coming when you move? Good luck with it all and know that exciting new adventures await! Love you my lovely friend and dont ever shut up!! 😊❤️ Xxx

    Like

  13. 29 ShimonZ November 26, 2014 at 8:39 am

    Wishing you the best, and much inspiration in your new home

    Like

  14. 31 Tracey Valentine November 24, 2014 at 8:15 am

    Let the adventure begin… continue…. what ever! Here’s to fun, discoveries, and new situations and people. Love and good wishes, special Jane, we’re all very much looking forward with you & for you. xxxxx

    Like

  15. 35 ianscyberspace November 24, 2014 at 4:16 am

    I like your philosophy in life. You could have joined the vocal unhappy people but you didn’t. You treated the man and the situation with patience and respect. You have my admiration.

    Like

  16. 37 grandfathersky November 24, 2014 at 3:47 am

    Do not believe that one who seeks to comfort you lives untroubled among the simple and quiet words that sometimes do you good. Her life has much difficulty … Were it otherwise she would never have been able to find those words.
    – Rainer Marie Rilke

    Like

  17. 39 bardessdmdenton November 23, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Your gratefulness, even in the midst of disappointment and difficulty, speaks so much about you and your beautiful spirit, Jane. Wishing you well as you move onto the next stage of your amazing journey. Blessings. XO ❤

    Like

  18. 43 Christelle November 23, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    So sorry you have to leave such a beautiful place but so glad you will be getting closer when back in England 🙂 What a nightmare it must have been for you and what a disappointment. I admire your strength and courage through it all, always keeping so positive and taking it all in your stride. Bless you Jane and may your new venture be another enriching but warmer one 🙂 xxx

    Like

    • 44 Jane Thorne November 23, 2014 at 9:57 pm

      Thank you for your gracious love and support Christelle. My new adventure is unfolding in a very warm and supportive way, with many blessings. Much love to you ❤ xXx

      Like

  19. 45 Peter Wells aka Countingducks November 23, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    It’s sad you have to go, but at least you have a beautiful and emotionally nourishing time there, which is good to read about. Living through winter with uncertain heating and appliances is no fun for anyone, so I am glad you are moving back to England and to more reliable appliances. Although it’s never stated, I am always impressed by your courage and resilience, and today’s post is another example of it. Blessings to you 🙂

    Like

  20. 47 tornadoday November 23, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    The truth is that the Divine never finds us in a place we weren’t expected. Always, we are following our own footprints to home. ❤ Travel well and warm dear Jane. I love you. ❤

    Like

  21. 49 1smiles November 23, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Stay warm my lovely friend. You have such a good flow Jane, You are headed to something amazing! Sending you love and toasty warm thoughts.
    Jeannie XXXXXXX

    Like

  22. 51 Karenj November 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    Best of luck in your new home Jane but sorry you have to leave a place you loved so much. Life certainly throws lots of challenges your way!

    Like

  23. 53 Francina November 23, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    I am sorry to hear you have to leave your home for such reason , but I´m sure you will be happy and alright in another home again , lovely Jane . love from across the creek xoxo

    Like

  24. 55 Al November 23, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    I am sorry you are inconvenienced, I know how much you loved it there. On the on the other hand, I envy the fervor with which you approach each new opportunity. Looking forward to hearing about the new adventure. Somewhere, some lucky new folks are going to get to share their lives with you.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

