Flying with love and trust around a loving harbour…..

Fish Eagle

Here’s to a sparkly 2015 for you all and may it be full of opportunities, adventures and love. Xx

When our family went out to Africa many moons ago, one of my cousins David and I became firm buddies. He taught me to shoot, wield a catapult and spot things in the bush from miles away. He also accompanied me out horse riding, even though he was not keen on it! Another memory is our disagreements over hunting. I could never kill anything and I would find a Kudu or small deer in the freezer and get very upset with him. He had the gift of being a loving listener and gave me a safe harbour whenever I was with him. We were in our early teens then and the years rolled forward and our familes were scattered geographically over time. Tragically he died aged thirty eight and I still feel his loss today. Love connects us still and thanks to my psychic side I have seen him and we still natter. His ashes were scattered by his favourite fishing lake in Zimbabwe and if I close my eyes I can see the Fish Eagles flying there.

Last weekend a special day was organised and up in Lancashire I got to meet and spend the day with David’s grown up sons and their families. We stood there hugging and sharing memories as happy children and a great Spring Spaniel milled about our feet. There were many magic moments woven into the day. Ryan, his eldest, and I sharing memories and jokes and I could see his father at sixteen laughing back at me. A little one snuggling into my neck and giggling as we chased her cousins down the hall. Sharing future plans with Matt, the second eldest, as he changes career and has a new baby on the way with his lovely wife Mel. Sitting on the floor playing Trivial Pursuit with the older children as I glanced up and looked at David’s picture on the wall, as there I was playing with his grandchildren. Leaning on the shoulder of my cousin Andrew (David’s older brother) as we chatted to David’s youngest son and his wife, stationed out in Germany. Smiling and hugging Danny, his third son, for the first time. Four lovely boys, who have gone on to build loving families and careers. What a legacy. Love was all around and I am blessed to now be a part of it. Thank you Lou for feeding us all and sharing your lovely home. Xx

Following on from this, life tumbled this week and I have come to live with my Mum and Dad for a few months. I can work from here and Dad has gifted me his attic workshop, so I have somewhere to create and paint. Onward and upward as new plans are made.

Hurt needs fresh air to heal and the blessing is that David is still listening as I make sense of everything.

Love floats up, no matter what happens, and true love never dies. David has never lost his ability to flow love, as each of his son’s will testify and I am grateful that he is still here for me.

xXx

45 Responses to “Flying with love and trust around a loving harbour…..”


  1. 1 smzang January 31, 2015 at 1:42 am

    Jane,

    No matter the season, nor the turn of the tide, you find words that encourage and uplift. 2015 has had a rocky start in this neck of the woods and I find comfort in the sunshine that you share. You do indeed have a beautiful soul!

    Sarah

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne February 2, 2015 at 11:21 am

      Hello lovely, thank you for reaching out when you are going through it. I hope the waters you are in are calming down. I am sending much loving energy for you with huge hugs. I am here if you need to download… Xxx ❤

      Like

  2. 3 Maxi January 19, 2015 at 1:48 pm

    Wonderful story, Jane. You were in dire need of all that love and laughter.

    My lovely friend, my heart is shattered for you. All those hopes … it will take time to heal. So grateful for mum and dad.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne January 19, 2015 at 3:08 pm

      I knew you would understand Maxi. I am so blessed to have Mum and Dad and their love. I will heal here and intend to stick around for some time to come. It’s all been a bit too much and now I have a flu bug. Time for healing. Much love and softest hugs for you and yours. Xxx ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 5 Judith StClaire January 17, 2015 at 2:36 pm

    Thanks for your story and the reminder that life is fleeting. At six o’clock this morning, waiting for coffee water to boil, I read your story about love and loss of someone near and dear – of your own generation. That loss is hard to bear. At unexpected moments, I have quick one-sided chats with my sister who has been gone several years, now. Although she never answers, I know she hears. Sometimes I think I hear her laughter.

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne January 17, 2015 at 2:44 pm

      Judith, it’s lovely to hear from you and I know your sister hears you. Thank you for taking the time to read and leave a lovely comment. Love never leaves our hearts. x

      Like

  4. 7 D.G.Kaye January 13, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    What a heartwarming story Jane. And a lovely tribute to David. They say, when one door closes, another opens and your optimism shall bring you good things. Hope does float. ❤

    Like

  5. 10 Martin Shone January 11, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    As the eagle rests
    upon the warmth of life’s
    rising love
    she feels
    and so she smiles
    and so she lives
    enveloped

    HxxH

    Like

  6. 12 Marylin Warner January 9, 2015 at 5:10 am

    I love your resilience, Jane, your bounce-back abilities, and I also love how your family pulls together. To move back home and have your dad give you his attic space would make a great story or article. Enjoy this time with your parents and this change of pace, and a “sparkly” new year is a perfect expectation for you!

    Like

    • 13 Jane Thorne January 9, 2015 at 9:43 am

      Hello Marylin, it is always lovely to hear from you. You would love this attic space, it is so peaceful up here. I can feel many writing times a’ comin…. Muhc love and hugs for you all in Kansas and softest hugs for your lovely Mum. ❤ xX

      Like

  7. 14 Christy Birmingham January 8, 2015 at 8:07 pm

    May you grow even stronger from the tumble, Jane. I am thankful you have David and your gratitude here is wonderful xx I wish you only the best for the New Year!

    Like

  8. 16 Jill Weatherholt January 7, 2015 at 11:15 pm

    What a beautiful tribute to both David and his family, Jane. So glad to meet you through Elizabeth. Enjoy the time with your parents…I don’t know where I’d be without mine.

    Like

    • 17 Jane Thorne January 8, 2015 at 9:46 am

      Hello Jill and thank you for taking the time to read and leave a lovely comment. Bless Elizabeth for our new connection. This time with Mum and Dad is a gift and I look forward to following your blog. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  9. 18 Peter Wells aka Countingducks January 7, 2015 at 4:12 pm

    I loved your gentle recollections of your cousin. I know about setbacks, sadly, but I am very pleased your Mum and Dad are there to hold out a hand for you. I pray that 2015 brings you the blessings you so richly deserve 🙂

    Like

  10. 20 Aquileana January 7, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    Touching and Sad… And yet still hopeful, indeed…
    I agree with you: I am sure that David still listening as you make sense of everything and that his spirit remains alive…
    Holidays seasons is a time of joyful but many of us introspectively remember the ones who left us also by then. I think that Life is also about that: To remember, therefore to perpetuate us and the people we care about, mainly through our ethereal memories of the past and of those we will always love. This is also a way to celebrate life, I’d say.
    Thank you very for sharing Jane~. I am sending you hugs and wish you a great 2015. Aquileana ⭐

    Like

  11. 22 elenacaravela January 6, 2015 at 10:33 pm

    “Love (does indeed) float up” Beautiful, Jane.

    Like

  12. 24 Marko January 6, 2015 at 9:43 am

    Best wishes for a Happy New Year

    Like

  13. 26 Elizabeth Melton Parsons January 5, 2015 at 12:14 pm

    Lovely post, Jane. I think the loved ones we’ve lost are always still with us. Living in Africa had to be a wonderful experience. I’ve often thought of visiting. I’m sorry your life tumbled down again, but I have to confess to being a little envious of you. I’d give a lot to be able to spend time with my parents again. Have a beautiful day, Jane, and cherish the time spent with your mom and dad. 🙂 ❤

    Like

    • 27 Jane Thorne January 5, 2015 at 3:54 pm

      Bless you Elizabeth, I knew you would understand. Mum and I bobbed out shopping this morning and stopped for a coffee together. She shared some wonderful memories of times she had with her Granny (my Great Granny)…magic moments and I will treasure them always. There’s laughter in this house and much nurture. Love floats up everytime. ❤ for you and all your loved ones with hugs xXx

      Liked by 1 person

  14. 28 ianscyberspace January 5, 2015 at 1:48 am

    How interesting, you lived in Africa for a while? Travel gives a person a much wider perspective than those who stay in one location for their whole lives. You were most fortunate to have that experience. Wishing you the very best as you deal with year 2015.

    Like

    • 29 Jane Thorne January 5, 2015 at 10:42 am

      Hello Ian and yes, there are many gifts from travelling.. We were in Zimbabwe (Rhodesia then) for five years from 1972 to 1977. Then my family came back here and I went to South Africa, with the man who beccame my first husband, for four years. I also had a stint in the States in the mid eighties. Now I am exploring the UK. This is my first proper stint at living ‘Up North’, as it is called, and new roots are going down. You have also had the experiences from living and working abroad in many places and I love the stories you write on your blog. I always learn something new from you and you are a natural story teller. x

      Like

  15. 32 tornadoday January 4, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    What I know…………I am the accumulation of all who have loved me, and all I have loved. Love never ever dies………… Where you are, there David shines! ❤

    Like

  16. 34 1smiles January 4, 2015 at 6:52 pm

    Loving hugs coming to help heal your tumble.
    It’s merely a change of direction in the process of forming. You have a soft cushion to lay on while things fall into place. Soak up those Mom and Dad blessings.
    Love and blessings to you!
    Jeannie xxxxxxxoxx

    Like

    • 35 Jane Thorne January 5, 2015 at 10:31 am

      Jeannie, a soft cushion, how beautifully put. Love flowing from me to you for your new chapter. Holding hands together my lovely friend, as we always do.Xxxxxxxxxx

      Liked by 1 person

  17. 36 journeyintopoetry January 4, 2015 at 1:52 pm

    What a lovely story Jane; true love never dies. And how great you are connected, not only with David but also with his lovely family.

    Im sorry to hear your living plans didnt work out but pleased you have somewhere safe and loving for now.

    Sparkly New Year greetings to you too my precious friend.

    Love and hugs ❤️ Xxxx

    Like

  18. 42 Maria F. January 4, 2015 at 1:35 pm

    Beautiful thoughts.

    Like

  19. 44 Al January 4, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    A bittersweet story, well told. Happy New Year to you, Jane.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

