Love floats up on the wings of hope and cake….

dewdrop-429402_1280

As I settle into Mum and Dad’s loving harbour, there are magic moments weaving through and the start of strong roots going into a foundation. Emily commented the other day ‘Granny and Grandad simply flow love to everyone Mum’.

Last night I pottered out to my second line dancing class, held in the local social club, and as I walked in I was enveloped in ‘Hellos’, hugs and warmth, as if I had always been part of the group. The art of engaging my brain in direct communication with my feet is not an easy one and I firmly sit down to watch the more complicated numbers. There was a magic moment as I looked out across the hall and all the dancers were in line and singing in unison. They are mainly in their later years of life and as I looked across their smiling faces all I could see was happiness and youth, liberally sprinkled with sparkly tops and skirts. There is much comraderie and support flowing in the group and no matter how tired you are, it’s worth the effort of getting there. There is also laughter and one moment was priceless. I had bobbed into the bar area to get a soft drink before we started and I came back to comment to one of my newfound friends ‘Gosh, the bar is packed tonight’ and she replied, with a completely straight face, ‘Oh yes Jane, the dominoes team are playing at home tonight.’ All of life is here. Another magic moment was at the end as we were all spilling out into the car park. There had been a petite lady who had waved to me throughout the evening from across the hall and we stood side by side under the porch. She snuggled in and looked up at me as I put my arm around her and she said ‘It’s so good to see you up and trying different dances so quickly.’ I replied ‘You are all so kind that it doesn’t matter if I make a mistake, which I do often!’ She replied ‘Well, I’m new too.’ ‘Oh’ I said,’how long have you been coming?’, ‘Only three years.’ she replied. I kissed her cheek.

DSC_0273

This weekend my lovely friends Laura and Nikita came to visit from the Cotswolds and it was a gift to have some proper time together. We had plans to trip about and explore the local places of interest, which we did and I know that you can all feel the spirit of adventure filling our car as we ventured forth. Everywhere we went was closed and it became a running joke. Everytime we returned home to one of Mum’s lovely meals she would ask how we got on and we’d laugh. It mattered not a jot and we kept going from place to place and even managed to find a cafe that sold yummy cake, which was open ‘Yay!’. On Sunday we explored a beautiful little village that still has cobbled streets. The Sunday morning church service was just finishing and we went inside to a place filled with warmth, love and light.

DSC_0286

In the village there is a book exchange in a restored old telephone box with loving notes dotted about. ‘If you really like a book, please feel free to keep it.’ ‘If you are returning a book you have loved, then please leave a Post It note on it, so that others can share the joy’.

We also found little signs outside cottages offering fresh eggs and homemade jams and marmalade.

DSC_0293

Mum and Dad’s table has a vase full of pink flowers from Laura and Nikita. Pink for love.

There is also another magic moment to be shared, when I found myself needing a ‘fix’ on my car. I trotted out looking for help and was guided to a garage up on an industrial estate. A young lad came out and had a look for me straight away, fixed it and waved me on my way refusing any payment. I popped back next day with some yummy cup cakes that Mum made for him, decorated with chocolate stars and sprinkles. A few days later my little car developed another fault and I telephoned and booked her in this time. It was the same young man who came out to have a look (amidst much ‘cake’ teasing from his colleagues) he fixed the new fault on the spot and again refused payment. I thanked him and he hugged me. I looked at him and saw the magic of an old soul who simply flows love.

I am not only living, but thriving as new plans are explored and magic threads are being woven into a loving foundation.

50 Responses to “Love floats up on the wings of hope and cake….”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton February 17, 2015 at 6:17 pm

    Your writing draws me in and warms me to my core, Jane, despite the weather here. XO ❤

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne February 17, 2015 at 7:47 pm

      Dear Diane, I am so touched by your kind words, they mean so much coming from someone who simply oozes love and talent, as you do. ❤ xXx

      Like

  2. 3 smzang February 15, 2015 at 8:12 pm

    Jane,

    You find so many ways to bring light into the life of all who read your work.
    What a joy this is…the acceptance, the perspective, the joie de vivre.

    My thanks for the smiles you share.

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    • 6 Jane Thorne February 15, 2015 at 8:53 am

      Hello, how lovely to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to visit my blog and to leave a kind comment. I love your music and look forward to reading your future posts. I hope you and your family have a great day. 🙂

      Like

  3. 7 writeshianwrite February 12, 2015 at 5:51 pm

    Looks like a fantastic adventure. Awesome post. 🙂

    Like

  4. 9 elenacaravela February 11, 2015 at 11:28 pm

    The way you speak of your family explains much. No wonder you are so generous and open. Seems like it’s genetic:)

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne February 13, 2015 at 1:05 pm

      I am so blessed to have their love wrapped around me Elena, for I am healing properly now and life is unfolding in a wonderful way. Many blessings. Xx

      Like

  5. 11 grahamwriter February 11, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    Hi Jane. Thanks for the comment. I just liked your facebook page.

    Like

  6. 13 Peter Wells aka Countingducks February 11, 2015 at 2:44 pm

    Your thoughts are always beautiful and gentle.

    Like

  7. 15 Jean February 11, 2015 at 2:41 pm

    The U.K. doesn’t even have to build fanciful free library boxes: your postal boxes are wonderful heritage gems!

    Like

  8. 21 IdealisticRebel February 10, 2015 at 9:16 pm

    May you have only good adventures. This is a very good post. Hugs, Barbara

    Like

  9. 25 ShimonZ February 6, 2015 at 1:45 pm

    a touching reflection

    Like

  10. 27 Maxi February 5, 2015 at 11:35 am

    Oh Jane, my heart is so filled with joy and love for you. I am thrilled that your life is coming alive with love and hope. May each day grow with sunshine and roses.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Liked by 1 person

  11. 29 Leny Owram February 5, 2015 at 2:44 am

    Lovely visit around your area..sounds like a fun time..felt as though.I was there!

    Like

  12. 31 ianscyberspace February 5, 2015 at 12:56 am

    You certainly have the capacity to enjoy life as it’s served up to you, and to communicate joy in the simple pleasures of life too. Loved the pictures.

    Like

  13. 33 tornadoday February 4, 2015 at 11:04 pm

    Love finds us always. ❤

    Like

  14. 35 Angela Hickman February 4, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    What a lovely post Jane—reading it was like watching one of those old afternoon programmes on TV set in the hazy sunshine of an English village. Gorgeous! Xxx

    Like

    • 36 Jane Thorne February 5, 2015 at 10:06 am

      Hello lovely Angela, I think you and I could happily live in a Miss Marple type village couldn’t we? What a lovely thought and it’s so good to hear fromy ou. Hugs ❤ xXx

      Like

  15. 37 WritesinPJ's February 4, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    Triple love this post! Gorgeous photos!

    Like

  16. 39 journeyintopoetry February 4, 2015 at 4:57 pm

    What a beautiful uplifting post Jane! You are a star, the way you write just leaves me wanting more and more. And that telephone box book exchange! How wonderful is that?! Lots of love and hugs xxx❤️Xxx

    Like

    • 40 Jane Thorne February 5, 2015 at 10:04 am

      Huge, soft hugs flowing back to you my funky teapot friend. I sense many discoveries to come from being here and I’ll love sharing them with you. ❤ xXx

      Like

  17. 41 Jill Weatherholt February 4, 2015 at 4:35 pm

    I love the book exchange in the brightly colored phone booth. What a great idea!
    Lovely post, Jane.

    Like

  18. 43 Peter Wells aka Countingducks February 4, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    I always love the way you address life. Line dancing eh. That would have been interesting for Mr Clodhopper !

    Like

  19. 45 Tracey Valentine February 4, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    Awww Jane, I’m sure everyone will agree, it’s like you took us all out on your adventures… and we all had a great time ;))) Magical and lovely post, thank you so much for this share. Lotsaluv.xxxxxx

    Like

  20. 47 Al February 4, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    P.S. One of the reasons I enjoy following my Brit friends is the quaint language that sometimes crops up. “I pottered out” is just such a perfect example! We’ve lost that wonderful touch here in the states.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. 49 Al February 4, 2015 at 3:43 pm

    This is a nice warm fuzzy post….made my morning, sis.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

