Memories to treasure….

ox-wagon-359825_1280

My special friend Bobbie, ‘Tornadoday’, has this as a part of her life philosophy ‘You cannot travel in the wagon facing backwards’. You paint beautiful pictures with your words Bobbie, and as you and I have shared, there will be times when the wheels can kick up dust even if we are facing frontwards.

Mark organised and led a walk in Lancashire on Saturday following a disused railway line. Twenty two of us set out from Preston railway station following the old railway path through the northern suburbs of the city out into the countryside. We were able to drop down onto the old embankment as we cleared the houses and it was touching to see that people have cared enough to plant bulbs and keep it free of brambles.

I walked alongside some lovely and interesting people as we shared life details and listened to Mark outlining the history of the railway. Some intrepid souls had travelled from as far as Suffolk to be with us. Needless to say there were moments filled with comraderie and laughter as fences, gates and stiles were negotiated.

Derek saying with a twinkle in his eye, as his leg was raised over a particularily difficult fence ‘I knew the thong was a mistake this morning’.

I watched helping hands, encouragement and love flow amoung them all.

There was a chuckle inducing moment when we came across a field full of chickens and I, thrilled to see them, called out without thinking. They streamed up the bank assuming I had food and my fellow walkers (thank goodness we were at the back at that stage) laughed as I stood there saying ‘Oh bollocks, what have I done!’ and ‘Sorry girls’ to the chickens.

A ‘dusty’ feeling in my wagon was that Mark would be focussed on the task in hand and seeing that the group were all safe and enjoying themselves and I would somehow be in the way. Old emotions from the past were surfacing in me and determined to face forwards I battened down the hatches and tried not to bother him. As we all poured into the pub for lunch he immediately made his way over to me smiling and saying ‘Are you alright? I’ve put my rucksack on a chair for you and what would you like to drink?’. There were a number of reassuring moments like this and they made all the difference to how I was feeling, without me having to say a word to him. Very near the end of the walk (did I mention it was about 8 miles long?) he looked across to me and said ‘Only another five minutes to go, are you alright?’. As we worked our way through the little town of Longridge to the old station house (which is lovely), Mark’s friends who were with me at the back again, said ‘You know it’s more like 15 minutes don’t you Jane?’…they were laughing…I mean really!!

Our muddy boots are side by side in the boot of Mark’s car ready for our next walk in North Wales, nestling alongside new memories I already treasure.

26 Responses to “Memories to treasure….”


  1. 1 Aquileana March 21, 2015 at 4:47 am

    What a beautiful post and I think that having people that care about us and love us unconditionally is the best gift ever… Very touching, dear Jane… All my best wishes! Aquileana ⭐

    Like

  2. 3 smzang March 20, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    Jane,

    It is such a joy to share these special moments with you. I can just picture the look on the faces of the chickens when they realized you were empty handed. It reminds me of egg gathering days when my sister would throw corn on the ground so the hens would be too busy to peck at me as I gathered the fruit of their loins.

    The camaraderie is palpable as I walk with your group through the town, and I felt the quiet appreciation at Mark’s attentiveness.

    Thank you for the pleasure of these shared adventures.

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne March 20, 2015 at 2:07 pm

      Sarah, you are so lovely, thank you. It is a blessing to have this connection with you. Much love and hugs flowing back to you and I hope you have a lovely weekend. Xxxx ❤

      Like

  3. 5 Eric Alagan March 19, 2015 at 11:57 pm

    What a lovely sharing, Jane. As I journeyed down the post with your words touching my heart – I felt a tad envious but also enormously happy for you. Family – you don’t have much of a choice. But, friends – you get to choose. Looks like your friends have good taste 🙂 I do too – buddy Jane 😉
    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne March 20, 2015 at 10:28 am

      You are a delight Eric, you always have been. A highly talented, warm, loving delight and a special buddy and it’s lovely to hear from you. ❤ xX

      Like

  4. 7 Maria F. March 18, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    I’m so glad you’re doing better Jane!

    Like

  5. 9 Peter Wells aka Countingducks March 18, 2015 at 11:21 am

    Firstly it is lovely to see you happy and so relaxed in your companionship. In years gone by I used to go to Longridge on a very regular basis, so this post brought back lots of memories. I too, I know, would have enjoyed that walk along the railway line and the sense of history and nature it would give me. 🙂

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne March 18, 2015 at 11:26 am

      Hello Ducky, I didn’t know you knew Lancashire? It is all new to me, so I am having a lovely time exploring. Hugs to you and thank you. ❤ xX

      Like

  6. 11 Christy Birmingham March 17, 2015 at 7:14 pm

    Good for you Jane for continuing to face forward! You are more than your past, sweetie ❤

    Like

  7. 13 1smiles March 17, 2015 at 7:19 am

    Jane,
    I am so proud of you. You recognized a piece of the past that tried to infringe on your present. You confronted it head on and overcame it. And the blessings flowed! Even the chickens came to celebrate!
    I love you….
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

  8. 15 ianscyberspace March 16, 2015 at 10:44 pm

    Wow, that is so cool! There is so much history to be seen in those walks. You really know how to enjoy life.

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne March 17, 2015 at 10:41 am

      Hello Ian, it is a new experience for me. My Dad is a precision engineer and has made model steam engines since he was 12 and still does, all sorts of gauges, so I have grown up with this sense of social history. Mark has written three books on steam, disused railways and tramways and wagon trails in parts of the UK. I am reading his books and learning so much. We are also having great fun planning where and what we can see next. Love to you all Down Under. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. 17 tornadoday March 16, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    I saw a quote over the weekend that made me think of you, dear Jane. Although the exact words escape me (as so many times they do), the jest is such – ‘How in the world can I begin the next chapter of my life if I keep insisting on rereading the last one?’ Wherever we are, it is a lovely path that brought us here. I’m thinking maybe they should put a bench here so that we can sit and visit while the evening shadows gather us round. ❤ I love you……….

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne March 16, 2015 at 9:59 pm

      We sit awhile as we share comforting food and dreams….I often share ‘our bench’ Bobbie and spend time with you in my heart… <3, I love you xXx

      Like

  10. 19 grandfathersky March 16, 2015 at 4:47 pm

    No matter how the mind tries, it is the heart that rules our lives. Feeling flow like rivers to the sea. Many blessings coming your way …

    Like

  11. 23 MARK JONES March 16, 2015 at 2:31 pm

    Hope you are having a good day. For some reason I have had no mobile connection all day; not sure why as everyone else’s phone seems ok. Will message when I get home if not before. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Like

  12. 25 journeyintopoetry March 16, 2015 at 2:09 pm

    Oh Jane this is so lovely. I was just about to email you to ask how the walk went and now I feel totally reassured that it went perfectly. And your beautiful writing as ever interwoven with experiences makes this piece a gem. Love and big hugs ❤️ Xxx

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

