Discoveries as the new weaves into the old…

River Weaver

The first day of my new venture started with me finding Dad and smiling at him:

‘Dad, I am on the cadge.’ I smiled.

‘Oh yes’ he replied, as he peered at me over the top of his newspaper.

More smiles….

‘I haven’t got any clothes to paint in, so have you got any of your soft cotton shirts that you don’t wear anymore?’

I took his puzzled look as a ‘go ahead’ signal.

Rootling around in his wardrobe I pulled out a faded white and blue checked little number with a frayed collar.

‘Can I have this one Dad?’

‘It’s my best one……..!’ He smiled over the top of his newspaper.

‘Great stuff, thanks it’s perfect.’

I kissed his forehead and sailed out of the front door complete with a lunch box (packed with goodies) and a flask that Mum had unearthed for me from their old picnic gear.

Jo and I have sorted out our arrangement on trust and we both pottered together this morning, each doing our own thing, in harmony. As Jo left for the day we shared a caring look that flowed with gratitude for the divine timing that has brought us together.

I have made a start on some pieces and I am very grateful to Tracey and Chris for their encouragement as I put together a new design this afternoon. xXx

The lovely scene above was my lunchtime spot. I walked down to the boats and shared my roll with the ducks and soaked in the peace.

On the way home, as I was coming up to the bridge, three ducks crossed the lanes of traffic in single file and we all stopped to let them pass. The last duck may have been a bit giddy with the sunshine, because she broke rank and started to weave through the traffic. Bless her. We all waited till she was safe. It’s a beautiful day here and as I pulled up at the traffic lights a young lad, who had been behind me in the ‘duck queue’, drew to a halt beside me. All our car windows were down and he shook his head at me. I interpreted his look to mean ‘You daft old bat…’. I smiled at him and spoke across the cars; ‘May you get the life experience that means it’s OK to stop for ducks.’ Then I smiled at him gently and drove away.

Many blessings and possibilities as I find my way with this, with a heart full of gratitude for all the footsteps that have brought me here.

39 Responses to “Discoveries as the new weaves into the old…”


  1. 1 smzang May 15, 2015 at 12:31 am

    Jane,

    I read this a couple of times and thought sure I had replied, but now I’m thinking I might have read it in my email and not here at the blog. If I have replied previously, please ignore me. : ) I absolutely love it…

    There is a rhythm to your life that is always there. You are like a gentle brook that winds along making everything better, more peaceful and ever so lovely.

    I sense it in the ease with which you connect with friends and family and the openness you have to every experience. I love that you paused for the duck.

    “May you get the life experience that means it’s OK to stop for ducks.”

    A blessing, a wonderful one!

    hugs,
    Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    • 2 Jane Thorne May 15, 2015 at 5:21 pm

      Oh Sarah, you are so very kind and thougthful. I have felt a little lost lately, with various massive swells going on underneath and it is the loving support and encouragement I receive that has kept me going. Where would I be without you all? My life is richer for knowing you. Hugs and much ❤ flowing to you. xXx

      Like

  2. 3 Marylin Warner April 27, 2015 at 4:38 pm

    Lovely post, Jane. Your interaction with your dad about painting shirts reminded me so much of how my dad and I used to banter before his Alzheimer’s, and you had me both laughing and choking on sniffles.
    If this is where you had your lunch–especially with the duck who was maybe giddy with sunshine–then I want to have lunch with you!
    Have a terrific week, dear Jane.

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne April 27, 2015 at 4:48 pm

      Hello Marylin, yes, Dad rescued me on Saturday with a project where I was trying to glue up a headboard I had created and it was not having it…Dad patoently plated and bolted it and now it’s up! I am learning new things by the second….and yes, that is where I have lunch, sitting down by the river with the ducks. Please come and have lunch with me, I woould love your company. ❤ Xx

      Like

  3. 5 elenacaravela April 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    I LOVE your response to the young man-brilliant, really. Work on with inspiration, Jane!:)

    Like

  4. 7 ShimonZ April 23, 2015 at 8:30 pm

    Very good thought on the stopping for ducks.

    Like

  5. 9 Maxi April 23, 2015 at 10:56 am

    “If we mind our manners all will be well,” one of the three. Just so wish this goes the best for you, Jane.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  6. 11 ianscyberspace April 23, 2015 at 5:08 am

    Now that is a special place to enjoy one’s lunch. Great photo too.

    Like

  7. 13 Al April 22, 2015 at 10:58 pm

    I feel for that poor soul who is heartless when it comes to ducks. Every animal is a gift to this earth in some way. You don’t have to love them, just respect them.

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne April 23, 2015 at 7:45 am

      It was so lovely to watch them flying over the river yesterday, sweeping round and then comin into land and pottering about. You live my the water Al, it’s a special place isn’t it? ❤ my Bro xXx

      Like

      • 15 Al April 23, 2015 at 9:29 pm

        Absolutely! We are privy to a show of Mallards, Canada Geese, Blue and White Herons, Cormorants and various and sundry fowl every day just by looking out the kitchen window. It’s marvelous.

        Like

        • 16 Jane Thorne April 25, 2015 at 7:39 am

          Oh I love what you have described…nature’s beauty out of your kitchen window., no wonder Patty is inspired to make such lovely things. Hugs and ❤ for you both my Bro. xX

          Like

  8. 17 grandfathersky April 22, 2015 at 10:37 pm

    In the words of the Marx Brothers: Why a duck, viaduct, – why no chicken? Sounds like a stellar opening day!

    Like

  9. 19 clarepooley33 April 22, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    What a lovely day you have had! Your lunch spot looks idyllic and I loved the duck story. ❤ xxx

    Like

  10. 26 bardessdmdenton April 22, 2015 at 9:40 pm

    Many many years ago, as I was coming home from work, a mama duck was trying to cross busy intersecting roads to get to a park and creek. Some nice folk helped us get them over … lovely read, Jane, and sending love and hugs! XO ❤

    Like

  11. 28 tornadoday April 22, 2015 at 9:26 pm

    One day as I was leaving the office, there was a huge traffic jam not far away. At the busy crosswalk of four lanes of traffic, four Canadian geese made their way without much regard for the size of the problem they’d created or the frustration expressed by some of the drivers. But in the end, nature won out, and it was a beautiful reason to stop, to smile, and to be thankful for the gifts that most never pause long enough to see.

    This morning, I was grateful there was no one behind me when I slowed to allow a turtle to cross the road. He seemed to sense my presence, as I’m almost sure he looked back with a wink when he reached the grass shoulder. We are blessed, my Jane………. Daft? I think not! 🙂

    Like

    • 29 Jane Thorne April 22, 2015 at 9:35 pm

      Oh Bobbie, you are so special. Yes, we are blessed to have these beautiful creatures sharing nature with us. It was peaceful by the river and I sat watching the ducks flying in and around the river and pottering about. Mum and I were out tonight and a beautiful (huge) white Husky puppy came up to say ‘Hello’, I could see his soul as I looked into his eyes. His name is Fredo. Animals hold an inate wisdom that we have to learn. <3, always xXx

      Like

  12. 30 1smiles April 22, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    Jane,
    What a beautiful place you have to ‘create’ in! I absolutely love to be near the water… it refreshes and inspires me. You lucky girl!
    Love and a million hugs coming to you,
    Jeannie xxxxxx<3

    Like

    • 31 Jane Thorne April 22, 2015 at 9:22 pm

      Hello Jeannie, I am so pleased about your new job…Yay for you. Hugs and much love flowing back across The Pond. ❤ Xxxx ❤

      Like

  13. 32 Peter Wells aka Countingducks April 22, 2015 at 6:29 pm

    Your Dad sounds lovely, and you know how much I appreciate kindness to ducks 🙂 quack quack

    Like

    • 33 Jane Thorne April 22, 2015 at 9:17 pm

      It’s all about love isn’t it Ducky? I sat watching the ducks pottering about on the river today and it felt good. 🙂 xXx

      Like

  14. 34 Jill Weatherholt April 22, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    What a beautiful spot for lunch, Jane. Wishing you the best! xo

    Like

  15. 38 journeyintopoetry April 22, 2015 at 5:56 pm

    Sometimes it takes a great many footsteps before we arrive where we are meant to be and you have certainly travelled your share of them to arrive here, all giving you a little more wisdom on the way even if one or two of the footsteps seemed at the time like backwards ones. ❤️

    You gave me a big smile with the duck story. And what a beautiful lunch spot!

    Love you my special friend xxx❤️Xxx

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

