Writing on the pages of life…..

Trial 2

This photo was lifted from a slide taken way back in the seventies. Blessed with parents that believe in adventures my sister, brother and I were gifted with some wonderful childhood years living in Africa. Dad was not in the photo as he was taking it, but you can see my Mum, Debs, Jon and I as we went on holiday to Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe. I love this picture, because it reminds me of my roots and our family spirit.

In the stream of life recently there have been two situations that have caused considerable undertow and I nearly went under. Each day has been a struggle to keep breathing, never mind moving forward. I dislike feeling vulnerable and as those closest to me know, I do not do blame, bitterness or recrimination, it’s not in my character. I may get flashes of anger, but I give them a nod and then let them go as swiftly as they come in.

Mind you, that is not always the case…..

I did find myself on one memorable morning recently faced with a man (a stranger) who was incandescent with rage, shouting at full pelt and not listening. I nearly put my thoughts into action, where he would have found himself losing contact with the ground as my hands lifted him up by his collar. I felt (irrationally) that a face to face moment may help his ears to open. Fortunately for both of us my Mum spotted the rare flash in my eyes and stepped between us to calm things down. It was a sobering moment though, as I realised that my customary staggering tolerance is not flowing at the moment.

Anyhoo, back to focus of this post….

With strong emotions rolling through me that feel like grief, I have learned a fair bit in the past few weeks.

There is never an ideal time to start a new business.

With a whole raft of former (so called) failures and ‘Do you remember when’s’ ringing in my ears (with some finding an echo in my heart) I choose not to let my past play a part in my ‘now’.

Each technical stumble is a learning moment.

There is healing in a peaceful work space.

Painting and creating is a meditation.

My instinct is there for a reason.

Love and support are welcome, worry is not.

Focus is key.

Chocolate and hot coffee have hidden powers.

My Mum’s homemade cake spreads joy to my neighbourly warehouse businesses.

Dad’s gift of a power tool hand sander is amazing.

The love and encouragement of family and friends, as I have shared each newly created piece at various stages, is priceless.

Every thought, word and action that springs from love has wings….

and I cannot sink when the light shines in through the stream.

37 Responses to “Writing on the pages of life…..”


  1. 1 Maxi June 28, 2015 at 1:32 pm

    Sometime we can’t walk away from the cruelty of others, Jane. The pain won’t let us. Luckily, your mum was there. Being the person you are, you will shake it off and use this energy toward your newest challenge.

    Your other advantage is perseverance. Don’t let anyone get you down, sweetness. You have such a loving heart, it will always get you by.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne June 29, 2015 at 12:58 pm

      Thank you Maxi. Your loving heart has provided safe shelter for your loved ones and I know just what that means. Much ❤ and soft hugs flowing to you Maxi. ❤ xXx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 D.G.Kaye May 27, 2015 at 2:50 am

    Love your inspirational thoughts Jane. Failure is but another reason to pick ourselves up, challenge ourselves and plough on. ❤

    Like

  3. 6 Aquileana May 25, 2015 at 11:59 pm

    The photograph is so special… So many things behind it, right?

    I think that your post is deep and truly well penned…

    I much enjoyed these mottos, (so as to call them):

    ~My instinct is there for a reason.

    ~Love and support are welcome, worry is not.

    ~Focus is key.

    Very inspirational, dear Jane. Thanks for sharing and all my best wishes to you. Aquileana ⭐

    Like

  4. 8 elenacaravela May 25, 2015 at 12:26 pm

    There is nothing in the world better than the support of your loved ones. So while business opportunities are not what what they could/should be, you seem to be wealthy in many other ways. And no, your support won’t pay the bills, but it will keep you afloat until the business opps fall into place. They will, one way or another. But you knew that:) Hoping for better times very soon.

    Like

    • 9 Jane Thorne May 25, 2015 at 5:35 pm

      Yes Elena, loving support is a priceless treasure and I am blessed. I will keep driving forwards on the business, which needs nurture and care, and all will thrive. Thank you for being there. Hugs flowing back to you xX ❤

      Like

  5. 10 smzang May 25, 2015 at 2:10 am

    Jane,

    I feel an ache in my heart that you were hurting, but I recall God never gives us a greater burden than we are capable of handling. It is a joy to see that circumstances have not wilted your bloom. Never forget how special you are
    and how much difference you make in the lives of those who are blessed to call you friend.

    I have had many days when my mantra has been, ‘no matter how bad it hurts right now, tomorrow it will be different.’ The moment will have passed
    and having done it’s best to wreak havoc, we stand. You stand tall my friend. You are a shining light.

    I love the picture, the accompanying piece, and the spirit that will not give up.

    You are aces!

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • 11 Jane Thorne May 25, 2015 at 8:00 am

      Oh Sarah how lovely you are and how welcome your support from across the miles, for what is physical distance when hearts connect? A lovely friend of mine reminded me of one of my favourite sayings recently…there is a lot of ‘pants over tights and cape flicking’ going on and a few ‘oh bollocks’ moments too. A healthy balance I feel! We truck on don’t we Sarah, because that is what we do ‘us girls’…huge hugs flowing to you with much ❤ xXx

      Like

  6. 12 tornadoday May 23, 2015 at 8:20 pm

    I love this image……and that of a girl in the back, yet to become an amazing woman. She knew even then she was loved. She knows now……..for she is reminded in the sweetness of her joys and in the soft cushy space of her dreams! ❤ Always, just know. xoxox

    Like

  7. 14 clarepooley33 May 23, 2015 at 2:10 am

    Dear Jane, I am so sorry to hear you have had such troubles especially as a few weeks ago things were going so well for you. But that is life isn’t it? So unpredictable that we have to be ready for anything. I hope God gives you the strength to weather this storm. My thoughts and prayers are with you. xx<3

    Like

  8. 18 1smiles May 21, 2015 at 11:51 am

    My darling Jane,
    As I read your post, my heart ached to know that you’ve been struggling. I hurried to ‘like’ and then post a comment here. When I arrived to do so, I found here the most beautiful and loving messages from your support circle.
    Jane, during those most difficult moments we face, there are many who are standing there with us. Holding our hand, offering a tissue, or a chocolate. Most of all they cover us in their unyielding love and friendship.
    As you continue to pass through these shadows of grief, feel us all there walking with you. You are greatly loved!

    Much love to you,
    Jeannie XXXXX and a hug too!

    Like

    • 19 Jane Thorne May 21, 2015 at 3:33 pm

      You have always walked beside me Jeannie and my journey has been all the richer for it. Thank you so very much for your loving friendship, it is priceless. I am flowing love and hugs back to you across The Pond. ❤ Xxx always

      Like

  9. 20 Peter Wells aka Countingducks May 20, 2015 at 3:40 pm

    ” Love and support are welcome, worry is not.” I love that line. As well as being generally tolerant of others you are gutsy, and always get back on the horse for another tilt at life, and that is a quality that shines through your beautifully gentle prose. You deserve both happiness and fulfilment

    Like

  10. 22 Wendell A. Brown May 20, 2015 at 1:56 pm

    Jane as I read your post, I am reminded of the many endeavors which I tried, some successful some failures, quite a few in all. But when I look back on them they each were a learning experience, everything I went through brought me to this point, and also showed me i have that power to try and succeed at what I attempt to do. I feel you, and yet the best thing about our lives now is you do things for yourself and answer only to yourself, you made me think of Col Sanders at KFC, he had so many failures and some small successes and yet did not real start his food chain until in his 40’s and never stopped trying new things, he lived a long time because he always treated people well, like he would himself, he believed God was with him, never doubting, and he just kept on moving. Do not stop what you do, and always keep moving, take time to smell the roses along the way, you are already successful, and it shows in all you share…the lovely selfless side! You inspire me always, know that, and you keep getting better like a vintage wine that gets better with time. You touched many lives and will continue, you have touched mine, and so happy to have you as a sister and friend! Keep believing! We will always be connected to many…for we are all humans brothers and sisters created by a loving God. Keep sharing that love in all you do and you can never go wrong.

    Like

    • 23 Jane Thorne May 20, 2015 at 6:25 pm

      Wendell, God bless you for taking the loving time to leave such a special message. Your character and soul shines through your words. The labels of success or failure are simply just labels aren’t they? The journey is in the moving forward with an open heart. Experience like gossamer layers building as we go. You are a treasure my Brother and I am blessed to share our connection. ❤ x

      Like

  11. 24 journeyintopoetry May 20, 2015 at 9:40 am

    Lovely Jane, keep letting the light shine in through even the tiniest crack as I try to do and we can also borrow each other’s light, which I think we already do. I love you lots and lots xxx❤️❤️❤️Xxx

    Like

    • 25 Jane Thorne May 20, 2015 at 11:38 am

      Chris, my lovely friend, you shine a special light every single day and your friendship is a priceless gift. May we always laugh and share together. ❤ xXx

      Like

  12. 26 Jill Weatherholt May 20, 2015 at 9:08 am

    Where would we be without family and friends? Praying for you Jane. Thank you for sharing this beautiful photograph. xo

    Like

  13. 30 ianscyberspace May 20, 2015 at 2:17 am

    So you are a believer in chocolate therapy too. lol That picture would carry many happy memories.

    Like

  14. 32 Marylin Warner May 20, 2015 at 12:10 am

    Oh, dear Jane, keep up with your medications of choice (chocolate and hot chocolate), be grateful for your hopeful focus, cherish all your teachable moments, and be very mindful of deep, calm breathing.
    After I had some severe health scares last summer, a very wise physician’s assistant who’d been through the same scares spent an extra hour teaching me not to hold my breath to face fears, but to meet the fears head on with calm, focused, breathe-in through the nose, hold and mentally count to five, and then release through the nose (called a warming breath).

    It made so much difference, Jane, and then several months later I began basic yoga with emphasis on breathing, which has kept me from “going under” more times than I can count. I’ll be thinking of you, Jane, and holding you in heart wishes.

    Like

    • 33 Jane Thorne May 20, 2015 at 8:04 am

      Thank you Marylin, I will email you and yes breathing in a mindful way is key (I had forgotten that!!). Thank you. ❤ Hugs flowing to you all in Colorado and your lovely Mum in Kansas. ❤ xXx

      Like

  15. 34 grandfathersky May 19, 2015 at 10:30 pm

    I recall watching a motorcycle fabricator who worked in a warehouse in Brooklyn, NY, not Orange County Choppers or anything like that, just a guy who loved building bikes. He spoke about how his days passed without fuss or bother, and how he could not see himself doing anything else. He was doing Zen without ever having learned a lesson in it. If your soul has expression in your says then you are doing well… Sending much love your way ! Be still and know that you are God …

    Like

  16. 36 ShimonZ May 19, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    This is a very moving post, and I send you my unknowing support and friendship, in certain trust that you have what it take inside, to overcome even the unexpected meanness and misery… that you will come through it all on the strength of your big heart.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

