No-one has told Bumble Bees that they cannot fly…..

Bumble Bee

I recently painted this little chap, at a client’s request, onto her re-vamped hall stand. Did you know that aerodynamically bees are not supposed to fly?

For the last week I have sat painting my designs onto furniture and looking out onto all the space available in the warehouse unit I share with Joanne. Ideas started to float up…..

I started to voice the ideas I am having about working with wood and making my own furniture pieces and goodness me, life kicked in. Sparkly energy started to flow and Dad’s voice was the first to make himself heard. He and Mum had already been talking together and wondering if I would be better off making everything myself. Mum put me in touch with a friend whose partner works for a bespoke kitchen company. He gifted me his time one evening and filled my head with all sorts of technical stuff and promised to come to the workshop and show me how to make the things I have started to design. His brother, who works for the same company, has also offered to come and help and their boss was happy to have a meeting with me. I spent a sleepless night thinking through all the things I could do and planning. I went to the meeting next morning with every intention of asking the kitchen company to spray my work, so I could get a professional finish. I was on the receiving end of kind smiles and a firm belief that I could do the whole thing myself. ‘After all’ they said ‘why pay us?’ These kind people spent time giving me all the technical information I needed on spray painting.

I am being gifted the kindness of strangers who I know will become friends. I have always believed that a rising tide raises all ships and the kind and supportive connections that are being made locally are magic. Blessings….

I made a list of all the equipment I would need and talked it through with Dad, who sat smiling and listening. ‘I have a few things on that list that you could have’ he said. Some serious bench top woodworking power tools are now stored down at my workshop ready for installation, along with some sturdy bench tops. Blessings….

I then had a message from an old friend who asked what I was up to lately. I told him and he immediately came back saying that he used to make Grandfather clocks, which he no longer does, and I was welcome to all his tools. His offer covered the rest of the power tools needed on my list. Blessings….

An old family friend came for lunch yesterday, listened to my plans and is gifting me the spray painting unit I need. Blessings….

Throughout all the planning David has been in touch and is supporting me so I can buy the paint and materials I need to get started. We may have been unable to sustain our relationship, but our loving friendship is a gift. Blessings….

Mum and Dad came back from a steam fair on Sunday and Mum held up a special purchase they had made….the perfect vintage item to finish my first project. Blessings….

Christine Moran, my dear friend, reminded me that I always say ‘Pants over tights and flick that cape…’ to others and it was time I said it for myself. Blessings….

All this equipment coming into the workshop is a far cry from my initial tentative plans on hand painting old furniture in a corner and I was braced for Joanne, my workshop sculptor buddy, to protest a tad. She isn’t and is simply flowing more space and supportive enthusiasm my way. We can share the tools, because they will help both of us to create. Blessings….

Life may have tumbled very hard indeed lately, but I may never have found this authentic voice inside if it had not. Loving support and kindness is the burnishing polish that flows through my days as the tumbles bring a new surface to the light. Blessings….

Many blessings and love.

36 Responses to “No-one has told Bumble Bees that they cannot fly…..”


  1. 1 Aquileana June 25, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    Jane dixit:

    💫”I am being gifted the kindness of strangers who I know will become friends”…

    💫”Loving support and kindness is the burnishing polish that flows through my days as the tumbles bring a new surface to the light”…

    Bees can fly high and they can create sweet things, such as honey… Nature is such a perfect thing!… And so is Love, porbably the force that moves it!… All my best wishes, dear Jane. Thanks for the beautiful post!. Aquileana ⭐

    Like

  2. 3 smzang May 31, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    Jane,

    Step by step you walk into the sunlight, and it trails after you
    wherever you go. You have turned counting your blessings into
    a piece of inspiration for all. That’s the thing about you, you always
    share the bounty of your blessings…this blog is a prime example.
    Everyone is better for their visit here.

    Your new workshop sounds awesome. wishing you much joy and
    success in all you do!!

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne May 31, 2015 at 5:00 pm

      Oh Sarah you are so lovely, thank you. Your support means more that I can say and every time you visit you sprinkle drops of happiness…. ❤ and hugs flowing to you. xXx

      Like

  3. 5 lorriebowden May 30, 2015 at 9:54 pm

    I just landed here, and I love the message of this post! First I am so happy for you to be fulfilling what sounds like a true passion. Second, it is proof that when we commit to an idea and it vibrates with authenticity, events, people, tools (hehe) show up just when we need them! Good luck to you. I hope that you will be posting photos of what you create. Many blessings to you!

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne May 31, 2015 at 4:54 pm

      Lorrie, how lovely to ‘meet’ and I appreciate you taking the time to visit and for leaving such a thoughtful and kind comment. Thank you. Hugs flowing back to you. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 7 journeyintopoetry May 28, 2015 at 10:08 am

    A beautiful post my lovely friend.

    Don’t allow anyone or anything to clip those beautiful wings because you are flying high!!

    Love you lots xxx❤️xxx❤️xxx

    Like

  5. 9 clarepooley33 May 28, 2015 at 12:48 am

    What blessings indeed Jane! I am so pleased for you and look forward to hearing more about your progress. With much love and hugs ❤ Clare xx

    Like

  6. 12 ShimonZ May 27, 2015 at 1:40 pm

    This was a wonderful post, and I’m sure you’re on a new wave and will be putting together some very interesting furniture. I hope you photograph some of the results so we can see them. It is so good when those next to us are willing to support our ideas and plans.

    Like

  7. 14 elenacaravela May 27, 2015 at 11:54 am

    Wonderful, Jane! I love your bee:)

    Like

  8. 16 Maxi May 27, 2015 at 11:39 am

    Your world has come alive from within, Jane. One door closed and another opened. You have already found new friends with your fresh opportunity; I pray you have lots of thrills and success. …flick that cape.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  9. 18 ianscyberspace May 27, 2015 at 12:22 am

    There is so much anger and turmoil in this world today and its a pleasant discovery when kindness is found in spite of the general downward trend of society. Kindness is a two way street isn’t it? When we are kind we often find kindness returned, and if not the act of kindness is reward enough as it makes us feel good inside.

    Like

  10. 20 familyrulesbyplainjane May 26, 2015 at 11:42 pm

    Wonderful how things are coming together!

    Like

  11. 22 Jill Weatherholt May 26, 2015 at 11:18 pm

    When we open our hearts, as you obviously do, the blessings are abundant. I see more blessings in your future, Jane. You deserve every one.
    I love the bumblebee “chap!” xoxo

    Like

  12. 25 Lily Lau May 26, 2015 at 11:00 pm

    So many blessings that I feel blessed too! Yay for you, Jane ❤

    Like

  13. 27 NGRYblog May 26, 2015 at 10:09 pm

    I’m so happy for you and I look forward to seeing your creations online. All the best to you. (:

    Like

  14. 29 tornadoday May 26, 2015 at 9:38 pm

    One of my favorite quotes – “There comes a time when you believe life is at an end. That will be the beginning.” Somehow it seems that only in falling do we realize we have the ability to fly! I love you, my little honeybee! ❤

    Like

  15. 31 Marylin Warner May 26, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    Jane, you certainly are “being gifted the kindness of strangers who will be friends.” Your openness and enthusiasm is a gift back to them, and I just know you’ll love the furniture you make yourself.
    I was very young when I saw a bumble bee popping around in the garden. My mom whispered that he didn’t know he shouldn’t be able to fly, and then she winked. “We won’t tell him,” she said. “We don’t want to discourage him.” 😉

    Like

    • 32 Jane Thorne May 26, 2015 at 9:00 pm

      You and your lovely Mum have inspired me more than you could know Marylin. Hugs and much love flowing to you all. ❤ xX

      Like

  16. 33 Frank May 26, 2015 at 7:59 pm

    Go go my sweet Jane!! For we both know this is for you the way to go😉 It is in your very nature to express yourself one way or the other. You managed in writing, counselling, painting…. So surprise us all with your amazing creations. Your old friend S.K.

    Like

    • 34 Jane Thorne May 26, 2015 at 8:21 pm

      You are always there my S.K., cheering me on. Thank you, ❤ and hugs, always xXx

      Like

      • 35 Frank May 27, 2015 at 12:39 pm

        Well… As said before, you have always been there yourself and being kind and caring towards others encourages them to be kind themselves. And this is one of the most simple and yet most fundamental ways of making a positive change…. And you are very very good at that🌹😘

        Like

        • 36 Jane Thorne May 27, 2015 at 6:34 pm

          My SK, we have been friends for a very long time now and there is nothing we have not discussed. Your kindness and support is a treasured gift for me. ❤ always

          Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

