Feeling a way forward……

Benches

Joanne and I had a natter this week and agreed that is was probably a good idea if I had all the internal walled-in space in our studio to create my new pieces in, especially if it involved wood dust. There will probably be a lot of wood dust! This arrangement has the hallmark of all our discussions and agreements and is woven with flexibility, so we can roll with the changes we both need as and when they happen. We had an arm around each other and were laughing as we nattered and Jo’s son kicked a football about us. Every time he scored a goal that came close to whizzing past us, I would put a hand out to deflect it (without looking at him) to spare his Mum getting clobbered. He is gifted with deft foot control that lad and neither of us woman want to dull his passion. He is also at that wonderful age where woman are an alien species and most certainly discuss ‘boring’ things at length. There was much laughter echoing around our studio warehouse that afternoon and loving banter.

Jo also kindly pointed out where all the spare and gifted wood was kept and said I could use anything that I might need. This turned out to be a great help.

I got stuck in and started to clear the space and plan where my various creative ‘stages’ would be set-up. Not as easy as it sounds because I have not the faintest idea how some of these stages will manifest. Anyhoo…..

Dad has gifted me two of his old bench tops and being a precision engineer they are beautifully made and will probably outlast all of us. I have had a few offers from kind souls (who know what they are doing) to come and make the frames and install these bench tops, so I made sure that the space was cleared around where I wanted them to go.

John (Grandfather Clock fame) popped in and gifted me a chop saw, more wood and other useful bits and pieces, which I am very grateful for as the chop saw came in very handy indeed.

Then my space fell quiet……the frame offers did not come to pass and I stood there pondering, Thermos flask cup of coffee in hand and my ‘thinking’ head on. ‘Well’ I thought to myself ‘if I am going to create wooden furniture then I must surely be able to make bench frames’.

For two days I ‘felt’ and logic’d my way forward and the top picture is the result. Each night I would return home filthy dirty and barely able to stay awake, but so driven to get the job done that I may well have had enough ‘light’ within to power the National Grid.

Graham, my DIY treasure trove shop man, and I had a hilarious conversation where I went in requesting brackets to secure my benches, because ‘wibbly wobbly’ work surfaces are not an option when using power saws at speed. I was a little unsure what I was looking for, so he kept showing me things and I was standing there shaking my head….till we solved it. He thought I meant to secure garden benches as I did not want them to be stolen. He had a light bulb moment when he realised I meant workshop benches and he congratulated me on being one of his most entertaining customers and then gave me exactly what I needed. He broke open a huge pack of washers and took out a dozen, because he is that kind of a guy and did not want to waste my money by selling me the whole pack. Bless him.

So now I have two fixed benches and I am clearing and setting up the rest of my creative area.

I sat quietly with Dad this morning and we talked through my first design and then Mum, Dad and I went out to look at wood options this afternoon, so we could plan exactly how I was going to make it.

Each time I feel fear that I am in way over my head, I pause, say ‘It’ll be OK’ in my head and inch forward, plus my attempts at describing technical things can cause grown men to laugh, which could be seen as spreading joy!

36 Responses to “Feeling a way forward……”


    • 2 Jane Thorne June 29, 2015 at 12:56 pm

      Who knows where the creative drive will take hey Elena? I love seeing what you are creating, your paintings are beautiful. ❤

      Like

  1. 3 smzang June 17, 2015 at 10:05 am

    Dear Jane,

    You do indeed spread joy!

    The benches are super…They look sturdy and ready to support your
    new venture. You are building a great foundation.

    Kudos to you.

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne June 20, 2015 at 8:35 am

      Hello Sarah and thank you for your gracious and loving support, always. Hugs flowing back to you with much ❤ xXx

      Like

  2. 5 Peter Wells aka Countingducks June 7, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    Apart from everything else, which is impressive enough on its own, I love the warmth and connection you have with your Mum and Dad. Wealth comes in many forms but that is a form of richness beyond measure as I know you understand

    Like

  3. 7 lorriebowden June 6, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    Yayy! Success! I just love your ability to press on and not let any negative thoughts stop you!! 🙂 Can’t wait to see the first creation from the work bench!! ♡

    Like

  4. 9 D.G.Kaye June 6, 2015 at 12:26 am

    Looking good Jane. The space is wonderful! I look forward to seeing how it comes along. xo 🙂

    Like

  5. 12 clarepooley33 June 2, 2015 at 12:31 am

    Oh Jane how clever and brave you are! Those benches look so good! Isn’t it difficult trying to buy something without the proper technical language? Hugs and love ❤ Clare Xx

    Like

  6. 17 Marylin Warner June 1, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    Jane, this post is superb on so many levels. I’m still smiling at the details, and the image of Joanne’s son kicking a football around the two of you as you “natter” (I just love the way you write!) Your woodworking skills are coming along beautifully, and I can see how you’ve become one of the most entertaining customers.
    Keep your thermos full of coffee, but know that you always have your “thinking head” on–and this post is proof!

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne June 1, 2015 at 9:27 pm

      Bless you and your loving support Marylin…my head is on top of a very battered body right now, but I’m still ploughing forwards… ❤ flowing to you with many hugs. xXx ❤

      Like

  7. 19 tornadoday June 1, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    I love those benches and the story of how they came to be. I am a true believer that fear can quickly become concrete if we stand still for too long! 🙂 xoxox Always, my love is with you, Jane.

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne June 1, 2015 at 9:25 pm

      Bobbie, you are prophetic…because your belief is true and I remembered it when something else happened today….always, my love is with you too ❤ xXx

      Like

  8. 21 Maxi June 1, 2015 at 11:03 am

    Your “project” is coming along just fine, Jane. Not to worry it will be wonderful when you’re finished. Big hugs.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  9. 23 ShimonZ June 1, 2015 at 8:50 am

    I am sure you could find a lot of examples and maybe even instructions on the building of work benches on the internet. Many have gone through the same process as you are learning today. It’s not so difficult. Wishing you continued success at work. It looks like you really have the right attitude.

    Like

  10. 25 ianscyberspace June 1, 2015 at 6:44 am

    You’ll find that useful. You are so clever!

    Like

  11. 27 familyrulesbyplainjane May 31, 2015 at 10:46 pm

    I imagine it is such a wonderful feeling each time you discover all you really can do!

    Like

  12. 29 Jill Weatherholt May 31, 2015 at 9:53 pm

    You’re never in over your head if you’re providing laughter and joy to those around you, Jane. Keep it up! xo

    Like

  13. 31 journeyintopoetry May 31, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    Wonderful, wonderful! And I absolutely love following this journey with you. One day we will be saying “do you remember those very early beginnings…?”!!

    You are storming ahead and I can’t wait to see your creations. If your benches are anything to go by your creations will be superb.

    I love you so much and need you to know you are inspirational.

    Xxx❤️xxx❤️xxX

    Like

  14. 35 Leny May 31, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    Entertaining grown men and making them laugh whilst picking their brains is a feminine trait…go forth and produce your masterpiece whilst they are still wondering what you are doing….more power to your saws!

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

