Rainbow colours……

Dad and I at the Railway

At lunch today Dad asked if I would like to come along with Mum and go to his model steam engine club’s ‘Track Day’. The first words out of my mouth were ‘My hair is filthy Dad, full of sawdust and paint, have you got time for me to have a quick shower?’ He nodded and I flew upstairs and was back down in ten, complete with wet hair, assuring them both that it would dry in the wind. It did!

Dad’s club track is in some old woods and as we drove up the climbing farm track to reach it we stepped back in time. The club’s track, workshop and clubhouse are nestled around old Oak and Horse Chestnut trees and beautiful lily filled ponds at the top of fields with sweeping views across the countryside. We all had a wonderful afternoon walking round, meeting and talking to club members, looking at beautiful model steam engines and locos, sharing mugs of tea (Bob ringing a bell to announce the urn was up to steam) as we all rode engines around the track. Picture a lot of beaming men playing with trains and you have a good idea of the happiness emanating out of those woods this afternoon.

The sun dappled through the leaves and I now have treasured heart memories of riding behind Dad as he drove us round on a loco and Mum took ‘action’ shots. It is years since we did this together and it brought back the steam sounding memories and the coal smells of my childhood.

Delicious cups of tea too, as only men in sheds can make….

Rainbow colours….Happy Father’s Day.

40 Responses to “Rainbow colours……”


  1. 1 The Presents of Presence July 29, 2015 at 8:44 pm

    Wow! It looked like so much fun. xoxo

    Like

  2. 3 Maxi June 28, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    Father and daughter riding the rails, my eyes are full. Pray that your days are full too, Jane … with hope.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne June 29, 2015 at 12:57 pm

      It was such a lovely time Maxi. We are hopefully doing it again this Sunday….such fun! Hugs and much ❤ flowing to you and I think you are very brave going for your other op. Wrapping you in love, ❤ and soft hugs Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 7 Elizabeth Melton Parsons June 27, 2015 at 1:09 am

    Such a delightful day out with Dad. Lovely post, Jane. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  4. 9 lorriebowden June 26, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    Ah! This is so heartwarming Jane! Wonderful post…the love emanates from the photo and your words 🙂 What a super neat train!! ♡

    Like

  5. 11 ShimonZ June 23, 2015 at 4:04 am

    Sounds like a lot of fun.

    Like

  6. 13 D.G.Kaye June 23, 2015 at 2:37 am

    Beautiful photos and words Jane. How blessed you are to still have your wonderful dad. xo

    Like

  7. 15 Marylin Warner June 22, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    My husband Jim enjoyed this post as much as I did, Jane. His maternal grandfather and uncles were conductors on two major lines carrying both cargo and passengers from Wyoming through New Mexico, and Jim’s dad gave him a full set of electric trains that filled the basement when he was growing up. His dad died years ago, so we both loved your picture and the account of your dad’s special Father’s Day outing. How special!

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne June 24, 2015 at 6:54 pm

      Hello Marylin, I love that this evoked memories for Jim, how lovely is that. It’s our heritage isn’t it and treasured? I have put the next ‘track day’ in my diary and mentioned to Dad that I am free to give him a lift 😉 Such fun! ❤ flowing to you all in Colorado and to your lovely Mum. Xx

      Like

  8. 17 tornadoday June 22, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    O, Jane, the sweetest of all memories are those written upon the heart by love. As I whispered stories to my dad yesterday, I held his hand and watched the light dance in his eyes. I left there so very grateful for the eternal gift of my father. I am glad we share an understanding of such treasure. I love you. ❤

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne June 24, 2015 at 6:52 pm

      Yes, Bobbie, we do share an understanding that encompasses many things I feel, which is a blessing. ❤ always for you my lovely friend. xX

      Like

  9. 19 journeyintopoetry June 22, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    Oh what a gorgeous post! And what a fab experience for you. I want a go!!! ❤️ Xxxxx

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne June 22, 2015 at 4:23 pm

      You’d have loved it Chris and it was all the better for being unplanned….everything else fell away for a few hours and we all had fun…such fun. Hugs and so much ❤ flowing to you. Xxx ❤

      Like

  10. 21 Al June 22, 2015 at 12:43 pm

    Wow, that looks like fun. Pretty neat dad, too.

    Like

  11. 23 grandfathersky June 22, 2015 at 12:05 pm

    Where we live now there are often train whistles in the distance, there is a certain Walden-esque feeling to it, there is a romance to trains and rails. Perhaps it harkens back to the old straight track, to when ley lines had meaning and purpose … So glad you had a wonderful day.

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne June 22, 2015 at 4:22 pm

      Hello Pete, I forgot about everything else for a while, we all had such a lovely time. The next track day is in my diary, as the members asked if Mum and I would go back again. I think we shall take some homemade cake next time. Hugs and ❤ flowing to you. I hope you had a lovely Father's Day…I loved your picture. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  12. 25 clarepooley33 June 22, 2015 at 12:03 pm

    Jane, this is lovely! Written from the heart with love and enthusiasm. I am with you there in the woods surrounded by lily ponds, beautiful trees and all those happy men and their steam engines. That tarry smell of steam engines I know so well! I’m so glad you went with your Mum and Dad for their day out.

    Like

    • 26 Jane Thorne June 22, 2015 at 4:20 pm

      Oh Clare thank you, I knew you would appreciate this. For a few hours everything else fell away. Bliss. I hope you have had a lovely weekend too? Hugs Xx ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • 27 clarepooley33 June 22, 2015 at 11:08 pm

        Thank-you Jane; yes we had a very pleasant weekend. I managed to do quite a lot of gardening so my legs and back are complaining today! Hugs xx ❤

        Like

        • 28 Jane Thorne June 24, 2015 at 6:55 pm

          Ohh Clare I actually envy you, as I miss my gardening….those days will come back.Hugs and ❤ flowing to you and I hope your aches have eased.. Xx

          Liked by 1 person

          • 29 clarepooley33 June 24, 2015 at 11:40 pm

            I hope you get a garden soon. I know how calming gardening can be. I haven’t been able to do as much as I used to before Dad died and this year has been even worse with all the driving. But I am enjoying trying to catch up out there! Hugs and love to you C xx

            Like

          • 30 Jane Thorne June 25, 2015 at 9:37 am

            Oh Clare, how life tumbles and yes, nature is so soothing. I am so sorry to hear that your Dad has passed away. I am looking to move into a different workshop because it has windows and they look out onto the trees flanking the river. I can’t see the river from there, but I will be able to see the birds and the leaves and the weather. It’s all on the ground floor…whoop de do…Mother nature gives us joyful moments doesn’t she? Hugs and much ❤ flowing to you. Xx

            Liked by 1 person

          • 31 clarepooley33 June 25, 2015 at 7:52 pm

            Your new workshop sounds wonderful! I hope you settle in there well.
            Dad died five years ago from lung cancer. He wasn’t ill for long and didn’t suffer too much and was still working three months before he died. He drove everywhere and he and Mum had favourite places they visited and bought food from farm shops. The church they went to is some miles from their house. I have had to carry on taking Mum to all these places as I don’t want her to have to stop doing what she likes. It does mean a lot of driving and takes some time especially as I live twenty minutes drive from her. Love Clare ❤ xx

            Liked by 1 person

          • 32 Jane Thorne June 25, 2015 at 9:03 pm

            You are lovely Clare and I am sure your Mum appreciates your thoughtfulness. Hugs and much ❤ xXx

            Liked by 1 person

          • 33 clarepooley33 June 25, 2015 at 9:13 pm

            Thank-you Jane! Yes she does – she’s lovely! I’d hate it if she could no longer do the things she wanted just because she is elderly and has no transport of her own. xx

            Like

          • 34 Jane Thorne June 26, 2015 at 6:47 am

            Yes Clare, it is when life narrows that we feel trapped…how lovely that she has you and that you have this time with her. Xx ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  13. 35 Peter Wells aka Countingducks June 22, 2015 at 10:15 am

    That’s about the loveliest father’s day post I’ve read.

    Like

  14. 37 ianscyberspace June 22, 2015 at 2:44 am

    That looks like so much fun!

    Like

  15. 39 Jill Weatherholt June 21, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    It sounds like the perfect way to spend Father’s Day, Jane.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

