I’d rather have an ‘Oops…’ than a ‘What if?…’…

River sunset

I took a few days out this week and disappeared to Wales and it was bliss. I stayed at a friend’s haven in the middle of nowhere alongside a babbling river with only the sounds of nature for company. I took this picture at sunset one evening, as the clouds turned to gold and the swallows filled the sky. It is rare to feel that kind of peace amidst our noisy days.

It was four months ago that I started off by sharing Joanne’s space and painting some old bits of furniture that I had collected. Now here we are in our own workshop, with windows looking out over the trees by the River Weaver, making plans and tackling all sorts of things. Little did Jim and I realise at the start that our respective businesses would dovetail as naturally as they do, along with our thinking and ideas. There have been some wonderful ‘Oops…’ moments along the way and much hard graft interspersed with laughter. Although everyone in my circle has been asked to stop me ever trying to make roman blinds again. I think that was a moment where my ‘nesting’ instinct, coupled with my eternal optimism, went a step too far when I insisted on making blinds for the workshop windows! It has taken four weeks and a few incarnations, and we now have blinds at each window that are rolled up by hand and tied with ribbons….marvelous! There was also a telling moment a few weeks ago when Jim called to say that he had found a vintage metal desk, so we made plans to bring it over to the yard and I started work on ‘Mickey’ as we very quickly nicknamed him. Less than twenty four hours later I was on the phone to Jim gasping for help. I think the conversation went along these lines:

Me: ‘I have no blood left in my arms and my whole body is vibrating.’
Jim: ‘What have you been doing?’
Me: ‘Have you ever used a metal sander?’
Jim: ‘No.’
Me: ‘Fancy trying one out?’

He arrived the next day as eternal optimism had blinded me (yet again) and I was looking at a project way beyond my capabilities and physical strength. We spent a few days working together and ‘Mickey’ is now match fit and ready for sale.

Mickey 6

I arrived back at the workshop from Wales this week and had a catch-up cuppa and natter with Ray, our special yard manager, while we shared pieces of my Dad’s 85th birthday cake. Ray, Jim and I are in complete accord on our gratitude for the caring connections that weave together on the yard.

Bless John and Chris (our old yard neighbours who restore cars) for sharing their space and expertise as we beavered away to restore ‘Mickey’. Mike and Gazza, who mend motorbikes on the yard, have put us in touch with a chap who does sand blasting. I have a feeling that this connection will be fruitful as Jim and I are faced with some very ‘poorly’ projects that need this kind of start to their restoration. Anthea, who runs a beauty salon on the front of the yard, often brings me across to her space so she can restore my hands to a pretty state and refuses to take a penny for her loving care. She has gifted me a box of disposable gloves and I cannot understand why! Jimmy, our friendly yard builder, who has put a lovely new sink and worktop into the workshop (see, nesting again!) and sorted a dodgy window out. He kindly bobbed down the road last week and mended Mum and Dad’s roof, because access was a devil and Mum did not need the heart failure of Dad even attempting to get the job done himself. Lee, who does car repairs and MOT’s, for rescuing me when I got locked in the other evening. Mum very quickly baked him a cake! Last, but by no means least, Ray, flowing care to us all on the yard, who pops in daily with suggestions, things he has made and diagrams of ideas. Things would never have evolved this well without his loving care and support. Also, ‘Mickey’ is currently tucked into Ray’s office on the yard, because we could not fit him in through our door.

There was a lighting problem in the loos on the yard and I emerged the other day to find Ray, John and Lee standing just outside the loo door. My face must have been a picture….John, never one to miss a bantering opportunity, said ‘We were listening to you Jane!’. I burst out laughing and suggested that they all surely had urgent work to attend to elsewhere….

Every business starts with an idea or two, but it is people that make it happen. ‘Oops..’ moments occur, laughter is never far away, banter is ever present, help is plentiful. Our yard has loving support and that is a blessing in which we all thrive.

River

27 Responses to “I’d rather have an ‘Oops…’ than a ‘What if?…’…”


  1. 1 Maxi September 5, 2015 at 11:54 am

    You go girl, up and at ’em. You so have my admiration when you fill that desire within, throw on your cape and go for it. I’m pullin’ for ya, Jane.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 Peter Wells aka Countingducks August 17, 2015 at 10:27 am

    I love this post, and especially the title which says so much about which is special in my opinion 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 5 clarepooley33 August 16, 2015 at 10:51 pm

    What a wonderful place your yard is! Full of creative and helpful people – a real community. Happy birthday to your Dad, Jane! 85 and still going strong. Your photos are lovely! I am so pleased you had a little time to un-wind in such an idyllic place. Love and hugs to you my dear! xx

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne August 17, 2015 at 6:45 am

      Hello Clare and it is lovely to hear from you. I will catch up with your news and in the meantime, hugs and much love flowing to you. I hope you have enjoyed your time away this month? ❤ Xx

      Like

    • 7 Jane Thorne August 17, 2015 at 6:45 am

      Hello Clare and it is lovely to hear from you. I will catch up with your news and in the meantime, hugs and much love flowing to you. I hope you have enjoyed your time away this month? ❤ Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • 8 clarepooley33 August 17, 2015 at 8:51 pm

        Thank-you Jane. We had a lovely holiday in the Lake District last month and we were looking forward to a holiday in the Peak District this week but unfortunately my poor mother-in-law died on Thursday – the day we got here. I was so glad we were in the area to help my brother-in-law and his partner make all the arrangements. Mum-in-law lived in Manchester and one of the reasons we always had holidays in the Peak was because we could visit her easily. She had been very ill but was brave and stoical. She was becoming fed up with her life as she couldn’t hear or see properly and couldn’t walk any more. She is free and out of pain now which we are all pleased about but we do miss her. She was a real character. We have been having short trips out and taking a few short walks but it’s difficult to relax as you can imagine. Thanks for your comforting hugs and love – they are really appreciated xx ❤

        Like

  4. 12 Francina August 16, 2015 at 10:25 am

    great post, oops are much better than what if’s indeed, dear Jane ❤ xxx

    Like

  5. 14 ShimonZ August 16, 2015 at 10:05 am

    So wonderful those days of bliss between all the hard work.

    Like

  6. 16 journeyintopoetry August 16, 2015 at 9:15 am

    Wonderful! and I feel privileged to be following this particular journey with you closely. As I have said before, your writing is so beautifully comfortable to read and you keep me with you all the way. Love you my precious friend. Xxx❤️

    PS Please write your book so I can curl up with it. 😄❤️

    Like

    • 17 Jane Thorne August 17, 2015 at 6:42 am

      My treasured buddy, you have prompted me to think about when I will get this written, thank you. Your friendship is a special song that weaves through my days. I love you. ❤ xXx ❤

      Like

  7. 18 ianscyberspace August 16, 2015 at 2:41 am

    Sounds like an ideal environment to work in and your associates there sound like fun people. Love the reflections in the stream too.

    Like

    • 19 Jane Thorne August 17, 2015 at 6:41 am

      Hello Ian and thank you. The peace in Wales and the work on ‘Mickey’ were at opposite ends on life’s spectrum! It’s lovely to hear from you. Hugs x

      Liked by 1 person

  8. 20 Marylin Warner August 16, 2015 at 1:14 am

    Jane, you are a breath of fresh air. I love your adventures and your attitude, so you title grabbed me attention immediately. The metal desk picture and the peaceful, lovely Wales picture are perfect bookends for you, Jane. Keep up the amazing work!

    Like

  9. 22 Al August 15, 2015 at 9:39 pm

    That looks like a world class desk. Nice job. Enjoyed the post.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 24 Jill Weatherholt August 15, 2015 at 8:33 pm

    I’m so happy for you, Jane. When you’ve got support from family and friends, you can do anything! Beautiful photo of the river. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  11. 26 1smiles August 15, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    So very proud of you! You sound so happy. And it is well deserved.
    Much love and many blessing to you from way over here,
    Jeannie xxxxxxx

    Like

    • 27 Jane Thorne August 15, 2015 at 4:41 pm

      You are so lovely and supportive Jeannie, thank you. Time for a catch-up between ‘us girls’ isn’t it? Hugs and I love you ❤ xXxXx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

