Holding my heart open for life’s new notes……

Library3Liverpool Central Library Atrium

Each day I sit at my desk to write, work, paint and go about my business in front off a sash Victorian window at home. The sounds of life at the seaside drift in and I watch the seagulls wheeling on the thermals outside. As my ‘life boat’ sails forward I am grateful for this peaceful space and my sails of loving trust, hope and opportunity.

There was a talk being held at the Central Library in Liverpool the other evening and I went along with one of my housemates. Liverpool is new to me and what a delight it is to start to explore this wonderful city. There is so much going on there and so much to see. It was a magic evening and we parked outside on the cobbled street, right in the city centre, which surprised me for a start. Then the building itself is an amazing place. I will share some photos I took, because from the moment we walked into the atrium, to the roof terrace upstairs, I was blown away and not capable of more than a ‘WOW’ as we came to each new part. I had to be dragged off the roof terrace as I stood there watching Liverpool at twilight, as our talk was due to start. Liverpool is an inspiring city with so many opportunities waiting to be discovered. The talk was good too and it did us both a world of good to be around like minded people for a few hours.

DSC_0072The beautiful building that houses Liverpool’s Central Library

DSC_0075The old reading room

Library2Liverpool at twilight

More blessings flow in with the loving care of my friends and family. My Mum and I have always been buddies and the natural flow of our communications and those with my friends are a joy. The ‘How are you getting on with that?’, ‘What happened with so and so?’ and ‘You’ll never guess where I’ve just been, or what I’ve just seen’ and the laughter that flows with the ‘Really? You’re kidding me on’ ones and the ‘Brace yourself….’ openers that never fail to delight. Loving friendships are deep, rich and add precious notes to the days as we share all sorts back and forth.

This last weekend was busy on the service as the commercial ‘love’ train notched up the pressure around Valentine’s Day. I probably got a bit weary and was coughing yesterday as I worked. My landlord and friend heard me struggling and brought a cafetiere full of a wonderful concoction to my door, with my favourite flowery mug from Mum and Dad. It was full of hot water laced with fresh honey. ginger, garlic, lemon and care. I was so grateful. We have all settled down very well in our new home and care and thought weave through our days. Our landlord has set up a cinema type system in our front room and it’s a haven to sit in there and watch a film. I was tucked up knitting and engrossed last night, when his head came round the door as he had heard my laughter. My happy face communicated that his efforts were much appreciated. We all feel that this house is keeping the fresh salad bar at Morrisons, our local grocery store, busy and when we are all at home we share food and sit nattering around the table. Pancake night was a vertiable feast. Bliss and many blessings.

Visiting our local craft shop recently I made some friends and today my new art supplies have been delivered. I am branching out with a different creative expression from my ‘norm’ and looking forward to seeing what flows from this.

I have also made contact with a local animal sanctuary that cares for donkeys, horses and dogs and I will be visiting them for the first time this weekend. I have offered to help them out when I can and as these new opportunities are coming in, I was not sure how much time I could commit. The lady who runs the sanctuary was lovely on the phone and you know what her response was? ‘Jane, if you can just come along and stroke the animals, that would be a real help’. I am looking forward to my visit there and I sense that I will be spending as much time there as I can.

Gratitude flows for all these new opportunities and for the loving notes that are the song of my days.

20 Responses to “Holding my heart open for life’s new notes……”


  1. 1 clarepooley33 February 19, 2016 at 9:48 pm

    A lovely post, Jane! I am glad you are settling in well at your new home. Life has been full of upheaval for you recently – I hope this is the start of a new calmness and the beginning of contentment for you. I love Liverpool though I haven’t been there for many years. I studied there for a year in 1980/81 (ages ago) and had such fun.

    Like

  2. 4 ianscyberspace February 17, 2016 at 11:28 pm

    Sounds like you are establishing well and enjoying life once again. I’m happy for you.

    Like

    • 5 Jane Sturgeon February 18, 2016 at 11:08 pm

      Thanks Ian, I am having fun. I went along to a creative writer’s group meeting today and it was great. We all had a good time and are meeting once a month. I am so grateful for the opportunities that are flowing in. Hugs for you. x

      Like

  3. 6 Jill Weatherholt February 17, 2016 at 2:51 pm

    Oh my! I could live in that reading room, Jane. What a spectacular building. That you so much for sharing it with us!

    Like

  4. 8 journeyintopoetry February 17, 2016 at 1:58 pm

    My gorgeous friend, I adore this post; I’ve read it twice now and will most probably read it again.

    Love always and sparkly, juggly hugs xxx❤️💚💜💛xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 11 Peter Wells aka Countingducks February 17, 2016 at 1:29 pm

    Its always nice when you express your gentle celebratory observations

    Like

  6. 13 Leny Owram February 17, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    Liverpool library,new art supplies and an animal rescue centre sound like a way to go…giving both them and yourself a warm peace…..new beginnings. X

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  7. 15 Maxi February 17, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    Your new life seems filled with wonder and joy, Jane. I wish you the greatest success in your new ventures. Please, stay well and take care of yourself.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  8. 17 ShimonZ February 17, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    Nice to see these views of Liverpool. Especially the library. I have always felt very much at home in libraries.

    Like

    • 18 Jane Sturgeon February 17, 2016 at 1:57 pm

      Hello dear Shimon, I remember my Grandad lending me his library card and taking me to choose books when I was eight years old. Libraries have held a very special place in my heart ever since. I also take little ones there for story time and spent many a hapy hour there with my daughter when she was young. Hugs x

      Like

  9. 19 Al February 17, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    Hi Jane. What a fabulous building. Also enjoyed the video tour of Liverpool….so beautifully done.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

