If it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and flies like a duck…..chances are it’s a duck!

Sea Spray

A few days ago I stood at the local animal sanctuary and soaked up their surroundings for the first time. I watched a little pony called Poppy, on a lead reign, all ready for her daily constitutional down the lane. The simplest route to start her walk was through the main field full of donkeys and Poppy wasn’t having any of it. She had dug her back hooves in and several volunteers were trying their best to get her to shift. It’s for her own good they assured us. The lady who set this sanctuary up, and has run it for fourteen years, wisely kept silent and observed. She and I stood back and talked quietly. This is a pony who just wants a little girl to love her. The other horses, ponies and donkeys nip her backside whenever she comes near and Poppy’s displacement is there for those that can see. Eventually, they walked her round the edge of the other empty fields and went down the lane, where Poppy went without a murmur. She has her reasons, because animals feel, have memories and only have their bodies to communicate with us. I have offered to walk and groom her when I am down there. Best of British luck to anyone trying to get her to do anything that she feels uncomfortable with, as Poppy clearly knows what’s best for her.

I watched a little boy riding his bike on the sea path yesterday. His Mum, a baby strapped to her front, and Gran were walking behind as he sped along with a very whizzy helmet on his head. He got a little way ahead and the waves were throwing up a lot of spray, so his Mum called out to him to stop. He carried on. She called again and I watched his back tense and he kept going. His Mum called again, but kept her tone light. She and I looked at each other and laughed. We agreed that he was doing a quick risk assessment on his situation and weighing up his options. We watched for a few moments and he stopped, but he didn’t turn around. All three of us women smiled at each other.

I have had a lovely idea for the last two days to get some new creative painting done. This has not happened due to unexpected things popping up, other folks plans demanding my attention and ‘WTH’ moments. I say ‘WTH’ because my Mum reads this, but really I said something completely different. One of my dearest buddies on the service I work on has this daily mantra; ‘Try not to get angry, tired or hungry’. With this in mind I stocked up on fresh fruit and veg at the market yesterday and bought some ‘Sleepytime’ tea. I have not yet reached the point of needing to dust my new artistic materials, purchased with much excitement and anticipation, so I hold hope for a window of opportunity today.

There is grace in acceptance isn’t there? Things are as they are. Now about the duck……..

30 Responses to “If it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and flies like a duck…..chances are it’s a duck!”


  1. 1 ianscyberspace February 26, 2016 at 5:52 am

    You live such an interesting life. Glad to read such positive things on your blog site.

    Like

    • 2 Jane Sturgeon February 27, 2016 at 9:48 am

      Oh Ian, thank you. I popped out between work shifts yesterday to get some fresh air. It was an early Spring like day and there were dogs and their loved ones the beach throwing balls. The sea was gentle and barely moving and the dogs were loving it. Such a happy scene to watch. Hugs for you. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 Maxi February 25, 2016 at 3:00 pm

    Your muse will come, Jane. Live in the moment and when your hand is ready it will reach for the duster. Splendid post. Most gentle hugs, my friend.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  3. 5 Marylin Warner February 25, 2016 at 2:53 am

    I was cheering for you, Jane, and also for Poppy and the little boy on the bike! I loved reading this and feeling connected to your life and experiences. And now this is my new motto: ‘Try not to get angry, tired or hungry’. Such a smart plan! 🙂

    Like

    • 6 Jane Sturgeon February 25, 2016 at 7:13 am

      Hello Marylin and thank you. My smart friend also suggested Reiki healing and meditation and work of those are working well too. I started painting yesterday 😉 Huge hugs for you with much ❤ xXx

      Like

  4. 7 clarepooley33 February 24, 2016 at 8:46 pm

    Jane: you write so well! The wonderful relationship between the mum and her son, poor Poppy and her fear of being bitten and lastly your painting having to be put off again and again because of ‘stuff’ – all three stories are full of vitality and Jane-ness. This post has so much to tell us about empathy, understanding and tolerance.

    Like

  5. 12 Mehala Singam February 24, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    Hahahaha…that was a nice twist in the tale! I was, admittedly waiting for the duck story…Lovely stories, especially the one about the boy on the bicycle! 😄

    Like

  6. 14 grandfathersky February 24, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    So good to have you back on the blog-o-sphere … Your words seem to belong here, that subtle perception of emotion … The Native Americans called animals people and brothers, they understood their connection to us and to the world, to Gaia. Sending you love and heartfelt warmth as spring nears. Soon the sap will be running in the trees …

    Like

  7. 18 Al February 24, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    Poppy has been waiting for her soul mate. You are that little girl.

    Like

    • 19 Jane Sturgeon February 24, 2016 at 2:04 pm

      My Bro, I felt weepy down there on Saturday. Being around the animals lovely energy caused all sorts of buried stuff to float up. Better out than in hey? Onward and upward and I will love walking with Poppy down the lane and I am tempted to find a spot where we can go onto the beach, as I have a feeling she will love that. Hugs Xx

      Like

  8. 20 Leny Owram February 24, 2016 at 12:27 pm

    > Lovely …I know exactly what you mean about the art…every day something happens ,distractions ,important or not…and then the evening comes and I’m just too weary …but when I can ,it’s my meditation time because I am lost in the unconsciousness of concentration …..wonderful time when you just don’t think of anything else except the moment…

    How lucky the sanctuary is to have found you!!! Hugs. Leny

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  9. 22 Jill Weatherholt February 24, 2016 at 12:17 pm

    Aw…I loved the story of Poppy, Jane.

    Like

  10. 24 journeyintopoetry February 24, 2016 at 11:48 am

    Oh I love, love, love this post my precious friend.
    I just know that when ( not if!) your book is written, I will not put it down!! I love you very much. Xxx❤️💚💜💛xxX

    PS I will email you a photo of my ducks! 😄 xxx

    Like

  11. 27 1smiles February 24, 2016 at 11:20 am

    Jane,
    Maybe because spring is nearing, but I’m gathering up my ducks over here as well. They seem to have a mind of their own if you take your eyes off them for just a second.
    Sending you many hugs and much love,
    Jeannie xxxxxx

    Like

    • 28 Jane Sturgeon February 24, 2016 at 11:23 am

      Ohh Jeannie, I am so with you on that one. Huge hugs and much love flowing across ‘the Pond’ for you my special buddy. Here’s to happy duck handling…..have you ever seen Indian Runner Ducks? They are hilarious to watch. ❤ Xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  12. 29 Dave February 24, 2016 at 10:32 am

    I love your descriptions. The one of Poppy is so rich and evocative, and I think that could be the start of a beautiful friendship. I agree completely with you about animals. the more I see of them, of all sorts, the more I’m sure that we humans under-estimate their intelligence and sensitivity outrageously. The moment on the sea front is very much one of those frozen moments that say so much about human nature, mothers and children, and young men in general.
    I am glad you moderate your language for your mother.
    A lovely post, a great start to my day

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

