Seeing silvery softness instead of grey, where love is always light….

Friday....

In the run-up to this weekend there was a soft feel to everything. A hush, where even the ferry to Dublin left port quietly. A couple walking their dog commented that the day was grey and I looked out to sea and that is not what I saw. In the peace the sea lapped softly, the birds standing quietly at her edge, with the sunlight filtering through the clouds catching sparkles in the reflection on the water.

It’s all too easy to get busy and caught up in ‘daily stuff’ and I wonder how often we stop to see the sparkle in the ordinary. To pay attention without labelling. The labels we give everything lead us to think things are a certain way, which prompts feelings, which leads to words and follows through to actions. All from a label?

Every day on the service a familiar refrain is ‘When will I find love?’, ‘Where is my soulmate?’ ‘Is he/she the one?’. When did life get so labelled that we lost ourselves like this?

I feel we are still there in the hush. Our inner peace and contentment is there, hidden in that space that we fill with activity, noise, judgement and labels.

It makes you ponder on what we could find in our own space. When we pay attention without labelling. Observing without judgment.

What loving wonders await us in the hush.

21 Responses to “Seeing silvery softness instead of grey, where love is always light….”


  1. 1 Stuart April 3, 2016 at 4:43 pm

    This is beautifully written, Jane, thank you and I echo the sentiments you express. I think of mindfulness in your descriptions, something I feel we should all slow down and exercise a little more of.

    Like

  2. 3 Eric Alagan March 16, 2016 at 4:48 am

    During my hectic corporate days, I dreaded the lonely times in hotel rooms. But as time went by, I started to enjoy my own company.
    We need to spend some “alone time” – very therapeutic, I reckon.
    Peace, luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

  3. 5 Marylin Warner March 15, 2016 at 3:15 am

    From your first lines until the last, Jane, you definitely reminded me of the lovely “sparkle in the ordinary.” What a beautiful post.

    Like

  4. 7 Maxi March 14, 2016 at 12:35 pm

    As I sit on the porch and watch the squirrels play, the sparrows flit from tree to tree and the Ibis feed across the lawn it fills my heart with peace and contentment.

    It is not another that can bring us happiness, it must come from within. This is something I think you discovered long ago, dear Jane. Loving hugs.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  5. 9 clarepooley33 March 14, 2016 at 12:16 am

    This is wonderful Jane! To try and find our contentment from within ourselves and not expect others to provide it for us – to see the beauty in our surroundings no matter how subtle it is or hard to see. Great advice! Have a wonderful week and take care! xx

    Like

  6. 13 ianscyberspace March 13, 2016 at 11:34 pm

    We certainly do need to pause and smell the roses in the rush of life don’t we? Loved the photo illustration too.

    Like

  7. 15 journeyintopoetry March 13, 2016 at 5:47 pm

    This is simply wonderful writing my lovely friend and so very inspired. I love you very much xxx❤️xxx

    Like

  8. 17 Peter Wells aka Countingducks March 13, 2016 at 3:06 pm

    I always find, almost regardless of your circumstances, a moment of stillness by the sea grants you a calming perspective. A blessed time indeed 🙂

    Like

  9. 19 1smiles March 13, 2016 at 3:02 pm

    Ahh the sparkles and by the sea no less. You have a wonderful calm Jane. No wonder you have such success on the service, People feel calmed by your mere presence.
    Much love to you,
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

    • 20 Jane Sturgeon March 13, 2016 at 3:07 pm

      My lovely buddy, I was only thinking about you a moment ago…syncronicity and all that. I love you. ❤ I have two writing projects to tackle and then I have promised myself a treat at the cinema (with popcorn). As soon as I had the idea I immediately thought of you and how much fun we would have going together. So my buddy, you are there with me in my heart and isn't Gerard Butler looking rather gorgeous? Huge hugs of love for you. Xxxxxxx

      Liked by 1 person


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,232 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Three Things Serial, a Little 1920s Story"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

