In the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed ~ Kahlil Gibran

Sea Spray

It has been three weeks since I moved my ‘berth’ and here I sit in the home I share with Lynn, at a beautiful desk she has diddled up and kindly gifted for my use. I have placed it in my bedroom window, looking out at the fisherman’s cottages opposite and the green where the old ballroom and tower used to be.

Lynn and I agree that there is a special light in this house and that is one of the reasons she bought it. It pours into my bedroom and little sitting room on the first floor and as the day flows it fills the kitchen and then the bathroom at sunset. My working days are filled with light and then it’s in the kitchen as I prepare my evening meal and then the bathroom as I lie in the bath watching the sunset sparkle off the muslin curtains.

I sit working watching dogs, people and children playing on the green and in the playground. There is an ageing German Shepherd and he and his Dad always pause in their gentle amble and sit on the fence watching the others play. A streak of a Border Collie has his ball on a rope and flies up the slope spinning it in his mouth and there is joy in every hair on his body. Friends and neighbours pause and have a catch-up natter and I can hear their voices and laughter through my open window. The trees on the crest of the green draw a line between the grass and sky and my days are filled with birdsong, as the clouds flow through.

The Mersey joins the Irish Sea at the bottom of our road and the view never ceases to delight as I walk out and there is the Belfast to Birkenhead, Liverpool to Dublin or Isle of Man ferries, container ships and huge vessels heading for Manchester down the Manchester Ship Canal all gliding past. When the tide is out the beach has life on it with toddlers building sandcastles, dogs leaping across the sand, people walking in the fresh air and tug boats and pleasure boats on the water.

Our home has visitors from all over the world popping in now and then and Lynn and I share visiting friends and food, and yet we have our own space to simply be. There are Lynn’s lovely decorative touches in all the rooms, my beloved pieces around me and a loving peace that makes this a sanctuary.

My work is settled and flowing, because I am settled and flowing. Creating new vegan foodie dishes (with varying degrees of success) and starting to make handmade creative items again. Writing is naturally springing forth and I have a new magazine article to complete and several pieces to do for the writing groups.

The roots that started to go down as soon as I arrived in this special part of The Wirral in January are flexing and getting stronger. My days have a simplicity and sparkle that is healing and I am so grateful. A dear friend messaged and asked how I was this week and enquired as to my latest project. ‘Nothing’ was my reply, ‘I am simply being and loving it’.

20 Responses to “In the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed ~ Kahlil Gibran”


  1. 1 Maxi May 4, 2016 at 3:55 pm

    It is wonderful that your heart is at peace and you are happy, my friend. Smooth sailing and peaceful waters always. Gentle hugs from my heart.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  2. 3 grandfathersky May 1, 2016 at 2:33 am

    I often wonder how you are getting on, and this confirms that you have settled into a gentler pace of love and understanding in life. Wishing you the very best for the coming spring and summer season, growth that bears a harvest of love as the seasons grow and change. Your writing brings the reader to the forefront of your feelings, always looking forward to more … All the best, Hugs …. Peter

    Like

    • 4 Jane Sturgeon May 1, 2016 at 7:42 am

      Oh Pete, you are such a lovely friend, thank you. I sense your latest project is complete, all bar a few tiny details…I would love to see some pics when you have time. Much love and hugs flowing to you and Marge. ❤ xXx

      Like

  3. 5 clarepooley33 May 1, 2016 at 12:35 am

    I have been thinking of you and hoping all was well. I am so pleased you are settled in your new home and your life is more settled. Hugs and best wishes, Clare ❤ xx

    Like

  4. 10 Marylin Warner May 1, 2016 at 12:24 am

    The special light of your new home will brighten your creativity and entire life, Jane. And because your share your life with us on this post, we are fortunate enough to come along on your adventure.
    Enjoy your new place, and make it a warm and loving home. 🙂 Marylin

    Like

  5. 12 ianscyberspace April 30, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    You seem to lead the ideal life having time to appreciate all the little things given us to enjoy.

    Like

  6. 14 Al April 30, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    Wonderful spirit, wonderful place, wonderful post, sis.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 16 timkeen40 April 30, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    Yes, I love that work being settled in flowing comes at one with person being settled and flowing. There is an old saying. If you cannot control yourself, you cannot control your enemy. I think you could substitute your writing for your enemy just as easily.

    Thanks for making me think.

    Like

  8. 18 journeyintopoetry April 30, 2016 at 5:21 pm

    Once again, my precious friend, your words have a golden thread of light running through them; you are very special and I wish you all the peace and love you could hope for, in your new ‘berth’.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

