Lights, sparkles and sunshine…

The Black Pearl The Black Pearl sculpture that children and adults can play on.

Lynn, her friends and I are going out tonight to an annual event in Liverpool called LightNight. The city holds it once a year and celebrates the arts and culture that fill it’s buildings. The libraries, galleries, creative centres and museums stay open till late with exhibitions, displays, street musicians, live performers and all sorts going on. What joys await and as soon as I finish work this afternoon I am heading over The Mersey, so we can all meet up as everyone finishes work. Happy days…

I set off for a walk this morning in the beautiful sunshine that greeted today and I fell into step with a lady walking down to the prom. We commented on the pots and plants filling the front yards and found that we have a lot in common. Mo and I carried on walking in the sunshine, down by The Mersey, and stopped and sat on a bench and nattered some more. Such joy in meeting a like minded soul and we exchanged details with a promise to meet up and have a coffee in the cafe nestled in the park very soon. I have not been there yet, so it is lovely to have engaging company to go with. Happy days…

As I walked back home I stopped to talk to a neighbour a few doors along. His front yard is like a cottage garden and we stood in the sunshine and talked about the old fashioned plants that he grows there. It reminded me of my Great Granny’s garden and it was bliss to stand and talk to him. Mike has seen so many changes around here and we had a lovely chat. Happy days…

I turned and there was the neighbour who walks his lovely dog every day as I watch them through my ‘working’ window. I got to meet Kaiser properly and he is a lovely German Shepherd, with a tender, gentle way about him. We hugged and I stood there stroking him in the sunshine. Happy days…

Just before I finally settled down to work today, Steve the builder bobbed in and dropped off some salvage that he thought Lynn may be interested in. A hilarious conversation followed with him trying to talk about the bits he had dropped off and me trying to pin him down to a date when he would come and do the work Lynn has requested. Good old Merseyside humour flowed and he suggested that he came back this evening to talk to Lynn. I commented that we were out on the town for ‘Lightnight’. He asked what that was and I explained. I even went so far as to tell him that the central library were holding a silent disco. ‘Get away with you…’ was his response. ‘It’s all true’ I replied. They are giving out headphones and you can silently go round the building, transformed with disco lights, doing your own ‘Boogie on down’. He was laughing so hard he couldn’t talk. Picture this: I stood in the doorway waving goodbye dancing and he boogied out to his van. Our laughter carried down the street. Happy days…

19 Responses to “Lights, sparkles and sunshine…”


  1. 1 LutheranLadies May 16, 2016 at 11:33 pm

    I’m envious of your sunshine and neighbors. What lovely images you describe.

    Like

  2. 3 ianscyberspace May 15, 2016 at 2:07 am

    Sounds like you have the ideal life and a place to enjoy it immensely.

    Like

  3. 5 grandfathersky May 14, 2016 at 3:14 am

    Joy! Hope your evening has been a delight …

    Like

    • 6 Jane Sturgeon May 14, 2016 at 8:32 am

      Ohh Pete, it was fun and we walked our feet off too. We went into many new buildings for me and there are so many places I am going to go back to, to explore some more. Happy days… ❤ xX

      Like

  4. 7 clarepooley33 May 13, 2016 at 10:30 pm

    I just love the idea of a silent disco in the library! I hope you are enjoying your evening out xx ❤ xx

    Like

  5. 12 journeyintopoetry May 13, 2016 at 4:41 pm

    Oh Jane this is simply wonderfu! Just wonderful. I can visualise the whole scene and Im smiling very wide as I write this comment 😄. This definitely needs to go in the book! ❤️ Xxx

    Like

  6. 14 Al May 13, 2016 at 4:31 pm

    I want a video of you doing the boogie!!!

    Like

  7. 16 Marylin Warner May 13, 2016 at 4:12 pm

    LightNight sounds like a true celebration, Jane.
    What a fun, uplifting post! Hugs!

    Like

  8. 18 Tracey May 13, 2016 at 2:56 pm

    How I love my nutty friend 😄 happy days indeed. Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

