Where love is the harbour…

Harbour

Children play in our street and I love hearing their happy sounds. One of our neighbours mends bicycles and he can often be seen testing them up and down the road. His children come back from school and sit chatting to him as he works in his front yard and his wife brings him a drink and they spend time together. He flows love into his work; that love flows out to all that pass by and beyond a shadow of doubt, it wraps around his family.

I love going to the open air gym in the park and walking down by the sea. An added joy is I am getting to know the other walkers, joggers and dogs. Oh the dogs ❤ Shadow wants to play and walk close by, sharing what he sees. Gus the lurcher (still a beautiful puppy) throws himself up for a hug. His 'Dad' commented this morning that he loves the first part of the day and smiling at him I nodded and said 'It's full of hope isn't it?' He smiled back and said 'I never check the weather Jane'. The weather is what it is and the dogs bound about greeting each other, chasing balls, sniffing everything they can, bringing fellow spirits together and gifting us all the opportunity to share.

My Mum is busy knitting baby dresses to go into the stock at my friend's shop and our messages, emailed photos and calls going back and forth are a joy. 'I've made this, what do you think?', 'I've run out of wool, what about 'so and so' to finish it, would that work?' and yesterday's hilarious one. 'I have finished the teapot cosy, but a single strawberry took about three hours to create, so I am changing the plan!'. Mum and I are soothed by knitting, creating and having somewhere to flow them on to, gives us a purpose. There is love in every stitch. I have wrapped the strawberry up in tissue paper and it's going to Daisy in a parcel with other gifts from Aunty Lynn. A memory floated up then from last Sunday, as I made a hash of knitting a row, I went to unpick it and said 'Oopps 'a Daisy, I made a mistake'. Daisy looked at me and said 'That's my name' and got the giggles.

I flow on the loving strands of daily rounds. The shared love, support, encouragement and above all understanding. The 'Ohh you'll never guess what', 'How are you diddling?', 'How was your day?', 'I saw this and thought of you', the 'I had an idea, thought, feeling' ones, the 'Goodnight, sweet dreams' and at times the much needed downloading to clear head space. The calling out 'Hello' whenever any of us come home to our loving harbour.

That is all anyone wants, to be loved and understood. It's as natural as air. Life flows and we are all a part of it and what we flow is part of the whole. What we hold inside of ourselves flows out. Everything in constant motion. It's the air that we all share, the energy we all create. ❤

34 Responses to “Where love is the harbour…”


  1. 1 jstansfeld July 15, 2016 at 10:06 pm

    I was directed to your site by Eric and am bathed in your loving words. It is good to read about joy on a personal community level when there seems to be so many bad things occurring globally. Thank you for your perspective and reminder that our own personal relationships are important.

    Like

  2. 5 clarepooley33 July 15, 2016 at 9:33 pm

    I love reading your posts Jane – the things you notice, the conversations you have – all written with love. Sorry it’s taken me so long to get round to commenting on this one. Much love, Clare xxXXxx

    Like

  3. 9 Eric Alagan July 15, 2016 at 7:32 am

    There are love vibes everywhere, are they not, Jane? All one has to do is to allow the vibes to soak into and transform us.

    Like

  4. 11 tornadoday July 12, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    Regardless of where we go, where we live (eternally) is in the moments we loved…….. ❤ Beautiful colors you paint, dearest Jane.

    Like

  5. 13 dgkaye July 11, 2016 at 2:46 am

    So beautiful Jane. I loved the last paragraph, indeed everyone wants to be loved and understood. I also loved ‘the open air gym’. Fantastic! ❤

    Like

  6. 19 Marylin Warner July 11, 2016 at 1:10 am

    This post is rich with loving images, Jane. The neighbor who repairs bicycles, and how his wife brings him a drink and they talk together. Your mother knitting for the shop, and the joy of all the messages and photos going back and forth.
    You are so right, Jane; this is all anyone wants: to be loved and understood. Beautifully stated. ❤

    Like

  7. 21 ianscyberspace July 10, 2016 at 11:07 pm

    You make that environment sound so appealing. The little things of life give us the most pleasure don’t they?

    Like

  8. 23 Al July 10, 2016 at 11:49 am

    Beautiful post, especially in light of the divisions within our country at this moment. We really. really, need the love and understanding you speak about. I’m hoping another Martin Luther King emerges from the chaos to quell the rhetoric.

    Your writing is so expressive, I always feel like I’m on the walk with you. Still thinking about our real walk together last month.

    Your bro.

    Like

    • 24 Jane Sturgeon July 10, 2016 at 12:09 pm

      Ohh my bro, it was so fleeting, but our moments spent together were precious. I feel that you, Patty and I could have walked and talked for days…kindred spirits. Love knows no boundaries, nor time, nor geographical distance. ❤ May the loving light rise to quieten the fear and hatred that is so apparent right now. Hurt needs fresh air to heal and I pray that this is the beginning. The Beatles sang about it didn't they? All we need is love. ❤

      Like

  9. 25 smzang July 10, 2016 at 3:37 am

    these are words to live by that make even the rainiest day sunny…
    Your spirit is surely born of sun.
    Again you share serenity with your words.

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • 26 Jane Sturgeon July 10, 2016 at 9:49 am

      Bless you Sarah, I pondered this one through the night last night. Some neighbours were having a ‘domestic’ that rolled through the night and boy they were loud. There is a sound level where the local accent loses it’s musicality and they both achieved it last night. A classic line in a Miss Marple play was ‘All of life is in this village’, and it’s the same wherever we are isn’t it? I lay here last night and thought about all the different people and things going on in the street where I live. It’s not about denying the less harmonious parts, it’s about focussing on the bright parts for me. Hugs for you my lovely ❤ huge hugs Xxx

      Like

  10. 27 journeyintopoetry July 9, 2016 at 2:06 pm

    Beautiful post as always and full of love which is always key isn’t it my treasured friend.

    There used to be a pre-school programme on TV called Pigeon Street and the stories of the street where you lives, ways bring the programme to mind!
    ❤️ Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • 28 Jane Sturgeon July 9, 2016 at 2:24 pm

      Oh Chris, thank you my lovely. Do you remember Trumpton? Back in our day, and how everyone helped everyone else. Real community loving spirit. ❤ xXx ❤

      Like

      • 29 journeyintopoetry July 9, 2016 at 2:33 pm

        Oh Trumpton, yes! And Camberwick Green too. My favourites! Such fabulous community spirit. ❤️ Xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

        • 30 Jane Sturgeon July 9, 2016 at 2:39 pm

          Ohhh Camberwick Green, I knew there was another one I loved….thanks my lovely. Such memories. I just have to hear the Magic Roundabout theme tune and it takes me back to when my brother was a baby. He used to sit on my lap and watch it. I was seven. ❤ Xxxx ❤

          Like

          • 31 journeyintopoetry July 9, 2016 at 3:01 pm

            We still have a Magic Roundabout puzzle here you know the kind, where the pieces have a little peg on them and you put them into their matching shape. I love it! 😊❤️ Xx

            Like

          • 32 Jane Sturgeon July 9, 2016 at 3:05 pm

            Ohh I do and ‘Go Florence’….she rocked, as did Zebedee. Jon, my brother, had a Florence doll, he called ‘Borence’ and she went everywhere with him. Such memories you have evoked here Chris, thank you, always, for being you. ❤ xXx ❤

            Like

  11. 33 Peter Wells aka Countingducks July 9, 2016 at 11:36 am

    ” That is all anyone wants, to be loved and understood. It’s as natural as air” How beautiful is that. The greatest truths are often the simplest to express. Nothing else needed to be said. Lovely post as always x 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

