Do you remember when?

Teapot Love

I have been soothing myself by creating all sorts of knitted things and a local shop has been stocking them. My Mum caught the bug and between us we have created quite a stock. I run on instinct and after a while all the words from the business owners up the hill were not translating into action. All sorts was going on and money was not flowing my way either. I called ‘time’ last week, had a graceful conversation and carried all the remaining stock back home.

No matter how adept we become at ‘letting go’ of others hurtful words and actions and leaving them at source, it can take it’s toll. Dr.Wayne Dyer, a special soul, used to say that we don’t die from a snake bite, it’s the poison that kills us.

I sat for a few days looking at my knitting basket and did nothing with it. I tucked the stock away and pondered on various options and not one resonated. Fiddlesticks, I thought, here we go again as another bright idea bites the dust. Fears were evident as old snake bites stung.

A few days later a loving friend sent a message asking if I had time to make a special surprise present for a happy event in her family. I replied immediately and we started discussing the details. I ❤ her.

My characterful and kind landlady calls my creativity 'titting about' and I gifted myself a 'titting about day' today. Mid morning I needed to pop out to the Post Office, so without thinking I put three of my teapot creations in a straw bag and I set off. Coming out from doing my postie bits and pieces there was a bright penny on the pavement. I bent and picked it up, held it in my hand and felt a bit of magic. Still not thinking I walked down to sea and there on the front is a shop, where I have never been, that sells antique treasures in an old tea room setting. I went in and ordered a bowl of soup and sat there soaking up the atmosphere and breathed……

I was in Miss Marple's world as the family who run the place looked after everybody and everywhere I looked there were reminders of times gone by. Old fashioned tablecloths, handmade lace doilies with mis-matched beautiful china, bunting on the ceiling, antique lamps and old pictures of New Brighton adorning the walls. The gentle music turned out to be a customer's granddaughter playing the piano and her granny's face as she sat there and told me all about her was a joy to see. Every table was full, yet the conversation was gentle as teapots were re-filled and coffee cups were topped up. My soup and homemade bread was delicious.

As I went to pay I realised they took cash and I only had my cards on me. The 'Mum' of the family reassured me and said I could bring the money in when I could. I left and went straight to a cash point machine, giving myself a massive pep talk (silently in case you were wondering) and returned to pay. I gathered courage and talked to them about my creations, showed them my teapots and also asked whether I could perhaps use their lovely place to start a creativity group.

Bless the magic universe, because not only are they going to stock my creations, but I have also been invited to join their knitting group on Thursday mornings.

I came home with their kindness wrapped around me and I can't wait to show my Mum and Dad this special place.

32 Responses to “Do you remember when?”


  1. 1 frederick anderson August 2, 2016 at 2:52 pm

    In life we encounter few truly perfect places – it seems you struck lucky! BTW, those teapots look very cosseted and cosy to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 dgkaye July 29, 2016 at 2:44 am

    What serendipity Jane to find that place to sell your new creations. It all sounds so wonderful. You’re sounding cheery and I’m happy for you. xo ❤

    Like

  3. 7 Marylin Warner July 28, 2016 at 1:22 am

    I love that you came home “wrapped in their kindness,” Jane. Such a lovely expression.
    I learned to knit with an easy beginner’s project, a teapot cozy in four triangle pieces that also taught crocheting to attach the triangles. It wasn’t pretty like yours, but my grandmother proudly kept it in her china cabinet covering her favorite tea pot. It made me believe I could create something wonderful! Hugs to you, dear Jane. ❤

    Like

  4. 9 ianscyberspace July 27, 2016 at 11:43 pm

    Now that takes me back in time. I remember my Mother knitting what she called “tea cosies.” 🙂

    Like

  5. 13 smzang July 27, 2016 at 10:18 pm

    You cast the loveliest of lights, Jane.

    I feel new and refreshed after reading this piece.

    Like

  6. 15 elenacaravela July 27, 2016 at 2:00 pm

    Wonderful! I hope all of your creations sell quickly and that you find many new friends in the process:)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 17 365daysofkindness July 27, 2016 at 2:22 am

    Such a wonderful turn of events! Love this.

    Like

  8. 19 clarepooley33 July 26, 2016 at 11:54 pm

    I really felt your hurt and disappointment when you wrote about bringing your stock home and then sitting and looking and thinking! I am so pleased your friend contacted you and needed your help. The teashop too…. what a lucky find!
    Take care my dear Jane xx ❤ xx

    Like

  9. 22 grandfathersky July 26, 2016 at 10:40 pm

    Jane – I think your work distracts you. When you are listening to everyone else’s guides yours stand by and wait for a moment, and when it comes they shout! Good luck, and cheers!

    Like

  10. 24 Al July 26, 2016 at 10:14 pm

    Sounds like a magical/loving place alright. No doubt partly because you were in it.

    Like

  11. 26 Claire green July 26, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    I am sure that your tea cosy will be successful ….good luck…xxx

    Like

  12. 28 Granny Trish July 26, 2016 at 8:29 pm

    You are an inspiration as is everything you write, make and do. I reminded people on Sunday in my service about your mantra, We are only responsible for our own actions not for other peoples. Send out your love and move on. – I love your blog, Granny Trish x x x x x

    Like

  13. 30 journeyintopoetry July 26, 2016 at 7:48 pm

    Oh Jane this is just pure magic. I love it, and needless to say, your words are wrapped gently in love; they simply mirror who you are. I do so love reading your work. ❤️ Xxx

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,183 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

