Bonjour mes amis ……

dig

Loving friends have gifted me a break down in the South of France, while they return to England to visit family. I am spending my days here with Belle their characterful furry companion.

I have stepped back in time; way, way back in time. This is a farming community and there are fields, farms and homesteads dotted about as far as the eye can see. You can touch the peace. It has taken a few days for the ‘Oh I must do this and I need to do that’ pressures to fall away as I slip into a gentler pace.

dav

Each morning Belle and I watch the sunrise and potter at the edges of the fields, which is a delight and her little tail almost wags itself off in sheer joy. Overnight in the sunflower and broad bean crops there have been visitations by hares, hedgehogs and deer and the smells that greet her little doggie nose send her darting about all over. There are plum orchards and vineyards too and the farmers are busy harvesting the fruit. Dusty straw hats are tipped and they mouth ‘Bonjour’ as they trundle past on their tractors.

dig

There is a tiny village nearby with no shops, just a sprinkling of homes, and it takes all of five minutes to walk around it. Right in the centre there is a twelfth century church called St.Vincent’s and at 7am, noon and 7pm the bell is rung for all the farmers to mark the points in their days. Sometimes the bell ringing is cut short and my lovely friends commented that they have a theory that the bell ringer’s wife is in a hurry to get to market.

dav

As Belle and I potter about we can hear chickens and cockerels going about their daily rounds and I am sure they crow in French. As evening draws in the swallows take to the cooler skies and fly in harmony before bedtime and the arrival of the bats, as Belle and I fall asleep to the song of the crickets.

We are off the tourist trail and nothing is locked up here and that trust, the beautiful landscape and the way of life weave a magic that I am stopping to breathe in. Much gratitude to my lovely friends for these moments in time and to Belle for being such great company.

dav
30 Responses to “Bonjour mes amis ……”


  1. 1 dgkaye August 31, 2016 at 2:23 am

    Oh Jane, what a stroke of luck to be able to have friends that lend you their beautiful home in belle France. The photos are spectacular. Soak it all in mon ami. ❤ xo

    Like

  2. 4 ianscyberspace August 31, 2016 at 12:48 am

    Oh do you remember those days long ago when nothing had to be locked up and you could go off to town with everything wide open. No one would rob from you as there was a socially supportive environment. How different it is around the world now, and how fortunate you are to live in one of those rare safe places for this brief time. Enjoy it!

    Like

  3. 7 Elizabeth Melton Parsons August 30, 2016 at 9:44 pm

    Sounds absolutely heavenly…Enjoy!

    Like

  4. 9 Lauren Millward August 30, 2016 at 3:35 pm

    It looks so idyllic and peaceful. Love your photos. Enjoy x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 11 elenacaravela August 30, 2016 at 2:21 am

    A little dream come true experience. An enchanting landscape.

    Like

  6. 13 Marylin Warner August 30, 2016 at 1:04 am

    You and Belle made quite a team, Jane. Of course her mom and dad would choose you to trust with her care! I want to know who took these sensational pictures… you or Belle? Many hugs! ❤

    Like

    • 14 Jane Sturgeon August 30, 2016 at 6:41 am

      I was creatively assisted by Belle and she is getting the hang of lying down for a nano second so I can take a shot. Most of the time I let my heart take the pics, because it’s a shame to break our natural flow as we potter down the lanes and tracks. The sunrise this morning was stunning and there was a faint mist on the fields and as the horizon turned bright orange a flock of birds flew across the horizon. I will never forget that moment. Hugs and much ❤ flowing to you. xxx

      Like

  7. 15 clarepooley33 August 29, 2016 at 9:19 pm

    What an idyllic place, Jane! Your writing is beautiful as ever and I love the photos especially the last one. Enjoy your peaceful haven with dear Belle as company. Much love, Clare xx ❤ xx

    Like

  8. 18 Al August 29, 2016 at 8:54 pm

    Sounds and looks delightful. With just a little imagination, I can see a horse drawn hay cart coming around the bend in that wall.

    Like

  9. 22 grandfathersky August 29, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    Jane – The pictures are like paintings, or postcards from somewhere else in time. It just proves that our time is only a yardstick, and if we choose, there is any place along it we may be … Enjoy!

    Like

  10. 24 1smiles August 29, 2016 at 8:20 pm

    You have wonderful adventures Miss Jane! Enjoy!

    Like

  11. 26 jstansfeld August 29, 2016 at 8:09 pm

    It sounds idyllic. I think that more people should share their homes when they travel – it helps everyone. A few years ago I babysat my one-year-old grand-daughter at a friend of my daughter’s home in Greeley Co while the friends were in Europe. It was in a rural setting and they had a delightful dog named Opie. Opie went for walks with me and the baby twice a day – I hate to admit it, but I enjoyed his company more than the baby’s for he took such pleasure in everything; just as your Belle does. I wanted to keep him, but didn’t, when we had to leave!

    Like

  12. 28 journeyintopoetry August 29, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    Beautiful photos my lovely friend (I loved the photo of the trees!), and beautiful words as always. Enjoy your peaceful time with Belle and your thoughts. ❤️ Xxxx

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

