The height of optimism…..

dav

Big Old Bob

Bella’s Mum kindly agreed to me borrowing her for a walk a few days ago and it was a joy to be together again on the beach throwing balls and walking along the sand. We met Big Old Bob and he was out with his Mum as she trained three guide dog puppies, Barney, Buster and Birdie. At thirteen weeks old it was Buster’s first time on the beach and he was beside himself with excitement. Bob was overseeing it all, as I am sure he has done for many other puppies over the years. Bob is as deaf as a post and talks in a loud yowl. ‘He can’t hear himself’ his Mum commented and I stroked his head as he leant against my legs and we chatted. I fell in love instantly and a serious discussion followed on Bob coming home with me. My landlady developing a fondness for dogs any time soon is unlikely, so this plan is on hold.

At the moment I am in a village in North Lancashire looking after Sebastian the cat and sitting writing at a table in the bay window. My view is a beautiful park, where the trees are managing to hold onto their colour despite the most outrageous wind and rain today.

I just glanced up at a box of cakes on the shelf and the sell by date is 29th December…it it highly likely that this box will be emptied within the next 24 hours.

I have some special buddies that I used to work with and we still sail together through our days on Skype. It’s our virtual office space and holds more blessings than I can count, as messages wing their way back and forth. The comment has just been made that today is going rather well and my reply……….’We’d better not broadcast this, because someone is bound to come along and * (insert your own favourite word) * it up!’

Holding optimistic hope as always at this end and flowing ❤ to you all. xXx

dav
19 Responses to “The height of optimism…..”


  1. 1 dgkaye November 18, 2016 at 4:13 am

    Love your optimism Jane. Hope does float. ❤

    Like

  2. 4 ianscyberspace November 17, 2016 at 10:55 pm

    Haha, I’ll keep in mind not to make a comment about my day in future. You certainly do get around. what an interesting life.

    Like

  3. 6 clarepooley33 November 16, 2016 at 11:33 pm

    Poor Big Old Bob! We had a cat who went totally deaf and who wailed and yowled all the time. We also had to wake him up for his meals when he got very old.
    I had a giggle at the mention of the box of cakes! Cakes tend to disappear quickly in this house too!
    Hugs and ❤ xx

    Like

  4. 11 Marylin Warner November 16, 2016 at 9:45 pm

    Old Bob’s Mum training three guide puppies, Barney, Buster and Birdie. Oh, Jane, you make me smile and greet the future with hope.
    Another wonderful post! 😉 ❤

    Like

  5. 13 jstansfeld November 16, 2016 at 6:30 pm

    Love your optimism and happy world view- good spice for my day!

    Like

  6. 15 journeyintopoetry November 16, 2016 at 6:29 pm

    Oh Jane, how lovely for you to meet those puppies who will train to be special companions. And lovely old Bob too. You made me smile on this one as Jack, too, is as deaf as a post, but he is very happy nonetheless, bless him. Precious times. And Bella looks very happy.

    As always, beautiful soothing words my lovely friend, which leave me craving more… xxx❤️

    Like

  7. 18 Maria Maggi November 16, 2016 at 4:08 pm

    HI Jane‹I have a chronic problem with wordpress and passwords, but I often read your posts and here’s the comment I tried to leave today

    Thank you, Jane–loved reading this little snippet of optimism first thing this morning out here on the Oregon Coast! xo

    Maria

    From: JANE STURGEON Reply-To: JANE STURGEON Date: Wednesday, November 16, 2016 5:56 AM To: Maria Maggi Subject: [New post] The height of optimismŠ..

    WordPress.com Jane Sturgeon posted: ” Bella’s Mum kindly agreed to me borrowing her for a walk a few days ago and it was a joy to be together again on the beach throwing balls and walking along the sand. We met Big Old Bob and he was out with his Mum as she trained three guide dog puppie”

    Liked by 1 person


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

