Trust like the trees….

dsc_1871

Trees trust, with their roots going deep down into the earth for nourishment, yet they do not live there. Their branches and leaves reach through the air towards the warmth of the sun and the light in the sky. Trees keep on growing, reaching and bursting forth with new life, wherever and whenever they can, no matter what happens to them. Where one is felled, a new one will be growing elsewhere. They are all linked by nature and offer shelter and above all else, hope.

Nature displays such wonderful examples, that I find the inspiration for my writing in her images.

There are some souls in this life that create whirlpools and the movement and spin within gives their life meaning. It makes one wonder if the speed of the spin stops them seeing any other kind of perspective.

Recently, I accepted a pet care/house sit placement for over a month, as they had been let down. Nowadays I only sit for friends, so this was a step into trust on both sides as I did not know the couple involved. I was booked to care for a lovely cat in a home in North Lancashire.

How others choose to live is their choice and given the work I do sitting in judgement on anyone is not my style, so I will try and relate this adventure with kindness. There is a tacit understanding with pet care placements (as money is rarely involved) that loving care, responsibility and common sense are traded for a comfortable home and new surroundings to explore. You can guess what this is leading up to can’t you? I found myself in a whirlpool.

The house was falling apart and every day brought forth new levels of ‘Oh, you are kidding me on???’. Explanations were given (from halfway across the world in Thailand) and there was a ‘story’ behind every happening and the theme of each story was that it was always someone else’s fault. It’s winter here now and each day the temperature dropped, the rain lashed down sometimes turning to hail, and the wind blew. One of the exciting developments was rainwater pouring in through the ceiling and the internet stopping due to non-payment…I will spare you the details of the other ‘happenings’, but most mechanical things in the house were broken and the wind whistled through broken panes of glass and windows. There was little comfort to be found anywhere, but their cat is a sweetheart. Suffice to say, after nearly a week, I called ‘Mum and Dad’ of the home owners, as they lived around the corner and by this stage I needed help. We had a parent to parent discussion and I tried to manfully carry on, with offers of help being drafted in. As the ‘Dad’ commented I was being subjected to a form of wild camping. I stood there at 3am the other morning moving the mattress onto the floor to try and gain a few hours sleep and I paused and thought to myself ‘Jane, what are you doing?’. I sent emails next morning and called ‘Dad’ and asked them to come and pick up the reins, as I was heading home. I received a huge amount of messages on WhatsApp from their daughter. Funnily enough the message theme was it was my fault and how could I inconvenience her life like this and had I expected a hotel? My reply was brief and clear.

Life flows with reality checks and it is up to us to pay attention to them, or not as the case may be. In my experience, if we choose to ignore the reality checks, then they will keep presenting themselves in ever increasing sharpness, till we do pay attention.

Which brings me back to trees and trust. We do not know whether to trust other trees, until we flow with trust and discover which space they are choosing to grow from. They may not always be operating from their best space and only time will show this. We can still trust though.

I have found that I do not have to step into other’s whirlpools, nor align myself with trees that do not nurture growth. It matters, it really does, what we put into the soil around our trees, and which trees we align ourselves with, because from that our branches and leaves will flourish.

35 Responses to “Trust like the trees….”


  1. 1 Christy B November 24, 2016 at 6:52 pm

    I love the whimsical way you wrote this post here, Jane, and the links between trees and trust are beautifully formed with your words ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 dgkaye November 22, 2016 at 3:12 am

    I loved your analogy with the trees Jane. And oh my gosh, you’re a bigger person than me. I would have run for the hills pronto! Glad you’re back home safe, although maybe a tad chilly. ❤

    Like

  3. 8 grandfathersky November 21, 2016 at 2:59 pm

    Jane – I gather so much information lately I cannot say where I heard this, but I recall that the trees are our connection with the earthly mother, and also that the trees connect the earth to the sky (ground to air). You story shows a stark contrast between the contrived consciousness of we humans and the true nature of being in Gaia / actual nature. We we given free will, and look what we do with it. If ever there were a definition of sin, this is it, to place blame on forces other than the ones invoked by the magician (this poor cat’s owner) sure is a fine example of what has gone astray in with us. That kitten would be better off left to her (his) own devices out in the natural world, and you as well. Hindsight is 20/20. Perhaps best to learn that physical vision, through the 5 senses is best when dealing with the bulk of humanity – and I use the word loosely here… Glad you escaped unscathed other than the lessons learned, hope you find a warm and safe haven for the coming winter! Much love – Peter

    Like

    • 9 Jane Sturgeon November 21, 2016 at 7:16 pm

      Hi Pete, thank you for your kind words and warm thoughts. I kept the rent running on my room, so I am back home and my landlady is putting the heating on. I continue my quest for a lily pad of my own. I am beset with Vertigo right now and metaphysically do not need to look far to see why this has happened. Much self healing going on. Hugs and much ❤ for you. xXx ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 12 frederick anderson November 21, 2016 at 9:27 am

    Life will always find a way? Oh, Jane, you know you should never trust these Lancashire people, though I am sure the cat will give you great references, should you ever decide to repeat the experience! One thing to add, from my own adventures – isn’t it marvelous that first hour when you return home?

    Like

    • 13 Jane Sturgeon November 21, 2016 at 9:38 am

      There speaks a true Yorkshireman. Xx Why I took this assignment in the first place was issues with my landlady not turning the central heating on at home. I am back dealing with that one and so life carries on. I will find a lily pad soon that is warm and whirlpool free. Hugs for you up there in beautiful Yorkshire. xX

      Like

  5. 14 jstansfeld November 21, 2016 at 3:37 am

    I enjoyed the read and was uplifted to still hear your happy life perspective shining beyond the moment of that disheartening whirlpool. I hope that, as the immediacy and discomfort of the memory fades it becomes increasingly amusing!

    Like

    • 15 Jane Sturgeon November 21, 2016 at 9:35 am

      Thank you Jane. It’s left me with vertigo, which is my body talking to me. I am paying heed and keeping everything simple and peaceful and I know it will lift. I was married to a whirlpool creator, so I have experience with this life operating system. You have to step away. Hugs flowing to you. xX

      Like

  6. 16 tornadoday November 21, 2016 at 1:36 am

    I find it quite amazing the amount of effort that goes into blaming someone else for our circumstances. I am quick to admit that I haven’t always made good choices, and am equally willing to accept my faults. If I do not, then I would be stuck. If my lot is due to another, then so my future for unless they change, I am without hope. From your story, it is obvious that this couple has a history of finding someone else to blame for their circumstances. I feel sorry for them and pray that time – and loving souls like yourself – provide the wisdom needed to move them in a new direction…. 💜 I love you, my friend….

    Like

    • 17 Jane Sturgeon November 21, 2016 at 9:33 am

      Hello lovely Bobbie, yes, you have gone to the heart of this. The energy that it takes to hold onto the belief that others are to blame, to hold anger, bitterness, recriminations. What a waste of energy. We all make poor choices sometimes, we all get angry etc.., but to face it, accept it, deal with it and then ease away from it, aligns us to life’s flow. I love you my soul sister. ❤ xXx

      Like

  7. 18 ianscyberspace November 20, 2016 at 10:58 pm

    Good advice, as always. 🙂

    Like

  8. 20 clarepooley33 November 20, 2016 at 7:03 pm

    Oh my dear Jane! What an adventure! I am glad you gave up and went back home before things got any worse. I feel sorry for that little cat xx How can some people live like that I don’t know. I enjoyed your writing very much and the image of trees with their roots deep in the earth and their branches reaching up to the heavens is beautiful ❤ Thank-you xxXXxx

    Like

    • 21 Jane Sturgeon November 20, 2016 at 7:59 pm

      You know Clare I read your latest post with all your beautiful photographs and music and it sparked mine. We find such solace in nature don’t we? Many happy childhood holidays were spent on the Norfolk coast and when Emily was little we would take her there and down onto the Suffolk coast. Each year you and I build sandcastles and sometimes life knocks them down, yet we continue to build with faith, hope and love…as we always will. ❤ xXx with more hugs xXx ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. 23 Marylin Warner November 20, 2016 at 6:02 pm

    When I was seventeen, Jane, I was hired to take care of three young children for four days while their mother had an operation. In reality, she went away with her boyfriend. The youngest child was out of asthma medication, and the back door had been kicked in by her angry soon-to-be-ex-husband with only a board nailed over the door to keep it shut. That was just the beginning, but you get the idea, and the number I was to call the mother with any questions was out of order.
    That night I packed up the kids, called my parents, and we went to stay with them. When the mother came back from her “operation,” she was greeted by social services. I was never paid for those four days, but I learned many things that made me stronger, wiser, and confident enough to go against anyone and quickly respond on behalf of neglected children.

    Like

    • 24 Jane Sturgeon November 20, 2016 at 7:53 pm

      Oh my goodness, the universe had your path mapped out and what a huge signpost that was. How blessed those children were to be under your tender, loving care and that goes for all the children that have passed under your loving umbrella since. Huge hugs for you my buddy, with much ❤ xXx

      Like

  10. 25 mihrank November 20, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    well done and deserved…

    Like

  11. 27 Al November 20, 2016 at 3:08 pm

    Jane, even when I only knew you as a fellow blogger, I felt you were a very special and gentle soul. After our meet-up it validated every sense I had about you. Your experience here was dreadful, but the fact that you were true to yourself is to be commended. What a shame there are people who are so into themselves that they have no time to be compassionate to others. You were right to keep your branches intact!

    Like

    • 28 Jane Sturgeon November 20, 2016 at 7:51 pm

      At this time of year as I glance back over all that has passed, a huge highlight was spending time with you and Patti my Heart Brother. I treasure those memories and our connection. ❤ xXx with hugs ❤

      Like

  12. 29 smzang November 20, 2016 at 2:59 pm

    Jane,

    A huge thumbs up!!
    I do believe you’ve found the key to inner peace!

    Thank you for sharing it.

    Sarah

    Like

  13. 31 unfoldingenlightenment November 20, 2016 at 2:21 pm

    Well done for Honour ing yourself . When I always a community physio other people’s houses were always an eye opener. A slice of different life teaches us so much .

    Liked by 1 person

  14. 33 journeyintopoetry November 20, 2016 at 1:58 pm

    Oh Jane, you have been through the mill; however, it led you towards this wonderful reflection, and the analogy of the tree is just perfect. I will keep this in mind and steer well clear of other people’s whirlpools, making sure those trees I befriend are healthy ones. ❤️ xxx

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

