Life’s sweet spots…

Yesterday the rain held off long enough for George and I to join Mum and Dad at the track for a ‘boys and their toys’ session and train rides.

A special day unfolded as we rode together under the canopy of the trees between the fields and around the old fishing lakes. Dad was running his diesel engine, because it’s easier for him to handle nowadays, and there was a wonderful mix of steam engines and other diesels. The air was filled with concentrated conversations and sharings on engines and cries of ‘I need more water’ as pauses were made at the station platform. Smiles as we were asked to ‘Hop on and try this out’ and ‘Do you fancy a trip?’

In quiet pauses birdsong could be heard and we all felt the joy of travelling beside the last of the bluebells and rhodedendrons in bloom. Mum brought a yummy lunch which we shared in the clubhouse, as Bobby made tea among the sharing of stories and laughter.

My heart will hold the sight of George’s face relaxing as his grin broadened on each trip round the track. The moment my Dad lent towards George and shared a man’s perspective and the two men were in perfect accord. All the hugs as we parted and wended our ways home.

George discovered that the track was in Daresbury the birthplace of Lewis Carroll, thanks to my Mum. ‘Do you fancy seeing the church and commemorative window?’ he asked me, so we turned right instead of left out of the farm gate.

Lewis Carroll’s Dad was the local vicar and we were lucky enough to have a kind lady show us round the church. The stained glass window depicting Lewis Carroll’s life is beautiful and we stood there hand in hand gazing up at it.

Our exploring afterwards took us through tiny little villages tucked away between country lanes, quintisential pastoral scenes unfolding one after the other, a big set-up selling secondhand pieces, hand made furniture and all sorts of goodies for the home and from there we moved onto a country pub garden. A giggling game of random questions could have had us moved on for inappropriate behaviour, but we got away with it, only disturbing a duck on the little stream running through the garden. They are holding duck races there next weekend and there is already an impressive display of rubber ducks appearing at the back of the bar.

We wended our way back home through the country lanes with memories made of spun gold and love. ❀

25 Responses to “Life’s sweet spots…”


  1. 3 Vashti Q June 7, 2017 at 11:41 pm

    Hello Jane! What an adorable picture! And what a fun activity. Looks like everyone had a wonderful time. I’m going to look online and see if there’s anything like this in my neck of the woods. Thank you for following my blog. I’m following your blog as well and look forward to reading your posts. πŸ˜€

    Like

    • 4 Jane Sturgeon June 9, 2017 at 9:52 am

      Vashti thank you, how lovely and thoughtful of you. My Dad has built model steam engines since he was twelve and the track he runs on now is special. A farmer has gifted the steam club a part of a field at the top of a hill and the ‘boys’ have built a track that winds through the trees and round the old fishing lakes. They even have a clubhouse and cups of tea and cake feature a lot. I hope you find your sweet spot. Hugs for you. xXx

      Like

  2. 5 Marsha June 4, 2017 at 8:48 am

    What a fun trip, Jane! Aren’t trains just the best for a family outing? Such a great picture. I found you because you followed my blog, so thanks so much for that. I see some of my friends have also found their way to your blog. You have such a positive attitude. I’ve followed you back and liked your FB page, or at least I think I did. I pressed it anyway. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend. πŸ™‚ Marsha

    Like

  3. 8 frederick anderson June 2, 2017 at 5:45 am

    The perfect day! I love miniature railways, and the way they carve little secret tunnels through the landscape. In days of yore we used to take regular trips on the track that ran around Paignton Zoo (I wonder if it’s still there) and not quite so long ago on the track at Drucilla’s, that wonderful family zoo in Sussex. It certainly sounds as though you had a terrific time – let’s all punt for a fine, warm summer this year…

    Liked by 1 person

    • 9 Jane Sturgeon June 2, 2017 at 7:06 am

      I wonder if the Paignton Zoo railway is still there, I’ll ask Dad as he will know. We used to live in Salcombe many moons ago. As I am writing this it’s raining hard and has been for some time! I think it;s June Frederick, so here’s holding hope for some fine weather. Hugs Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • 10 frederick anderson June 2, 2017 at 7:37 am

        Salcombe! I be a Devon lad myself and if I recall correctly my Great Grandfather used to be part of the lifeboat crew down there! My maternal Grandfather (his son) was a master mariner who retired to run a hotel in Paignton with my grandmother, hence… i spent my childhood in Exeter and my youth near Taunton, in Somerset. Small world! (Oh, and they say we’ll have more fun when it stops raining}. Many hugs, Jane!

        Like

        • 11 Jane Sturgeon June 2, 2017 at 7:45 am

          Oh my gosh Frederick, my Mum and Dad came to Salcombe, with my younger brother and sister, when they left Africa in 1979. Mum worked at The Marine Hotel and I was working at B.P. in Johannesburg then. We used to chat to each other by telex in those days. I joined them in Devon in 1982 when I left S.A. What a childhood you must have had and it certainly fed your imagination, because I love your stories. I do believe that we can have fun in the rain. Hugs Xx

          Like

  4. 12 Christy B May 31, 2017 at 4:52 pm

    It sounds like such a great day, Jane ❀ Thanks for sharing it with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 14 ianscyberspace May 25, 2017 at 6:21 am

    What an ideal day and an ideal setting for it.

    Like

  6. 16 dgkaye May 25, 2017 at 1:07 am

    I could feel the joy through your words Jane. I’m so glad you’re having such a great time and filled with happiness. πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

  7. 19 Clare Pooley May 24, 2017 at 10:42 pm

    A wonderful day to remember for always! I am so pleased for you, my dear Jane! xx ❀ xx

    Like

  8. 22 AIleen La Tourette May 22, 2017 at 7:15 pm

    What a lovely day. Cherish it. It could not have come to a livelier person -my phone
    Changed from ‘lovelier’ to that and I think I’ll go with ‘livelier’ as perhaps a better way to be plus all those lovelies get a bit on the gagging side, do they not? And almost detract from what is, in the truest sense, Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. 24 Al May 22, 2017 at 4:43 pm

    That looks like fun!

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

