Tools in a beloved shed….

Some time ago now my tools and personal effects went into storage in the space offered by a kind friend. Emails have been going back and forth as I arrange to move them out around September time. Mention has been made that mice have been living there as well and there may have been the odd nibble or two. Well, it will be what it is and I am grateful for the help when I needed it most.

Gratitude is a tool in a beloved shed.

A loving member of my family and I sat last night in my ‘happy bubble’ having a natter. We agreed that to look back attached suffering and upset and to look forward generated ‘what if’s’ and held fear. This moment that we had together was balanced and filled with love. Right then, the Queen Elizabeth cruise liner left port to a magnificent firework display and the repeated sounding of the ship’s horn. It went on a long time and this comment was made: “I think the Captain’s finger has got stuck”.

Laughter is a tool in a beloved shed.

I am blessed to work from home and to look out onto a peaceful view of water and nature. Everyday connections are made with folk who are struggling and wrestling with themselves and situations in life. Different insights and perspectives flow in and love wraps all in comfort and peace. The moment acceptance is found a door opens.

Acceptance is a tool in a beloved shed.

My loving man suggested we take ballroom dancing lessons together this Autumn and I beamed at him as he said this. It sparked a long forgotten hope and in that second the dust was blown off, old disappointments lifted and a dream stood in all her sparkling glory. ‘Oh, yes please, I would love to do that with you.’

Hope is a tool in a beloved shed.

❀

40 Responses to “Tools in a beloved shed….”


  1. 1 frederick anderson July 22, 2017 at 2:46 pm

    Lovely piece as ever Jane! I’m not sure how far to stretch a metaphor, but if I were to empty my shed (if I ever found the courage, and assuming that just in doing so I would not be lost without trace) its disgorged contents would fill up my entire garden and most of my house. There may well be life in there, but not as we know it!

    Like

  2. 3 smzang July 18, 2017 at 2:57 am

    So very lovely! That should give you lots of fodder to write about!

    I can hear the music now. What a grand and fun experience it will be
    for you and your guy..

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

  3. 5 macjam47 July 15, 2017 at 7:06 pm

    What an inspiring post! Yes, we all have a tool shed with so many lovely tools to help us navigate our way through life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 7 dgkaye July 15, 2017 at 2:02 am

    There’s a lot of beauty in that shed Jane. How exciting to be taking dance lessons together. Isn’t life grand! ❀ xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 12 queenmouse July 15, 2017 at 1:33 am

    I love the thought that we all have these tools in our shed, they just need to be brought out. Very nice feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 13 Jane Sturgeon July 15, 2017 at 9:34 am

      Thank you for taking the time to read and to leave a lovely comment. I watched the Disney cruise liner leave port last night, her horn playing ‘Wish upon a star’ and Mickey’s ears painted on her funnels. Hugs for you. Xx

      Like

  6. 14 Clare Pooley July 14, 2017 at 9:38 pm

    What a comfort you are! I like your statement that as soon as we accept a situation a door is opened. I have discovered that for myself though II didn’t realise at the time that that was what I had done.
    Ballroom dancing! I would love to learn but there’s no way Richard would accompany me!
    Have a wonderful weekend, my dear Jane xx ❀ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 18 ianscyberspace July 14, 2017 at 2:25 am

    I liked the “happy bubble” comment. We all need one of those. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 20 Eric Alagan July 13, 2017 at 5:35 am

    “Gratitude is a tool in a beloved shed.
    Laughter is a tool in a beloved shed.
    Acceptance is a tool in a beloved shed.
    Hope is a tool in a beloved shed.”

    And your inferences, as quoted above, read like a poem, my dear buddy Jane.

    Your buddy from Singapore,
    Eric

    Like

  9. 22 Marsha July 12, 2017 at 11:22 pm

    Jane, the lovely tools you mentioned help us through life. I’m glad you are taking dance lessons. That sounds like so much fun. I bet you can hardly wait till fall! Enjoy your lovely summer. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. 27 jstansfeld July 12, 2017 at 10:22 pm

    Stunning!
    Only you could add so many happy tools the chest.
    I have my every day boring hammers, screw-drivers et alia arranged on a huge peg-board on one side of my garage, on the other side I painted a huge red dragon – he takes up the entire wall. One day my husband ushered some friends in to admire the painting. One seemed very impressed. I was ecstatic until he told me how he admired our tool display – no mention of the dragon!
    Perhaps I need to add humility to my chest!
    Yours is superb.

    Like

    • 28 Jane Sturgeon July 13, 2017 at 8:19 am

      Ohhh, fancy noticing the tool arrangement and not the creativity! What sparks some folks attention never ceases to amaze me. I am sending you healing for your back and I love the thought of your red dragon filling a whole wall…that’s bold and gorgeous. Soft hugs for you xXx

      Like

  11. 29 Christy B July 12, 2017 at 9:02 pm

    Oh I love how you likened your feelings to the tools in the shed ~ LOVE this post, Jane ❀

    Like

  12. 31 Penn Shewring July 12, 2017 at 4:14 pm

    Beautiful xxxxx

    Like

  13. 33 Danielle July 12, 2017 at 12:43 pm

    Beautiful words, Jane. Thank you this helped me a lot as I struggle with my brother’s recent passing. I love the photo you posted. Breathtaking!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. 37 Aquileana July 12, 2017 at 12:34 pm

    Gratitude & Laughter Acceptance & hope are tools in a beloved shed.
    I love that… The writing and little anecdotes here reminds us of the importance of those “big, little things”, right!?… Beautiful post, dear Jane… Sending love πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  15. 39 Jane Sturgeon July 15, 2017 at 9:32 am

    Christy, you are so kind and thoughtful. Your loving support is a gift, thank you. ❀ xXx ❀

    Like


  1. 1 Weekly Inspiration Roundup, Volume 1 | When Women Inspire Trackback on July 14, 2017 at 10:33 pm

I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,286 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Categories


roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Create Space

Creating a space for the creative use of life as a tool for learning.

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

England And Scotland

Our trip to the United Kingdom

bridgesburning

There are no facts, only interpretations. - Friedrich Nietzsche. The truth I think that validates everything you have to say.

beetleypete

The musings of a Londoner, now living in Norfolk

From Mage Mind

When a mage is sharing what's on his mind. Business, Motivation, Positive life, Success, Marketing and Good Ideas.

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

