Reflections in a moment…….

All day on Friday I was looking at the stern of a ship docked at The Pierhead and as she turned to leave the ‘penny dropped’. With her horn playing ‘Wish upon a star’ and the outline of Mickey’s ears on her funnels; she is the Disney cruise ship.

She visited Liverpool a year ago and I went down to the seaside at the end of the street to watch her depart. It had been a lovely day and the beach was packed with happy people. A Mum needed to see to her two young sons making sandcastles and she turned to me smiling and asked if I could hold her new babe while she did what she needed to do. I stood there rocking her little one, listening to children’s excited chatter as Goofy and Mickey waved to them from the ship to the notes of ‘Wish upon a star’.

A year has gone by in a blink. Back then I did not know that I would be standing in my ‘happy bubble’ watching her leave this time from my front room window. That my work would have expanded and evolved, or that my life would have put down some deep loving roots in this place I chose as my home.

I am glad I didn’t know, as I stayed in the moment. I don’t want to know the future now thank you. This moment is a balanced place to be and the treasure in it is love for life as it flows.

❀

26 Responses to “Reflections in a moment…….”


  1. 1 Carol // Aussie Mum Blogger July 21, 2017 at 10:17 am

    Oh it looks like it didn’t go through…

    This is such a lovely piece Jane. You seem so in the present, enjoying what’s here right now, settled not stressing about the future. Something that I still struggle with! I often have a million things running through my mind. I’m getting there with learning to slow down and be in the present moment! Xx

    Like

    • 2 Jane Sturgeon July 22, 2017 at 10:46 am

      Hello lovely Carol, ohh WordPress put your lovely comment into Spam, how very rude of it! It does that sometimes and it is nothing you have done. It’s not easy to stay in the moment and I sense it’s an ongoing process for all of us! We tend to filter the present through the past and fret about getting everything done in the future. We all do it! Those moments where we are truly in the moment are magic. ❀ hugs for you. xXx

      Like

  2. 5 Clare Pooley July 20, 2017 at 8:14 pm

    I am so glad I can’t see into the future! A lovely memory of a peaceful day and such comforting wisdom from you as always, my dear Jane! ❀ xx ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 8 Helen Jones July 19, 2017 at 9:38 pm

    It sounds as though you’re in a lovely place, Jane – how wonderful πŸ™‚ Wish Upon A Star seems quite appropriate!

    Like

  4. 11 Vashti Q July 18, 2017 at 8:43 pm

    You have a beautiful and soothing way of expressing your thoughts. Lovely writing with great imaging. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 15 Christy B July 18, 2017 at 7:07 pm

    Sometimes we’re best off not knowing what’s to come.. Any talk of Disneyland does make me think of my childhood visit and that’s reason for me to smile πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 17 ianscyberspace July 18, 2017 at 5:03 am

    That is such an interesting picture with the bubble showing sky and sea upside down. How did you do that?

    Like

    • 18 Jane Sturgeon July 18, 2017 at 6:23 am

      Hi Ian, the picture is not mine, but you get this effect with a crystal ball. It transposes the scene inside it. I loved the analogy. I know I work with my spirit guides bringing comfort and support to folks struggling with upsets in life, but I shy away from future predictions. We can only see this moment in time and in a split second after it decisions and choices can be made that change everything. Hugs for you. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. 19 smzang July 18, 2017 at 2:53 am

    You are a peaceful soul, Jane.
    That will see you through all kinds of weather.
    So good to be reading you…I’ve got some catching up to do
    here in this haven of gentle vibes.

    Sarah

    Like

  8. 21 Danielle Joyce July 18, 2017 at 1:56 am

    A beautiful story Jane. Thank you for sharing. A reminder to me to live in the present to be in the here and now, something I do struggle with sometimes. Blessings to you xo πŸ’– Danielle

    Like

  9. 23 grandfathersky July 17, 2017 at 2:26 pm

    But always God speaks at the end: 
 ‘One thought in agony of strife 
The bravest would have by for friend, 
 The memory that he chose the life; 
But the pure fate to which you go 
 Admits no memory of choice, 
Or the woe were not earthly woe 
 To which you give the assenting voice.’
    …From “Trial by Existence” – Robert Frost

    Liked by 2 people

  10. 25 jstansfeld July 17, 2017 at 2:06 pm

    This one resonates with me – it is beautiful. I love treasured moments and admire the loving way that you reminisce. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,329 other followers

Categories


The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

