Home is in my heart…

This sea glass started life as bottles broken by rocks, then tumbled by sea and tide until the edges were smoothed and the surfaces completely frosted.

Thus far I have lived in over fifty homes, across three continents and a fair number of countries. Self-protection stopped me counting after fifty and I went quiet on my nomadic lifestyle due to people’s reactions. ‘Oh, you never stick at anything.’ ‘You never stay in one place long.’ ‘What’s the matter with you?’ etc., etc….

The interesting thing is that no matter how sharp the experience, or how painful the lesson, I know deep inside that I have the ability to stand up again. Sometimes I have to rest a fair while before I muster the energy though.

There’s a book in this…now there’s a thought. ❤

I was sitting at my desk working yesterday, looking out at the water, and a colourful butterfly landed on the wall outside my window. He rested there for about half an hour and we kept each other company, as mother nature shared her beauty and he basked in the warmth from the bricks.

In April this year I attended a writer’s workshop in Liverpool run by the kind and inspiring Fred D’Aguiar. He was over visiting from The States and he gifted us his time and experience. I loved every second of being in his energy. There were about thirty souls there and Fred had asked us all to bring in something that was important to us (preferably not alive). I took my sea glass. He wove this into an exercise where everyone’s treasures were passed around and we had a few minutes to write about each piece in front of us.

When we had finished Fred asked ‘What were you doing Jane?’, because he’d noticed that I had held each piece in my hand, closed my eyes and then let words flow onto paper.

I replied ‘I was feeling the energy in each piece of treasure and writing what I felt from that.’

Fred smiled ‘What is your treasure about Jane?’

‘It is sea glass from the beach in front of my home. I am like the sea glass Fred, I don’t belong anywhere, yet I can live everywhere. My home is in my heart and all the treasured connections with the souls that I love are held there.’

He held my gaze and said ‘I understand Jane. That is me.’

30 Responses to “Home is in my heart…”


  1. 1 Cynthia Reyes October 17, 2017 at 11:22 am

    Well said, Jane. I’ve lived in quite a few different homes and loved most of them. I even wrote a book about it! You do, after all that, come up with your own definition of “home”. I like yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 8 frederick anderson October 5, 2017 at 10:19 am

    To find a shared moment…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 10 Tandy | Lavender and Lime October 4, 2017 at 2:52 pm

    Home is wherever you need it to be. Life is a journey and no two paths the same. Treasure each step of yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 12 dgkaye October 2, 2017 at 2:04 am

    A soul reaching piece here Jane. I love the way your words flow from the depths of your heart. ❤ xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 15 ianscyberspace October 1, 2017 at 5:51 am

    While our physical home may change over the years we leave a little of our heart in each and memories blend them all together into a delicious mix.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 17 grandfathersky September 29, 2017 at 10:19 pm

    Dear Jane – I am moved to tears by this. Partly for knowing your story, and partly for identifying with it. The North Shore of Long Island where I grew up is rocky beaches. So much so that people who aren’t used to it can’t stand it. But it’s there that the best beach glass is gathered. I’m reminded of a poem by Robert Service “The Men That Don’t Fit In”. Except that poem is the disparity the world cast on the time traveler. Rare is the soul who finds this whole world to be their home. It is a joy to know you here! Thanks for this wonderful piece. Keep going, that book is getting closer! Much love. Peter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 18 Jane Sturgeon September 30, 2017 at 9:31 am

      Oh Pete, thank you. Maybe some of us are not meant to dig in and plough a single long furrow? You are ‘spot on’ about my book. I have deleted three so far; the last being the dating book. I read it back when it was finished and it was entertaining but felt unkind. Not balancing with me at all and I feel our creations are a part of ourselves and I was uncomfortable with that one. Delete! As I wrote this blog post yesterday, it came to me…a book on adventures and thoughts from that. Life has now flowed together my nomadic soul and a soul who has ploughed a single, loving and caring furrow and we are learning much from each other. Together we are crafting an eclectic mix in life and it’s special. It’s a joy to be connected to you and I continue to learn much from you Pete. Hugs and much love flowing to you and yours. ❤ xXx

      Like

  7. 19 jstansfeld September 29, 2017 at 10:00 pm

    What a delightful analogy. There is no moss on sea glass but I suspect that you have gathered a lot of friends (alias moss) in your meanderings; and that is as it should be! The butterfly is lovely, my brother who lives in Oxford has a special passion for them and has been known to spend hours in the garden watching one butterfly’s mating ritual

    Liked by 1 person

    • 20 Jane Sturgeon September 30, 2017 at 9:21 am

      There haven’t been many butterflies around this year and it was a delight to see one. We have seen lots of dragonflies though. You are right Jane, I have lovely friends all over the world and we manage to stay in touch. Hugs for you. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. 21 smzang September 29, 2017 at 4:21 pm

    Jane,

    To know oneself is the most wonderful gift.
    Your thoughts are lovely and soul-touching.

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Liked by 2 people

  9. 25 Clare Pooley September 29, 2017 at 3:37 pm

    Another beautiful post, Jane ❤
    Some people stay in the same place all their lives; they never venture far and are surrounded by family and old friends. Some of these people must get claustrophobic and desperate to get away to where no-one knows them! I sometimes envy that 'belonging' feeling that natives have, but not for long. I haven't moved as often as you have by any means, but often enough to feel I don't exactly belong to any part of the country. I love where I live in Suffolk and feel that I could belong here eventually, but if I had to move away I know I would cope because I've moved from here before! And moved back again. I have experienced what it is like to live in the London suburbs, in Liverpool, in Somerset and in Kent, which is where I grew up. I worked for a few months in Austria. I was born in Bedfordshire but I don't remember living there.
    I love your sea glass! I like the way you compared yourself with it. It has travelled far and been through rough seas and weathered a few storms but it is still fragile glass and is precious to those lucky people who find it and recognise it's strength. xx ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 29 1smiles September 29, 2017 at 3:10 pm

    Ahhh Jane,
    Your life experience is just as it should be. Uniquely yours. Perfectly orchestrated to hone your beauty and gifts. I love you just as you are, amazing and sparkly… Of course. 😙

    Liked by 1 person


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,329 other followers

Categories


The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

